Night Out Essentials

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be showing you what I consider my essentials for a night out. As I’m getting older, I am suddenly finding I have a lot more independence and freedom than I did 5 years ago, and so if I forget anything it’s down to me. I have like a little mental list of things I carry around with me religiously and so I thought I would share them with you now so you never get caught in a tricky predicament because you’ve forgotten one small thing. If you would also like to see my Night Out Routine, you can click HERE.

Phone

Starting with what I suppose are the absolute essentials, it would of course have to be your phone. You never know when an emergency may arise or when you will need someone outside of your group so keeping your phone in you’re bag is 100% necessary. Also, make sure that if it’s dark you can see your phone in your bag, either by owning a neon coloured phone (like myself) or by putting a little bit of a brightly coloured nail polish on it somewhere in order to make it easier to see. And don’t forget to charge it up before you go! That is probably the scariest first world problem there is!

Keys

If you don’t know how long you’re going to be out for (please be responsible, Munchkins!), taking your keys could really help you and anyone you live with. Obviously you should have your keys on you all the time anyway for safety reasons, but if you don’t then make a point of taking them so that you don’t wake up anyone else when you need to get in at 1 in the morning by ringing the doorbell 7 times! It also means no one has to stay up for you, but please don’t lose them! Another worst case scenario right there!

Coin Purse and Coins

I don’t know about you, but I definitely have a little soft spot for coin purses. I love my gorgeous Ted Baker card purse, but there’s something so sweet and dainty about coin purses that I just can’t get enough of! These are also super compact (there’s going to be a theme here!) and I find that taking coins instead of notes is actually safer. Yes, it may be heavier but people are much less likely to steal £10 in coins than a £10 note, and you will also feel if anythings missing. You also won’t need to bother with little bits of change as well.

Lipstick and Lip Balm

Again, a complete necessity for me! I love playing around with lip colours, but I’m an an absolute fiend when it comes to eating my lipstick off or biting my lips, so taking my lipstick with me is just a must. Clearly you would take the lip colour you’re wearing (instead of stocking up on 12 random ones!) but this is just for reapplication and making your lips look amazing all night! I also tend to take a lip balm with me (the stick ones are best for these kind of occasions) as my lips can get dry very easily and so a little bit of moisture can never go amiss. It can also help distribute the colour of your lipstick if it’s all disappeared from the centre or at least give it a nice sheen.

Powder and Small Powder Brush

A little vain, once more, but still important! I didn’t do this until recently but now I powder much less in hope of the ‘dewy look’ and so my nose can end up a little shiny after a few hours. I will only take this, though, if I’m out for a particularly long time because it does take up room. I just take my usual setting powder and powder brush (but it you have a smaller, travel sized one, this is the time to use it!). I’ve also found that leaving the brush rolling around your bag can damage it or make it ‘less appealing’, shall we say, to use so I would put these two and my lipstick and lip balm in a little zip up section of my bag instead of just roaming free.

Roll-On Perfume

Most places don’t allow full perfume bottles into the venue but you can get away with a small roll-on one in a zip pocket. Preferably, choose a scent that matches or compliments the one you are wearing otherwise you could smell like a sales man/woman! This is, again, just to top up throughout the evening/night and add a little something if you’re in a hot, sweaty crowd. I don’t do this all the time but I do find these super handy and the scent (depending on which brand you get it from) does last a fairly long time. Fun fact for you, applying a cold liquid onto the veins on your wrist can actually cool you down so this could also help during the hot, summer evenings we are hoping and praying for!

Small Compact Mirror

I think this goes without saying after all the makeup bits I’ve included! You never know where the closest mirror will be and it may be too crowded to go hunting for one, so if you take a small one with you, you won’t have to worry about it! Okay, so the lighting might not always be perfect for it but it’s still so much easier than looking for a mirror when there’s one right there! Take a small one that have some kind of cover on it in order to protect it and you shouldn’t have to worry at all!

Everyone’s Contact Numbers

My final one is probably quite important for people of my age but I’m sure you can make it applicable to your own lives. When I’m going out as a group, I will tend to have their numbers anyway, but I also have a fair few of my friends parents numbers as well just in case of an emergency. My best friend actually has a nut allergy so if anything happened I would have to phone her Mum (after stabbing her with her EpiPen, of course) and it’s just a bit more reassuring to be honest. If this isn’t possible, make them your friend on Facebook so you can call them or message them this way. Nine times out of ten everything goes to plan and it’s alright, but it does help a fair bit!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I love making lists so this is something I looked forward to writing! I hope you can take some of these and use them yourselves or at least make them applicable to your own life. Let me know what your essentials are – you may have something I’ve never thought of but now desperately need!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

