June Favourites 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Just where-oh-where is the year going? I feel like I’ve blinked and here I am, writing another Favourites! June hasn’t been the kindest to me (and I guess that’s hurried it along) but I have still managed to gather together a few Favourites for me to talk to you all about. Even if life’s bad, we still have lipstick, just remember that my Munchkins!

WP_20160627_11_33_25_Pro

So my first Favourite of the month has been the Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 08. I picked this up whilst out shopping after lusting for it for months on end and I’ve never looked back! I own one other neutral shade bar this one but I think this one tops it! I have naturally quite pigmented lips anyway so this is basically a ‘your lips but better’ shade on me which has been welcomed happily into my makeup bag! This is almost a berry-toned nude with slightly brown and pink undertones. It just ticks all the boxes, really! I’m terrible at describing it, I am sorry! It just looks gorgeous on and because it’s one of the Rimmel ones (which you know I love and adore), it’s not drying, it gives a slight sheen and stays on for a ridiculous amount of time! This has actually become my go-to shade because it pairs so well with so many other makeup looks. This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

WP_20160627_11_34_07_Pro

I only have a couple of beauty Favourites this month, so the final makeup item I will be sharing with you is the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Metallic Pomegranate. I can’t remember whether I mentioned it or not, but I received this for my birthday but before this month I had never really reached for it and didn’t really know how or when to wear it. This month was the month of Metallic Pomegranate! I’ve found the most gorgeous way to wear it (which I will be sharing with you in my next blog post) and it’s been my go-to (and has also matched 08 pretty well!). I adore the 24hr Colour Tattoo’s anyway, as you all know by now, but this colour has taken over my life! It’s shimmery and is very much a dark brown-toned purple, to the point where from afar it can look a lot more like a dark brown than a purple (so don’t worry if you’re a bit on the shy side!). It also blends super nicely and can be built up for a much smokier look, which I love! This is very versatile, as well, and can be worn more dramatically for night or a little less so for daytime! This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

WP_20160627_11_34_34_Pro

Onto my randoms, I have fallen for another book! Again by Rainbow Rowell, but this time it’s Eleanor and Park. The same friend who recommend me Fangirl told me about this one and she has, once more, allowed me to read it. I think I’m one of those people who finds it quite difficult to get into books; I have quite a hectic life so being able to sit down and read a chunk in attempt to enchant myself is very rare. This was one that took a few sittings to get into but now that I’m in, there is no going back! This story follows Eleanor who has just moved to this new high school (it’s set in America, once again) and she unexpectedly meets Park. She’s seen as the ‘new, weird girl’ but they soon get talking and I really can’t tell you much more without giving it away (though you’ve probably already guessed by now!). I’m only halfway through but it’s getting really good! It uses third person narrative once again but it follows both of them and their individual lives, which I don’t think I’ve ever seen in a book before but I really like. I just love Rainbow Rowell’s writing style – she is just amazing! I was scared I was going to have to force myself into it because I’d loved Fangirl so much and everyone seems to rave about this book and it would almost jinx my love for it, but it really hasn’t. I highly highly recommend her books for teenagers and young adults – you will not be disappointed! This is available from Waterstones and WHSmith.

Next is another random Favourite but this is really personal and something you may find a bit weird. This month, I have loved motivating others. I know. I have no idea where this has come from but I am that person that gives loads of advice but never takes it and applies it into my own. As I’ve gotten older, I have also become a much more confident speaker and I’ve used this as a positive in just speaking and voicing what I consider positive opinions. If you’ve been a reader for a while now, you may have worked this out but yeah, I am the holder of all things good! I’m joking, but I do like helping others and speaking them through their problems and just being a good friend *smiles awkwardly*. I think I tend to do this to distract myself from my own problems but either way I  love it and it’s in my Favourites!

My final Favourite is very personal and is actually my body. As some of you may or may not know, for around 10 years now I have struggled with my weight and body image, which is a pretty long time for someone of my age, but something has clicked this month and I’m starting to enjoy myself a bit more within my body. I can’t exactly tell you what it is yet, but I’ve come to realise that as a girl/woman/member of the female species, my body is going to change. I’m going to grow (well, maybe not now), I’m going to shrink (much more likely), it’s going to grow as I get older and become pregnant, it’s never going to be the same once I’ve had children etc. and that’s okay because that’s what being a woman involves. Our bodies are never going to be in a permanent shape or way, it is every-changing from our first breath to our last. That’s life. Obviously I still want to maintain a certain level of fitness and I will do so, but losing weight is no longer my highest priority from waking up in the morning. This also struck me when I put some pajama shorts on one evening and noticed how my calves have actually shrunk in size from what they were last year and also made me super happy (kind of contradicting what I just said, but anyway). It just made me really happy and a lot more confident, but yes, bodies change and as long as you contain a beautiful persona inside it, that will shine through and you will be beautiful on the outside too. As cheesy as it sounds, it’s true!

And there we have it it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post, Favourites are by far my favourite to write (inception!). Let me know what you have been loving this month or whether you agree with any of things I have mentioned. Please don’t forget to leave any recommendations below, also.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

