Maybelline Colour Show Nail Polish Review (in 677 Blackout)

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have a different type of review for you – one on a nail polish. ‘Woah there pony, somebody stop her, she’s getting wild!’ I know I just can’t help myself! I’ve owned this for a couple of months now (I included it in this HERE haul) and have worn it a couple of times and throughout those times have gathered enough information to share with you now. For those that are wondering, I still go to school so I can’t wear nail polish all the time (though I really wish I could!), hence why I’ve only worn it twice.

WP_20160612_13_49_31_Pro

Firstly, the packaging. There isn’t much to write home about in terms of packaging – it’s a typical glass nail polish bottle complete with screw on lid. I have just noticed though, that at the bottom it has that really cool dip glass thing that makes it look really elegant. You sometimes get that on really fancy glasses – that’s really boosted my mood! The lid is black on every colour in the range, not just mine, and I think that just makes it look really, as I’ve previously said, elegant. I think I need to get a thesaurus! Black does go with everything though. This bottle doesn’t really disappoint me (other than it’s glass so could be dangerous to travel with and it makes it a little bit heavier than other nail polishes I own) nor does it particularly overwhelm me (other than the fancy dip thing that I’ve just noticed!). The brush is relatively wide which I quite like because it quickens the process and I’m super impatient so again, bonus points!

This nail polish isn’t scented and so just smells like normal nail polish (which I’m not too keen on but that can’t be helped). I know you can get scented nail polishes but I don’t own one and I’m not too sure on the idea of them – what do you think? I knew I wanted a new black nail polish because the one I was using before this was starting to go a bit ming-mong and wasn’t as black as I’d liked it (only some of you will understand that!). I’m definitely not disappointed in Blackout – it is literally the darkest thing ever and I’m so pleased with it! This really fulfills my darkness needs and gives me the shade of black I love. I don’t think any of you realise how happy I genuinely am with it!

WP_20160612_13_49_40_Pro

Onto the actual product. I really do like this nail polish. It comes out super opaque and doesn’t go really lumpy like some nail polishes can. It also has a glossy finish. One of the things I like about it (though it could be due to the base coat I use) is that I can pull it off in one quick movement if I wanted to (which I tend to do a lot!). I hate having to take off nail polish with the nail polish remover because I realise that I must’ve been attacked my Edward Scissorhands in my sleep by the amount of little cuts I find so this is a huge bonus for me! I do sometimes find, as well, that if I remove it with nail polish remover it can stain my nails a little bit because it’s so dark but if you peel it off, it doesn’t as all. It does chip a little bit after a few days but I do consider myself pretty active and always doing so that doesn’t tend to surprise me anymore. This nail polish also dries relatively quickly, obviously depending on the thickness of the layer you just put on and how many layers you’ve got on and things like that. I don’t really know what else to say about it – it just ticks all my boxes!

Finally, availability and price. This is available from Boots and Superdrug as it’s Maybelline, so you have literally no excuse to not go pick one of these up! This retails for £3.99 which is really good for a nail polish of this standard. It is a bit more expensive compared to other drugstore brands but I do see Maybelline as being middle if there was a rank of highest to lowest drugstore pricing.

Would I recommend this? Definitely! I love this nail polish and there are a wide range of colours available to you. I think there’s even a top/base coat in this range! There are some other colours I’ve already started eyeing up for my next shopping trip! This range also offers shimmer colours as well as glossy colours.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post! I don’t feel like I talk about nails enough on here so let me know what you would like to see more from this category! I also feel like I haven’t written enough so if you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments. I don’t know what’s wrong with me – I normally overwrite!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

 

2 thoughts on “Maybelline Colour Show Nail Polish Review (in 677 Blackout)”

    1. Thank you! If I’m going to be entirely honest, I don’t think many nail polishes (if any) really do this, whether they promise it or not. I think it does dry quick but just don’t be fooled by the big, fancy writing! Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

