EOTD: Purple Smokey Eye

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you a makeup look I have been loving recently! A coloured smokey eye – I know, I know! I’m proud of myself too! I never thought I’d be a smokey eye person, let alone a coloured smokey eye person but this look has changed my view completely and I’m never looking back! When I first created this in my head I wasn’t sure if the purple would clash with my blue eyes but it doesn’t disturb them at all and they do look stunning together! I’m going to stop rambling now and actually tell you how I made this beauty!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Metallic Pomegranate (available from Boots and Superdrug)
  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special; using The Mail and Celebrate¬†(available from Boots and Superdrug)

I think we can all sense where this is going! I know the colours look dark (and it probably does whilst it’s on as well to be fair) but I do wear this during the day and can get away with it but I guess it would be more suited to evening. I also wear pretty thick framed glasses so I guess that hides some of the harshness.

The first thing I do is just using my ring finger I apply a layer of Metallic Pomegranate all over my lid. Depending on how dark I want the look to go, I may lay down another layer on top of that just to build the colour fully. I will also blend out the edges using a fluffy blending brush just to make it look seamless and not too harsh. I find these Colour Tattoo’s so easy to apply an even layer of and they’re so pigmented but once they’re on, they’re on! They’re not budging!

Taking a small, dense blending brush, I tuck a little bit of The Mail into my crease. As you may know if you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, this is my go-to crease colour and this just adds a small amount of definition to my eye which I need amongst the darkness. I don’t apply too much of this and also blend it out a fair bit to make it a little bit smokier but daytime smokey (please tell me you understand that!). I feel like if the lid colour is harsh, the crease shouldn’t be harsh as well to kind of balance them out.

Some of you may remember me one time trying to create a purple smokey eye with Celebrate (literally before Christmas) and it didn’t go well at all because it was so dark and I just didn’t use it right. Now, I have the answer! Taking a small, flat-headed brush (because you want as much control with this colour as possible!), I apply some of this to the outer quarter of my eye and use the other side of the brush to blend it and create almost a gradient effect. These two colours look stunning together, especially when blended to create the gradient – if you think of the Tumblr galaxy backgrounds, it’s kind of like that. I’ve even been complimented on it before!

I then apply my usual winged eyeliner, using quite a lot of Noir as oppose to Crave just because it’s that bit darker and if it smudges it only adds to the whole look! I love my eyeliner but it does need to stand out from the crowd! To see how I create my winged eyeliner, you can click HERE.

In terms of lip, I will tend to pair this with a nude or ‘my lips but better’ colour because the eyes do end up pretty dark and what other lips colours actually match purple? Just try to balance a dark eye out with a nude lip – best advice you will receive today if you ask me! I’m joking, but just bare that in mind. Even a nude lipgloss would look stunning with this but the eye is shimmery so please don’t forget about this as well!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed reading how I create this look; let me know if you try it and how it turns out for you! Also, let me know what makeup looks you have been loving recently so that I can try them for myself!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

