Maybelline Lash Sensational (Waterproof) Mascara Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I bathe in the joy of jumping on the bandwagon too late once again by writing this review on the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara (the waterproof one, to be exact). Everyone and their grandmother’s cat has heard and probably used this mascara by now, but I didn’t want my Munchkins to miss out and so here is my inevitable review of it! A little bit late considering everyone was talking about this in around March but better late than never *thumbs up*. I have been using this mascara for around 6 weeks now, so I have all the knowledge needed to bring you this blog post. Also, this is the waterproof one, and I haven’t seen any reviews on this particular one yet. Just saying. I don’t actually know if the formula or anything will be any different but hey, just in case!

WP_20160430_12_26_13_Pro

The first thing I want to talk to you about is the packaging. Like most people, I’m a sucker for packaging. This comes in a long (quite heavy) tube, coloured pink with little bits of silver glitter in it (some people say rose gold but I have to disagree). The silver and the pink look effortlessly stunning together and create a sheen that looks stunning when I whip it out of my makeup bag with the flourish it deserves! Like other Maybelline mascara’s, both ends go down to a point and it’s circular, so it fits quite nicely in my makeup bag but, as I previously mentioned, it is quite long and heavy so travelling may not be as easy as applying it. I don’t really know what the material of the packaging is, but it seems pretty strong and sturdy so shouldn’t accidentally break or open (it’s a screw-on cap, also). The writing and band around the cap is in a light blue, different to the original mascara, which I don’t think works that well with the pink as well as the black on the non-waterproof mascara does but I can understand why they did it (blue – water, aqua – it’s waterproof). This doesn’t affect the product inside, I know, but it just isn’t as visually appealing at the other mascara. It does help to differ between the two quite easily, though, which would be helpful if you own both (I don’t, which even shocks me!). The typography is really elegant and, like other insignificant things, floats my boat greatly! The wand of this mascara is plastic which may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I personally don’t mind (to be honest, I can’t notice any difference, positive or negative). It’s also a pretty basic wand but is slightly curved in order to fit comfortably around the shape of the eye (and hence the eyelashes). It doesn’t bend (or at least that much) which I don’t mind and could actually be easier in terms of accurate application. The bristles are quite short and thick in order to grip onto each individual eyelash which I quite like as well (means they’re not going anywhere!).

WP_20160603_13_44_22_Pro

I think the waterproof mascara’s only come in one colour which is a traditional black. This is a colour I prefer because my eyelashes are naturally dark anyway and so makes them stand out even further. The darkness of this is insane and the product is so pigmented – you will definitely be getting jet black eyelashes with this one! This could prove a problem, however, as older people don’t tend to suit or wear black mascara so this product wouldn’t be applicable to them (therefore limiting the customers this is available to). Although this doesn’t affect me at 15, it’s still a drawback in terms of overall customers. Most mascara’s aren’t scented (there is no reason for them to be) and this one follows that path but I really don’t like the smell of this. It smells quite chemical-y and that makes me think twice before putting it near my eyes. I’m sure this is normal but I’m just not too keen on said scent.

WP_20160603_13_38_13_Pro
My eyelashes once the mascara has been applied (I only apply it to my top ones)

Onto the actual product! This mascara is seriously amazing! This immediately intensifies, lengthens and seemingly thickens your eyelashes and it’s just insane! As I’ve already mentioned, I naturally have quite dark, thick lashes, so adding anything without making it look like I’ve stuck spiders to my face is quite difficult – this does the job so well! This is definitely my new fave mascara! This can make the eyelashes appear quite clumpy but I’ve read that in other reviews and that’s just the way this mascara works (which I’m fine with) but if you don’t like the look of clumpy eyelashes, maybe this isn’t for you. It’s not insanely clumpy but it does add more than just your eyelashes! This can take a little while to dry as well (obviously depending on how much you apply) but once I’ve applied it, I’ve finished my eyes and am moving onto the next part of my face. Onto the waterproof elements; well, it certainly is! I’m currently using a micellar water to remove my makeup and this alone doesn’t entirely remove it. It’s also quite difficult to tell whether any has actually been removed because I wear so much black eyeliner that that is always evident on my cotton pad (yummy!). I feel like this can actually damage my eyelashes but the water I’m currently using doesn’t promise to remove waterproof anything so I can’t technically complain! I will need to find a waterproof makeup remover, I think (let me know of any really good ones!). It does sometimes end up halfway down my face when I wash my hair and it’s been tested to it’s limits but that is my own fault! This doesn’t lie when it says it’s waterproof so if you’re looking for a decent, reliable waterproof mascara, this is you’re best friend!

Finally, price and availability. This retails for £7.99, which is fairly pricey compared to other drugstore products (I think my foundation cost the same as that!) but for what you get, it’s really good quality for money! I do think that Maybelline is kind of middle in the rank of drugstore brands so I guess considering that aspect, it’s fairly average pricing! This is available in Boots, Superdrug and some supermarkets also, so this is really easily accessible. You have no excuse, basically, to not go pick one of these up!

Would I recommend this to anyone? Yes! A million times: yes! This is amazing and there is a non-waterproof option for those who don’t want the danger of damaging their eyelashes (but I really live life on the edge!). This also doesn’t effect my eyes badly in any way (not that I have particularly sensitive eyes or anything) so it should be suited to everyone or at least the majority of. Just go give this a try in case you haven’t already (but you probably have because I’m always late to jump on the bandwagon!), you will love it, I can assure you!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this review! I do think I have rambled enough about one product for long enough now! If you have this mascara or the non-waterproof version, let me know what you think of it or any other makeup I need to try out for you guys!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Sunday,

Rachel xx

5 thoughts on “Maybelline Lash Sensational (Waterproof) Mascara Review”

  1. great in depth review! i have a lot of trouble finding complete waterproof mascaras that don’t melt off in water or summer heat 😉
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

  2. I love this mascara! I don’t use the waterproof one, they make my eyes itchy🤔. But for removing mascara I use vitamin E oil, which works for waterproof mascara too

Leave a Reply

