Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 08 VS. The Body Shop’s Colour Crush Lipstick in Berry In Love

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be comparing for you the Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 08 and The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Berry In Love (that was a mouthful!). I love both of these lipsticks and have mentioned both on this here blog but have only just noticed that they are of similar colours. Why? Because I’m an idiot and I don’t even notice what’s right in front of my eyes! Anyway, I have chosen little aspects I would like to talk to you about so I’m going to get going.

Colour

I think the most significant difference between most lipsticks is the colour and this is no different. At a quick glance (or a normal person looking at it), they both look like brown/pink/berry-toned nudes that have a slight sheen, yet I have still managed to unpick this! Berry In Love is very much a sheerer version of 08 with pink undertones that over-shadow the brown, giving it a more red-y pink-y vibe. Due to my heavily pigmented lips, though, it still comes across as a natural colour – ‘my lips but better’ if you will. 08, on the other hand, is a lot thicker in consistency and applies much more opaque than Berry In Love. This lipstick contains a lot more red and brown undertones and so looks slightly darker and less sheer. This is one I would wear if I wanted a ‘my-lips-but-better’ for more impact, such as on a night out instead of for just daytime. I do still wear it for daytime, though, because it doesn’t stop the fact it’s beautiful!

WP_20160627_11_33_25_Pro

Longevity

As I’ve already slightly mentioned, both of these come across with a slight sheen (Berry In Love more so than 08) so they will come off eventually, particularly when eating or drinking. Both of these do last pretty well though, considering this factor. If you’ve been a reader of mine for a while now, you will know how much I love Rimmel lipsticks and how they’re longevity shocks me every time so this one will overshadow Berry In Love slightly. They do both last for a decent amount of time but I will have to reapply once I’ve eaten or just after quite a long time, and I do find the Rimmel one does so better.

Effect on Lips

I have quite dry lips and after wearing lipstick for a period of time it can accentuate this and I can wake up the next day looking as if I’ve kissed Edward Scissorhands. I found that the Rimmel one could dry my lips out if I didn’t care for my lips properly before and after wearing it, but I think my lips have got used to their formula by now! The Body Shop lipstick doesn’t dry my lips out very much if at all, but it can cling to any dry patches I may have. What I’m trying to say is that both of these lipsticks can dry my lips out but with the correct care, it won’t cause any long-term damage that can’t be fixed overnight.

WP_20160523_002

Price and Availability

In terms of price and availability, 08 does have the upper hand; it only costs £5.49 and is available from Boots and Superdrug. Berry In Love, however, costs £10 and is only available, unsurprisingly, from The Body Shop. The price of Berry In Love does kind of put me off more than where it is actually sold because I don’t find that much of an issue; I don’t tend to have a lot of money spare so if I do it would more likely be spent on something the same or a similar price to the Rimmel one. That’s my personal preference but it is double the price for the same or very similar amount of product.

Which one do I recommend, then? I do love both of these lipsticks very much and I suppose it does depend what you are looking for. They’re so similar in colour, yet they’re not, it’s so tricky! I suppose my heart lies with Rimmel but I do still adore The Body Shop one. If you would like to see my reviews on either of these you can click HERE or HERE.

And there we have it! I suppose I am still quite undecided so I would like you to tell me what you think of each product and which you prefer (if you own both that is). I love lipstick so much so it’s like choosing my favourite child! Let me know what you’re favourite lipstick is of the moment so I can check that out, too!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 08 VS. The Body Shop’s Colour Crush Lipstick in Berry In Love”

Leave a Reply

