Organza VS. Gateau (Sleek i-Divine Palette in ‘Oh So Special’)

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be comparing two more colours from one of my favourites palettes, the Sleek i-Divine Palette in ‘Oh So Special’. In this blog post I will be talking to you about the colours Organza and Gateau, two shimmer shades with a pink-y/purple-y hue. I love these two colours and I hope you do too! I’m a poet and I didn’t even know it! If you would like to read more about the palette as a whole, click HERE for an entire blog post dedicated to it. To purchase this palette you can click HERE and HERE.

Colour

Looking at these two shades in the pan, they both look very similar but when swatched and used, they do look much more different. Firstly, Organza is much more of a shell, lighter pink with silver-y undertones. I personally think that in comparison to Gateau, it is quite sheer and almost has peach undertones, also. It really is beautiful and the general colour makes it seem much more subtle than Gateau.

Onto Gateau. This is a much brighter pink with purple undertones and icy/silver glitters within it. This is slightly darker as it’s a purple-y pink but I do think it’s very different to Organza on a wider scale of pink. This is a bit brighter, as well, so may not be suited to those who prefer something a bit more neutral or don’t like bright colours on the eyes.

In saying both of these things, I have found that I would use these on top of a matte colour (sometimes from the palette, sometimes from a different palette) and they can be quite sheer on their own. This way it gives the look a bit of shimmer which the matte colour won’t be able to give me and these two can’t give me because they’re base is very sheer.

Shimmer

As I’ve already mentioned and is quite obvious, these colours are shimmer and have finely milled glitter within them. Also, when applied they give a nice sheen and (even though I haven’t yet tried it) I’m sure if you wet your brush before using it, it could intensify this and make it even more gorgeous. I think doing this and sometimes  if you don’t (depending on the amount you use), this can give almost a wet look which can look stunning, also.

When To Wear

I think that both of these colours can be worn for everyday, though if there is a special occasion, of course it can be worn during the evening/night as well. I think that because the glitter is so finely milled and the colours themselves are quite sheer, they can be easily worn and could even be gotten away with for school. Add a little bit of shimmer to you’re 8:30am start! Unlike some other shimmer eye shadows, though, I don’t think this can be used as a highlighter as well as on the eyes.

How To Wear

As I mentioned earlier in the post, I would personally (and I recommend) wearing these colours over a matte colour. I personally like using the colour Pamper (also in the palette) as a base then applying either Organza or Gateau with it, though I find Organza better with it just because it’s more pink-y. This is my personal preference just to have a little shimmer in the centre because my life is not complete without some glitter!

Finally, which one do I prefer? I prefer Organza only because I find it easier to wear day-to-day and so I reach for it more. I would love to try out Gateau some more but I think the pink-y purple-y undertones scares me with my blue eyes. I will try it some more, though, and let you know when I do!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – let me know which colour you prefer and why! Obviously, these are my experiences so you may think the complete opposite to me, which is fine, it’s just our experiences. Let me know what you would like to see more of, also!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

