Summer Makeup Statements 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through a few of this summer’s makeup/beauty statements that I’ve noticed and have done or loved myself. I feel like I’ve just blinked and summer’s disappeared (though technically there’s still about a week left) and I feel like I haven’t done half the things I planned to! Oh well, there’s always next summer!

Bright Nails

This is one I’ve actually completed myself and love for this time of year! I feel like bold nails can add a sometimes much-needed pop of colour in summer, especially as I spend most of my time wearing black. I will admit, however, it is quite difficult getting outfits and makeup colours to not clash all of the time, but I think I have found my statement colour! A couple of weeks back myself and my Granny went to go get our nails done (my first time – much excitement!) and once your looking at the colour charts, you suddenly want all of the bright ones on there (I can’t be the only one who thinks this!). I chose an O.P.I nail polish in the colour I Eat Mainly Lobster (I think, purchase HERE). This is a stunning red/orange/coral that really suits the tan I’ve magically picked up and it’s so pretty. I’m really sorry that I forgot to take a photo but I’m sure I’ve painted (see what I did there?) a decent picture for you there.

Bronzed Complexion

WP_20160825_11_26_28_Pro

I’m naturally quite a pale person and the entirety of my body tends to tan other than my neck, so I use a slightly paler foundation on my face and just bronze a shiz-ton! To do this, I have been using the Maybelline Master Sculpt compact in Light/Medium (purchase HERE and HERE). I love using this to lightly contour and then full-on go for it on my forehead, along my jaw line and a little bit down my neck. I have mentioned previously that it can look quite orange-y but somehow it matches the colour of my tan really well so looks a bit more ‘natural’. I also think that at this time of year it’s okay to bronze as much as you want because most have a natural tan by now anyway, so using my usual powder brush hasn’t actually caused me any problems as it might do if I wasn’t tanned. To read my review of this product, you can click HERE.

Bright Lips/Matte Lips

WP_20160825_11_25_37_Pro

Something that has been huge this year have been liquid lipsticks that dry down to a matte finish. I’m yet to get my hands on one (or more), but something else I have been loving instead are bright lips. I’ve reached that point in doing my makeup now where nothing really scares me and orange lips? Yeah, slap a bit of that on! The lipstick photographed is from Rimmel and is in the shade Coral in Gold (available HERE and HERE). It looks crazy bright but, trust me, it doesn’t apply that scary! I’ll try and include it in a MOTD or something some time soon to show you what it’s like on, but I love my oranges so of course I’ve been wearing this whenever I can get away with it! Going back to matte lips for a second, I really do love the way they look and I’ve heard that the best ones are from Anastasia Beverley Hills, NYX and Jeffree Star Cosmetics. I promise, I will be jumping on that bandwagon soon!

Bold Highlighter

WP_20160825_11_27_07_Pro

Do we even need to talk about the perks and benefits to our everyday lives that highlighter has? I’ve recently invested in the Sleek Solstice Highlighter Palette (I’m still in awe of the beauty – expect a review soon!) and my highlighter has just been blinding ever since. I’ve only used the pale, candlelight colour so far (that description, though!) but I’m so excited to test out the purple shade and of course let you guys know what I think of all the colours in a bit more depth. I think that if your going to be getting away with any kind of bold highlighter, it is in summer when dewy skin is a must as well and everyone is glowing. Though of course I’ll be whipping this out all year round to blind all the people I really don’t want to socialize with! This palette is available HERE and HERE.

Lighter, Fruitier Fragrance

WP_20160731_11_47_54_Pro

Finally, fragrance. I have a nose that is attracted to almost anything it meets so of course I have to switch up my fragrance. I think something lighter and fruitier is always a good hit, and a body spray I have been loving recently (as mentioned in my previous Favourites) is from Charlie and is the limited edition Rio Rebel scent. I’m not sure if this is still available now the Olympics are over, but if it is, you need to go out and grab it. I can’t remember what ingredients are in it exactly, but I know there’s a little bit of coconut in there, so it already has my seal of approval! I know this is going to sound crazy but it smells as the can looks. Just don’t ask what’s going on in my head – I don’t know myself! You can purchase this HERE and HERE. I think carrying around a small roll-on perfume is also a must in summer as we can all get a bit hot and sweaty and this just perks you and your scent up a little bit.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I’ve loved writing it so look out for more in the future! Let me know what you think your summer makeup/beauty statements are and what you will now try out (or maybe for next year!).

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

