Lush VS. Bomb Cosmetics

Good Evening Munchkins!

As many of you may know, I do love myself a bath; a bubble bath to be exact. Even in these hotter months (!), there is nothing I enjoy more than just relaxing in a warm bath with hopefully some kind of bath bomb floating around in it. As some of you may know, also, I am a keen fan of Lush and Bomb Cosmetics, two retailers of bath bombs and other products for use in the bath (could not have butchered that more!). Anyway, with this in mind I thought I would write this blog post for you now to help you make up your minds about which one to buy from for any of of your needs because despite them sounding pretty similar, they’re actually not. So yeah, on we go!

Vegan/Vegetarianism

Lush is famously known for being a Vegan brand and all of their products are Vegan or at least Vegetarian. I am a Pescetarian (someone who eats fish but not any other meats) so this does reassure me a bit but I don’t think it would particularly change my opinion or anything if it wasn’t. I do, however, agree with not testing on animals so, as I said, it’s just a little bit of reassurance. I’m just contradicting myself now, sorry.

Bomb Cosmetics (on their website) claim that all of their products are natural but not necessarily Vegan/Vegetarian. As I say, this doesn’t really affect my choices but it may do with some of you Munchkins out there, which I completely respect. Even if it hasn’t got these factors, it is natural so any concern to the actual ingredients can be investigated from here.

Bath Bombs

Again, Lush is famously known for their bath bombs. Many a blogger/YouTuber uses them and notifies us when they have found a new one, accompanied by some stunning pictures or videos. From experience, I can confirm that all of their bath bombs are this magical in real life; they are almost an explosion of colour and scent in the bath and they really do create their own little show. There is a variety offered to you from Lush, all of which have different benefits, scents, colours and all in all, offer an amazing bath.

Bomb Cosmetics offer an even bigger range of bath bombs to you, however they are not as exciting as the ones from Lush. Obviously, you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover and it’s not all about the appearance, but I think we can all admit that a colourful bath is really amazing. The ones from Bomb Cosmetics are much more subtle and once used up do leave the bath a little bit cloudy but other than that, not much has changed. A few may have something in the centre (like some from Lush, also) but other than that, these are much more subtle and I suppose relaxing in terms of appearance.

Skincare Maintenance

Lush’s bath bombs aren’t specifically designed (unlike their other products) to help your skin. I think, depending on each one, they are much more to relax you or energize you or just generally for your mood more than your skin. I’m fine with this but I don’t tend to relax in baths for fear of drowning, so I suppose I don’t bathe in the full advantages of it. I just like colour, to be entirely honest with you! I’m sure some of them do have some skincare benefits but I think the colour and excitement of it does distract me from this.

Bomb Cosmetics, on the other hand, do supply some benefits which I can notice. I think their products must contain oils or something like that because my skin can feel slightly greasy yet moisturised after a bath using one of their bath bombs. I like this feeling because it makes me think I’m doing something good for my skin and I don’t always remember to moisturise every day so it makes me feel as if I’ve done my bit. I think they do help relax just as much as the Lush bath bombs, also.

Price and Availability

In terms of pricing, I think Bomb Cosmetics are generally cheaper. Lush isn’t exactly over-priced, but there is a noticeable difference. In saying this, the bath bombs do offer very different things so I guess it’s what you prefer paying more/less for. Lush is a high street shop so I think most cities/places have one and it’s also worldwide so there is one near everyone, I guess it’s fair to say. My local one is a 15-20 minute drive away, but I do look forward to my shopping there so I think it’s worth it! Lush also has a website, which you can find HERE. I’ve only found one little place that sells Bomb Cosmetics products and it’s like a little card shop in a shopping centre near me, but it’s only a small variety. I think you would be better off with the website (see HERE) but if you don’t use cards or can’t order online, this could become an issue. I don’t know/think there are many shops around so you may need to search a little bit for that one.

Which do I prefer? I love both of these brands for their different qualities but I do have a soft spot for Lush. I think I’ll write an entirely different blog post about Lush as a whole because shopping there is an experience, not just a shop you pop into. Every aspect of Lush is enjoyable and if you haven’t tried it yet, I would highly recommend it!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love VS. blog posts so if you have anything you specifically want to see me write about, please don’t hesitate to leave it in the comments below. I hope I have educated you a little bit more so that you can decide which ones you want to use in the future (if you have, let me know in the comments!).

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

