Month-By-Month Lip Colours (& Swatches)

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through lip colours and products which I associate with certain months or times of the year. I will be showing you a variety of lip glosses and lipsticks to give you a full idea but of course me being me I do tend to chop and change my makeup and hence lip colours all the time so these aren’t exactly strict routines I have to follow. I will also be talking only about the colour and why I chose a certain formula as oppose to the others available, so if I have written a review of any of the products I will link it for you.

January

To kick off the year, I love to wear the Tanya Burr lip gloss in Berry Picking. This is a gorgeous burgundy/berry colour with small amounts of gold glitter within it and looks stunning with pale skin. When it comes to January I tend to lean more towards lip glosses instead of a heavier formula because my lips get dry so easily and December tends to be a very busy month in terms of makeup with Christmas and everything, so it definitely needs a break! This also has slight red-y undertones but, as it’s a lipgloss, it kind of continues the Christmas-y vibes but in a lesser vibrant way (if that makes sense. I can’t get across what I want to say!). This is available from Feel Unique and you can read my review of it HERE.

February

Roll on February and I do tend to want to keep to a similar theme to January in the less-in-your-face reds so to do this I wear The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Berry In Love. This is another berry-toned shade but is much more pink-y/mauve-y (and still possess’ the same red undertones). I find this quite balm-y so doesn’t affect my lips too badly and it lightens last months theme a little bit. I see this as a my-lips-but-better colour because my lips are quite pigmented, making this quite neutral and easily wearable for me. This is available from The Body Shop and to see my review, you can click HERE.

March

A fairly recent purchase of mine that I think would be perfect in March is the Rimmel Kate Lipstick in 08. This is very similar to The Body Shop shade, but it contains no red undertones but, instead, pink undertones. This lightens it a little more so makes it a bit more spring-y, but I live in the UK where it is still raining and the weather matches our moods all the time (particularly in March). Again, it’s a my-lips-but-better shade on me and looks stunning with any makeup look. I’m actually loving this one at the moment, but hey-ho! This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

April

I think April is the first time in the year where we accept the weather is getting a bit better and so I’ve decided to commemorate this with the Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in 086. I wore this for Easter this year and it looked stunning. This is a pink shade with slight purple and blue undertones, making it look amazing with a pale complexion and actually makes your teeth look whiter (those blue undertones know how to work their magic!). I’ve also found that this goes with a lot of makeup looks or outfits and it is so beautiful. This is also available from Boots and Superdrug. If you would like to read my review you can click HERE.

May

As I’m sure you can tell by now, I like to keep a slightly similar theme so in the month of May I tend to opt for a pink lip gloss; to be specific the Tanya Burr lip gloss in Aphrodite. This is a slightly darker, red-toned pink with small amounts of pink (?) glitter in (less than the glitter in the first lip gloss I mentioned, though). This looks so pretty with a little black dress (because I will forever and always wear black) and it just gives my lips a bit of a break. I also find lip gloss’ much easier to literally ‘chuck on’ as oppose to a lipstick with the start of summer (or at least the warmer weather) and they’re less high maintenance. This, if you’re a Tanya Burr fan you will know, is from the old collection so this is, sadly, no longer available (that I know of!).

June

As long-term readers will know, I love all things orange and so this is celebrated come June with the Zoeva lip crayon in Sweet Heat. This is a beautiful coral with pink undertones in the bullet but it does look a bit more orange once it’s on. This does feel quite moisturising once on and it looks amazing and so effortless. I know I’ve said it already, but this is quite natural (as natural as orange can be) and doesn’t look too vibrant. I think hearing that something is ‘coral’ or ‘orange’ scares a lot of people but this isn’t as bright as I think you would expect. It’s just gorgeous! This is available from Beauty Bay.

July

In July I love a good nude shade that I can wear everyday without having to worry about it matching my outfit or the rest of my face because it’s summer, I’m young and I shouldn’t have to worry about that (though I do. A lot). To do this I wear the Rimmel Kate Lipstick in 38 which is a stunning coral/pink shade that looks so effortless but so beautiful with a tan. I know I previously said that my lips are quite pigmented but this still looks pretty natural on me and I love that. I just really love this shade and it’s been there for me for over a year now. This is available from Boots and Superdrug. To read my review you can click HERE.

August

In an attempt to merge the last two months together, I love to use the Tanya Burr lip gloss in I Found Nemo. This is a light coral/pink shade with finely milled gold glitter within it. This is one of my favourite lip gloss shades ever to get on my face – it’s just so good! This does apply a bit more pink-y but it still has those coral undertones I clearly crave and it goes with such a variety of makeup looks. Again, this is from the old collection but I know this was continued into the new one so this is still available from Superdrug and Feel Unique.

September

Once September hits, I am more than ready to start stepping back into my dark’s and my reds after being light for so long. I am one of those people that will jump headfirst and so to establish my love for reds, I will begin autumn with the Kate Moss Matte Lipstick in 107. I know this is a shade most people wear around winter specifically, but as this is quite a low maintenance matte and isn’t too drying, it’s weaning me back into those darker shades that my lips disagree with so much. This is quite a dark red so is pretty bold. I think this is one of the only colours that matches it’s colour on the lips as it does in the bullet itself, which is quite reassuring! This is available from Boots and Superdrug. To read my review you can click HERE.

October

Now, this is where it get’s a little bit difficult. I can’t actually picture a specific colour for October because I wear different shades each day and it’s Halloween so I do sometimes wear colours which may seem a bit crazy. I do think October is the month where we can just properly play around and wear different makeup each day and we have the excuse of Halloween to do so. I’m really looking forward to October this year, actually. I’m sorry that I haven’t got a specific colour for you but I did try! My lip products are glaring at me right now, I’m so sorry!

November

November for me is for ridiculously dark colours that tests even my confidence and one shade I think I’m going to wear out in that month is going to be the Rimmel Stay Glossy lip gloss in Yours Forever. This is a very dark purple with no shimmer (fancy that!) that I know will look amazing and so statement-making come the darker months and you’re allowed to when it’s dark all the time anyway! I haven’t worn this one at all yet but I am so looking forward to doing so! Think undiluted Ribena, haha. This is available from Boots.

December

And suddenly it’s the end of the year! This is of course the month of Christmas and hence, reds. As it’s the most wonderful time of the year, I’m going to treat myself (my lips, not so much) by wearing the MAC Matte lipstick in Diva. I’ve worn this a few times last Christmas/winter and it is so gorgeous. It’s a bit darker and vamp-y than 107 from September, but that’s way more than okay. I love dark colours and writing this now makes me really miss it! I think this may even have some purple/vamp-y undertones, so it is that little bit better than a typical red. This is available from MAC and you can read my review of it HERE.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – it is way longer than I intended, I’m really sorry! Let me know what colours you associate with certain months or which months are your favourite because of the products I mentioned! I love lip colours and, as I mentioned at the beginning, this isn’t strict, I would wear all of these colours at all times of the year so it is just a basic guide.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

5 thoughts on “Month-By-Month Lip Colours (& Swatches)”

  1. all of these colors are beautiful! so pretty and natural 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

Leave a Reply

