Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser VS. Simple Replenishing Rich Moisturiser [Kind To Skin]

Good Evening Munchkins,

Today I will be comparing for you the Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser and the Simple Replenishing Rich Moisturiser. Very long names, but trust me, it’ll get easier as we go along! I thought I would write this blog post so that any of you who are interested in trying either of these products from Simple will know the differences between the two of them and perhaps make a more educated decision when it comes to buying them. Or it’s just a leisurely read – the choice is yours! I have been trying both of these for around 3 months now so I should have everything I need to talk to you about them.

Usage

The first thing I would like to talk to you about it how much of each I use. I think quite naturally, we change how much of a product we use depending on what (if anything) we’re putting on after, what time of day it is, our skin type etc., but I have a slight generalization for you. I tend to use slightly more of the Replenishing Rich one than I do the Hydrating Light one which actually surprise me because surely the richer one would be able to cover a bigger surface area with less product? I do also have combination skin with a tendency for a dry forehead and nose so I guess I do layer up the Rich one for that reason. The Light one, however, covers the face with relatively little and also sinks in super quickly because of this factor. I will apply makeup straight after using this one, though, so I suppose that’s the reasoning behind that.

WP_20160312_08_18_46_Pro

Consistency

I know it sounds crazy, but I can actually feel a slight difference between these two. The Rich one feels a lot thicker and actually heavier once on the skin and when sinking in can form a sort of layer over the face. This does depend on whether you like that kind of feel or not – I personally don’t mind but I may go back to further rub it in if I am in a rush for any reason. It can sometimes feel like my skins drowning in it, though, so just be aware for that! The Light one (as you can expect) actually feels fairly light on the skin and, as I’ve previously mentioned, sinks in fairly quickly. I find this one better to use if I am in a bit of a rush for this reason. Both of these moisturisers, though, can be evenly distributed and so makes applying it just a little bit easier and more precise.

WP_20160312_08_17_38_Pro

Effect on Skin

I’ve used both of these moisturisers at different times in the day to make sure I have perfect results for you and can fill you in on this little section. I initially first started using the Rich one before applying my makeup because, as I’ve mentioned, I can get dry skin in certain places if they’ve been particular used and abused. I actually found that sometimes it didn’t help my dry skin and would either reverse the action or my skin would totally ignore it (which doesn’t surprise me, it’s my skin after all!). However, a couple of weekends ago I wore a lot of makeup on both days for quite a large amount of the day so applied it before I went to bed the nights before, during and after just to rescue my skin a little bit and I felt like this did help the welfare of my face. The Light one, on the other hand, doesn’t dry out my skin and does help it when I apply it and because they both contain glycerin, they both help my makeup stick to it. I think this one is based upon your skin type but from my experiences, these would be the guidelines I would follow.

WP_20160312_08_18_30_Pro

When To Use Them

Kind of coinciding with the last point, I do have to use these moisturisers at different times of the day to get the full impact and total benefits suited to my skin. I use the Light one before I apply my makeup in the morning because it helps to keep my makeup in place (with the magic ingredient of glycerin!) and because it sinks in quickly it doesn’t waste any time but it gives my skin a little something to get through the day with. The Rich one, however, is one I don’t use all the time (as I say, don’t want to drown my skin) but when I do it’s just before I go to bed so it can sink in overnight. And don’t worry, your face won’t stick to the pillow, which I know it a great fear for many! Basically, I use the Hydrating Light on as a day cream and the Replenishing Rich one as a night cream. Much like the last point, this does kind of depend on your skin type and what it needs so don’t just follow what I do, it’s all about you *cue McFly*.

Finally, which one do I prefer? I love both of them but the one I couldn’t go without would have to be the Hydrating Light Moisturiser! I think I will find more use for the Replenishing Rich one in the winter when it gets a lot colder and my skin becomes a lot more dry but right now, the Hydrating Light one is my best friend! If you would like to see my individual reviews of these two you can click HERE and HERE. For the Hydrating Light Moisturiser, you can purchase it as Boots, Superdrug and some supermarkets. The same goes for the Replenishing Rich Moisturiser which is also available from Boots, Superdrug and some supermarkets. Please match them to your skin type before you buy them because you could actually damage your skin further instead of helping it if you use the wrong skincare products for it.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I don’t think I write enough on skincare if I’m going to be entirely honest so if there’s anything you want to specifically see, please don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments. If you have any further questions, you may also ask me those as well. Don’t forget to let me know what you think of these moisturisers if you own them yourself!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

One thought on “Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser VS. Simple Replenishing Rich Moisturiser [Kind To Skin]”

Leave a Reply

