May Favourites 2016

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

I’m being serious when I say this now: where is the year going?!?!? We’re practically halfway through the year and I haven’t even had time to blink! To mark this depressing occasion, I have my May Favourites to share with you all today! Favourites blog posts are always my favourite to write (inception) so I’m very excited to share them with you this month. Some of them have been new, some are re-found and some are just basic realizations (which I’m very bad at – I’m oblivious to my own existence!) but either way, I have a fair few to get through with you.

My first beauty favourite of the month has got to be the Makeup Revolution Flawless Mattes Palette. I received this as a small Easter present and I never realized what you could do with so many mattes! This palette contains 32 entirely matte colours, all of which are ridiculously pigmented and have the staying power of a saint! I can’t believe how well it works with such a small price tag! I have created so many looks I’ll have to share with you at some point; the possibilities are endless! Obviously my face does need a little bit of shimmer so 9 times out of 10 it just creates a gorgeous base or crease colours or something like that, but it still floats my boat immensely and I would recommend it to everyone. It comes with a great range of colours, also. This is available from Superdrug.

Another beauty favourite of the month has actually been mixing two eye shadows together to get the perfect eyeliner; Crave from the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette (available at Feel Unique) and Noir from the Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (available from Boots and Superdrug). I know it may seem obvious because Crave has the longevity and Noir has the pigmentation and creaminess, but it literally just hit me this month! I’m a natural blonde, I think that’s an excuse in itself! All I do is apply my usual winged eyeliner (I did write a blog post, see HERE) with Crave then fill in as normal and then add a little bit more colour or sharpness/shape with Noir. The only reason why I don’t wear Noir on it’s own is because it has a tendency to drop down and that’s not what I’m looking for! I’m so glad I’ve finally tried using this combination – there is no going back now! It doesn’t even take much longer in the morning!

WP_20160312_08_18_30_Pro

A skincare favourite of mine has been the Simple Kind To Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser. If you read my review on this (see HERE), you would have heard how crazy I am about it! It works with my skin so well and has helped to combat dryness as well as help the longevity of my makeup. I love using this so much and I do think it’s necessary for everyone to have one! It doesn’t say it’s specified to a particular skin type and it does work with my oiliness and dryness so I think it should work for the majority of people! Also, as it’s Simple (literally) and has nothing artificial within it, it shouldn’t irritate or inflame the skin at all and should be gentle enough even for sensitive skin. This is available at Boots, Superdrug and a range of supermarkets.

WP_20160530_008

The first random thing I’ve been loving this month has been this book by Rainbow Rowell called Fangirl. I’ve been in acknowledgement of this book for a number of years now but I kept putting it off because I felt the title was quite misleading and I didn’t think fan fiction (which I thought it was) should be in a book (that kind of stuff can stay on Wattpad and Wattpad only!). I did read the back but I was too stubborn to believe that it wasn’t actually fan fiction to further endeavor into this book. It was only brought back to my attention when my friend bought it and read it and told me how amazing it was, so I obviously had to give it a go. Oh-me-oh-my, this book is amazing! I’m so glad my friend allowed me to read it; I can’t put it down! It’s quite long (450 ish pages) but there was a time where I was reading nearly 100 pages at a time. She finished it in a few days but I don’t want it to finish; it’s that kind of selfish love I have for this book. I do think I am enjoying it more at my age now and with my past experiences I have now rather than if I read it when I was younger like I was planning. This book has gone as far as to re-introduce my love of reading and for that, I’m extremely grateful. It’s very rare you find one of those books you can’t put down but you want to so it doesn’t end! This is a very easy read and there’s all the small plot twists that life has in there! I don’t know how to describe it because the blurb didn’t attract me that much either, you just need to go read it. Think teenage, romance, real-life, plots twists, and you’re not far off! I’m currently 300 pages in and I just don’t want it to end. I don’t know what more I can say and I’ve already taken up a lot of room with just one thing! It does include swearing so if you’re young, it may not be suitable for you, I’m sorry. This is available from Waterstones, WHSmith, Ebay and Amazon.

Following on from this love, I’ve actually started writing again. Oh hai there 2007 Rach! My childhood is taking over my life but I’m very okay with that! Basically, I’m a huge daydreamer and during lessons I do tend to drift off into my own little world and imagine things that would never happen but I would love to. Also, I love big words; I think this has kind of stemmed from the book and my obsession of Dan and Phil! I’ve somehow mashed these two together and created some fictional short scenarios (they tend to be under 1000 words) and I really do enjoy it. I love creating situations and describing them in detail and knowing that whatever I want to happen can. I’ve started publishing these to Wattpad so if you would like to read them I can leave a link on my next blog post but they’re not really there for any reason other than for me to have yet another creative outlet! I really do love it and it brings back so many amazing childhood memories of when I used to write really long stories and taking myself out of the real world into my own one.

Music wise this month, I’ve been loving everything under the sun! When writing, I’ve been loving listening to James Bay; I find him so relaxing and I find that unlike other music released today, I can actually listen and appreciate what he’s saying. I’ve been doing that thing on Spotify where you go onto an artist and just click random so you get a whole selection of their songs – this has been my life-saver this month! It’s introduced me to so many new songs and I just love it so much! My favourite songs of his are Best Fake Smile, Scars, If You Ever Want To Be In Love and so many others I just can’t remember the names of. They’re super chilled and I just love him as an artist!

I’ve also been loving listening to Adele in the same format for the same reasons, particularly her older stuff. It just relaxes me and makes me appreciate the lyrical content. I also find that these two artists in particular help to stimulate my imagination and give me more to write about because they’re songs are so emotive themselves. They’re songs are so vocally and lyrically rich as well that they give me a lot more big words to work with! My favourite songs of Adele’s this month have been Daydreamer, Send My Love (To Your New Lover) and her cover of That’s It, I Quit, I’m Moving On.

Finally, I have been loving a cover by Tom Fletcher (from Mcfly/McBusted) and his wife, Giovanna. Both of them have very rich vocals which I just die over; I’ve always loved that type of music. My favourite cover of theirs this month has been You Really Got A Hold On Me. It is basically a cheesy, love-y duet but I care more about the vocals in this instance! I’m too cynical to appreciate these lyrics! They have a whole range of covers which I also enjoy but this one has just been a stand out to me this month, it’s just so well done. They’re the ultimate relationship goals and I think these covers really do prove it!

And there we have it! That was a very long Favourites, I will admit, but I just love having a chat with you guys! Let me know what you think of anything I have mentioned or anything more I need to try out! I can honestly say that everything I have just mentioned I have adored this month so I hope you do to! Let me know what your favourites have been for the month of May! Mine’s been very writing based, as you can tell!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you Thursday,

Rachel xx

4 thoughts on “May Favourites 2016”

  1. The palette looks gorgeous! I love their eyeshadows, blushes and highlights but I don’t own any of their large palettes so I definitely will when I’m next shopping! xx

Leave a Reply

