Black in Summer Lookbook (Daytime)

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

I am someone who loves to wear black all year round and so in honour of this, I thought I would write you this here blog post. I know in summer it can be a bit more difficult as its hotter and black actually absorbs heat but, trust me, I still find my ways. I have four different daytime outfit ideas for you which can be adapted slightly to your needs. Also, I do have so many other outfits but they were just variations and if they were included, we could be here all day! I love and have worn each and every one of these so I hope you enjoy them just as much as me!

WP_20160722_11_35_28_Pro

Bardot Top – Asos (originally New Look Petite)

Maxi Skirt – New Look Petite

I wore this outfit for Father’s Day and it is stunning (if I do say so myself!). I bought these items a couple of years ago now and have only just decided to pair them together (I don’t know what was wrong with me!), but I’m so glad I have now! This is more suited to slightly cooler days because the top has 3/4 length sleeve and the skirt has a fair amount of material to it but nonetheless, I’m going to get my wear out of it! I feel like a basic bardot top such as this one is also a staple for all year round; they can be worn with practically anything! The belt came with the skirt and so sinches in my waist and accentuates my hips beautifully. I also found that despite wearing it high-waisted, it still came to a perfect length considering my shortness! I love this outfit and I can see myself wearing this a lot in this English summer!

WP_20160722_11_38_06_Pro

Dress – H&M

I bought this dress early spring last year, so this one has been loved greatly, also! I love this little day dress; it is so sweet and so effortless and the little Peter Pan collar is just too cute. It is a bit difficult to see but it is patterned with little white bow ties which I also love. I haven’t worn it much in the summer as the capped sleeves can become quite hot but, like the previous outfit, it is gorgeous on a slightly cooler day. I also love this sort of length on me – it’s an opportunity for a decent tan! Skater dresses are always my favourite for my body type!

WP_20160722_11_39_36_Pro

Playsuit – Primark

[Sorry for the bluriness of the next couple of photos] Next up, a little playsuit. I love playsuits in summer; they’re very simple to just chuck on, you don’t (really) need to worry about your modesty and they look effortlessly beautiful. This one here I bought earlier in the year and I’ve already worn it a couple of times. I love the pattern on this; it’s kind of Aztec-y which I think looks quite festival-y at this time of year. It also has a little drawstring around the waist which can be adjusted but does have a tendency to come undone. Maybe it’s just my terrible bow-tying skills but I don’t think it adds much in terms of practically – it’s more there for ‘the look’.

WP_20160722_11_40_59_Pro

Crop Top – Topshop

Shorts – George @ Asda

Finally, a basic shorts and t-shirt combo. I love pairing these staple black shorts with crop tops (or even normal length tops) as it allows a whole range of variations and you can wear the shorts for a few days but just change the top and you have a whole new outfit. I’ve worn these shorts way too much, especially this summer already. The little crop from Topshop was one I purchased last year and it looks amazing with these shorts and another orange/white pair I own. I am kind of thinking of cutting the pink drawstring out, though, because it clashes with some of the tops I wear and since I’ve lost a little bit of weight it doesn’t do much anymore. Let me know what you think about that. Anyway, little black shorts and crop tops should be a summer staple entirely.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love writing lookbooks and I have a couple more planned for this summer so keep an eye out for those! Let me know what other lookbooks you would like to see, what outfits you love in summer or what your favourites out of this small selection were. I look forward to hearing what you think!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Tuesday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

