August Favourites 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you my August Favourites. Oh-me-oh-my where has the month gone? I’m really not ready for autumn yet; everything’s going so fast! August has been a month of complete up’s and down’s for me but that hasn’t changed the fact that I have collected a fair few Favourites for you which I can now share with you!

WP_20160825_11_27_07_Pro

I’ve only tried a couple of new makeup items this month but both of which I have really enjoyed. The first is the Sleek Solstice Highlighter Palette which I purchased a couple of weeks ago. I bought this because I’d seen so many people raving about it, the colours looked stunning and I needed to add to my highlighter collection (I kept telling myself as I walked to the tills!). This palette contains four highlighters, one cream and three powder, all shimmer and all gorgeous in their own way. All of these are so pigmented and the packaging just makes me want to confess all my sins and name my first born child after the palette itself! I will be writing a full review on this soon so I don’t want to go into too much detail but it’s so bloody gorgeous and for the price (£9.99), it is amazing value. This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

WP_20160827_10_46_30_Pro

The second item I have been loving this month is the Rimmel Scandalyes Gel Eyeliner in 01 Black. As avid readers will know, I love me my thick, black eyeliner and wear it on a daily basis and I’d been looking for a gel liner for ages so this was one that I had to pick up! I just love the way it works and looks on my face and I think this eyeliner will become a firm favourite. By the way, when it says Black, it means Black! This is so pigmented, so easy to use, lasts a long time and is so affordable! Again, I will be writing a proper review on this soon so I’m going to try and keep this quite brief. It can imprint just above my crease if my eyeliner is quite thick that day, but I’m quite used to that and it’s not as bold as the actual eyeliner is so isn’t too noticeable (especially as I wear glasses, as well!). This doesn’t fall down my face, it’s pretty much waterproof and doesn’t smear, all things it promised on the box! If you’re looking for a new affordable gel eyeliner, I highly recommend this one! This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

WP_20160827_10_47_10_Pro

Still on beauty, I would like to share my deodorant with you. I know that you’re all going to think I’m crazy but I’m super happy with the deodorant I’ve been using recently! I have been using the Dove Beauty Finish Deodorant and I actually got it entirely by accident; my Mum was out and I just asked her to pick me up some deodorant whilst she was there and she was only in the village near where we live so it was the only one they had in the little shop she was in, but I am so happy with it! This is an aerosol so I was a bit hesitant to use it because I’m used to roll-on’s, but it is really easy to use, it smells amazing and it does its purpose! I think it also says it contains a moisturiser or something like that and if you’ve ever used a Dove soap or something before, you will know how much it nourishes the skin and only contains benefits. I sometimes get shaving rash and I’ve found over the years that some deodorants can inflame it or make it sting, but this hasn’t at all so I’m really happy with it! Just in case you’re looking for a new deodorant, go try this one! It’s not the cheapest but I do really like it. I also received the one in the compressed cans so it’s a bit better for the environment. This is available from Boots, Superdrug and most supermarkets.

WP_20160827_10_48_03_Pro

Onto fashion, I have been loving my new sunglasses which I bought from Primark a couple of weeks ago. I included this in a blog post just over a week ago in a haul (you can read it HERE) and I love them so so much! It has a cat-eye, vintage-y style, matte, nude frame that I love. That was a very long description! I am short-sighted, however, so when I wear them I can’t physically see but it’s not for too long and I prefer not being able to see something in the distance as oppose to having my retinas burnt. These were only £2 and they are one of my favourite purchases! They’re fairly comfortable (but I do wear glasses all the time anyway so my nose is used to the extra weight!) and came with a little soft, fabric case of the same colour that looks really chic as well. I love them!

The first thing I’ve been loving in terms of random favourites is a YouTuber called Sophie Louise. I kind of stumbled upon her YouTube channel by chance as she’s still quite small, but I’m sure she’ll soon gain a bit more popularity over time! I like watching people who I can relate to my own life or who I think I can genuinely be friends with and she ticks both of these boxes! As soon as I started watching her she made me laugh and she has that kind of British, sarcastic, not-meaning-to-be humour that I kind of relate to. She also sounds really British and I don’t so she actually makes me want to talk a bit nicer! She uploads weekly vlogs, beauty bits, hauls and all that type of good stuff that I just love to binge watch on a lazy day. I very much look forward to see what more she has to offer!

My next favourite has been pink lemonade. A couple of years ago, I think, I developed a full on addiction to pink lemonade but at the beginning of this month, it started to begin again! I don’t know why but it’s just so sweet and isn’t as sour as normal lemonade (though I do really enjoy that as well!) and I just really like it! On a summer’s day it’s so refreshing as well and the weather’s actually been treating us really nicely this month! If you haven’t tried it, you should. Enjoy all that excess sugar we don’t need!

Finally, I have been addicted to two songs this month. I’ve previously said that I don’t tend to enjoy ‘new’ music for a variety of reasons, but I’ve found two songs that are the pure exception. The first has been Into You by Ariana Grande. I don’t know why, but I really enjoy this song and the beat and, as always, her vocals are impeccable. I can’t really explain why I like it, but it just leaves me wanting more every time and I find myself playing it on repeat all day every day! The second song I’ve recently become addicted to has been Closer by The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey. I genuinely enjoy duets in whatever form they’re given to me and the lyrics and the beat wins me over every time. I think it’s a perfect example of a song that fits the bill for a hit nowadays but is slightly different to everything else out there. I just really like these two songs, as much as it actually shocks me!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing Favourites even if it does mark the end of another month! Let me know what you’ve been loving this month or what I have hopefully convinced you to try for yourself! This has turned into a very long blog post – I’m really sorry!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

