Ribbon VS. Pamper (Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special)

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be comparing for you two eye shadows from one of my favourite palettes. For any of you who have read my previous blog posts on the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (you can read my All About HERE), you may have realised the same thing that I did (other than the fact it is stunning!): that some of the colours are fairly similar. I decided I would write a few blog posts on these colours in particular to compare them for you and tell you what I use the different shades for and all good things like that. Without any further ado, I think I will begin this blog post for you. To purchase this palette, you can click HERE and HERE.

Colour

Pamper and Ribbon are two matte pink shades from this Sleek palette; both beautiful and a little bit different from a normal neutral eye. Ribbon is on the top row of the palette and is much more of a typical Barbie-pink colour. This is quite bright and I think if used as a base it could be used to create a much more bolder, maybe even neon look. Personally, I wouldn’t use this colour for day to day; I don’t think I’m confident enough to rock this one to school! I would, however, use it if I’m doing someone/s makeup for a show or something like that where the makeup has to be noticeable, bold and for effect more than anything else.

Pamper, on the other hand, is much more of a pastel, day-to-day pink that I love for everyday! It is much lighter and I suppose calmer in tone than Ribbon. This, I think, has much more of a white-ish undertone, whereas Ribbon is pink through and through (which then makes Pamper more pastel-y). This also means that the two colours don’t really look that good or aren’t compatible enough to work alongside each other in a look. This can be built up to be a bit more bold but it won’t reach the same level as Ribbon.

Pigmentation

As with all of the colours in this palette, Ribbon and Pamper are quite pigmented. Due to Ribbon being much brighter anyway, you could say it is hence more pigmented, but I think both are as equal to one another in their own rights. I think if you wanted to build Pamper up to the same level as Ribbon, it could take a few ‘layers’ but at the same time, due to the differences, it wouldn’t be fair to judge it on that. They both supply a solid amount of colour in any way you choose to use them but I think their actual colour should be kept in mind for this.

Longevity

Again, all the colours in this palette have a similar amount of lasting time and are pleasantly surprising considering the price of it. These don’t last for hours on end and aren’t exactly industrial strength and will start to wear after a number of hours (depending on what you’ve been doing). However, for this price you can’t really complain and at least there is consistency within all of the eye shadows in terms of the longevity.  When I come back from school (after nearly 7hrs of wear) it is noticeable how much it’s worn throughout the day but if I am using a pink then you can still kind of see where it was, not in a patchy way, just in a general, slightly coloured eyelid way.

Day or Night?

As I slightly mentioned earlier, I do have a slight ‘when and where’ for the individual eye shadows. As I also mentioned earlier, I wouldn’t wear these two together; their undertones just don’t compliment each other and could even make them clash. Ribbon is something I would use when doing makeup for someone who is performing in some way (such as dance, acting etc.) just because it is bold enough to give the effect I want and remain noticeable. My first idea for this colour would actually be doing a 1980’s makeup look as all they did back then was almost neon eyes and there was no shame whatsoever! This colour screams 80’s and so it would be 100% suited to match a look where that is needed.

Pamper, on the other hand, is something I do actually wear day-to-day and can get away with it at school. It is much paler and is just a bit nicer and different to a typical neutral eye look. This is super subtle so for those who want to start getting a bit more confident in terms of eye makeup, this one could be for you! It’s just a little baby step out of the comfort zone, but it’s still a step!

Finally, which do I prefer? Considering my confidence levels and when/where I tend to wear makeup, I do prefer Pamper. I love this colour on myself; in the winter when I’m pale (and now, actually) this compliments my skin tone perfectly and somehow brings out my blue eyes a little bit. I’m sure there will be a time when Ribbon takes over my entire existence but, unfortunately, I have not reached that time yet. I will use it at some point, though, I promise!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post, it was actually pretty fun to write! Let me know what eye shadows you are loving at the moment or what you would like to see more of! Also, tell me what I need to try out; I’m a keen makeup hoarder!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

P.S. I’m so sorry this blog post it late! I just needed to make sure it was perfect for all of you! Have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “Ribbon VS. Pamper (Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special)”

Leave a Reply

