Holiday Makeup Tips

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing some tips that you may find helpful if you are travelling or going on holiday at all this summer. I’m personally not going abroad this year but I do think these could be made applicable for even little holidays around the UK (like I am going on). I have used these tips myself so (hopefully!) I should know what I’m talking about.

Take What You Need

I think we’ve all been there when we’ve decided to take a whole bottle of foundation that we try to sneak past security whilst in the airport when in fact you only need a few pumps for the whole holiday. I do think this depends on the holiday because you could be going there for a few days but you could also be going for a few weeks so you need to try and think logically. If I was going for a few days, I would decant some product (e.g. foundation) into something small like a few pairs of contact lenses cases (depending on how much you use daily) because these are very lightweight yet sturdy and are made for liquid  so won’t damage it in anyway. However, for a few weeks I would try and find a small bottle in the airport that I would use quite a lot of whilst I was out there so I wouldn’t have to lug loads back with me when I came home.

Plan Before You Go

Like you would with outfits, I like to plan my makeup and what sort of looks I will wear each day so I don’t end up taking 5 palettes and only using 2. Obviously you can change your mind once your there and you’ve seen your outfit on you, but a rough idea is never a bad idea! I know it’s very easy to pack everything for every occasion because it’s not like you can just pop home and get something but just try to think realistically – if you’re going for a week, are you really going to end up wearing 20 eye shadows and 9 lipsticks?

Take Versatile Products

To kind of follow from my last point, I like to take products I know I can get a lot of wear out of and do so easily and fairly effortlessly. I have a couple of brown/dark eye shadows that I love together and they go with every outfit ever so, for a few days, I could get away with with just taking those products and some lip colours to change it up a bit. I also think you can’t go wrong with a basic nude so these are worn *a lot* on holiday! I do find this quite easy though because when I’m holiday I’m normally in a rush anyway and my imagination is a little bit off with the fairies so just remembering how to do the same look is a task in itself for me! It also speeds things up in the morning just a bit more.

Travel Lightly 

To tie all my previous points together, my final tip is to travel lightly. Most of the time if your going somewhere on holiday, you won’t bother with much (if any) makeup to begin with because it’s so hot and you’re there to relax (which I completely understand and appreciate) but if you’re sight-seeing you may want a little something to make you look alive and less like the burnt tourist we all know you are! I think a slightly coloured lip balm and some waterproof mascara will be your bare necessities (waterproof because everyone sweats!) but, me being me, I would chuck on a little bit of eyeliner, too! This means you need to take 3 very lightweight products which could all get through the security at the airport, as well! However, if you do want to go for a full face that is your decision and I probably would myself come the evening when going out anyway. I think if you’re going to take any kind of beauty bits, things like moisturisers, sun creams and after suns should be your priority, but the few I mentioned are only small so they’ll all fit, I’m sure!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing little tips and tricks blog posts so let me know what ones you would like to see next! Also, don’t forget to let me know what you like to do with your face when on holiday or what ones you will now use from this list (if any, that is!).

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

