Top Tips When Starting To Use Makeup

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be giving some of my slightly more inexperienced Munchkins a little turn in the spotlight and will be (hopefully) helping you when starting to use makeup. If you have been an avid reader for a while now, you will know that my obsession with makeup started from a fairly young age and it has grown so much it has taken over my life. I have only been entirely happy with my style and application of makeup since the end of last year though, so I have a lot of mistakes and tips to share with you so hopefully you can just enjoy the world that makeup is.

One thing I want to make entirely clear before I get going is that makeup isn’t for everyone and you shouldn’t force yourself to do it just because ‘everyone else is’. This blog post also has no age restrictions or anything that will belittle anyone in any way (I don’t think any of them do, but hey, disclaimers!) because sometimes you can feel a bit stupid or behind if you’re not into makeup (I know I did!). I just want you to know I’m not intimidating like some other beauty bloggers may come across (I’m 5 foot 1, for God’s sake!) and this is purely to help you. Also, don’t just try and get into makeup for the vanity reasons because it won’t go very far and you just won’t enjoy it. Appreciate makeup for it’s creative elements as well as the confidence it may give! I’m going to stop blabbering now and actually get on!

Start When You Feel Ready

This is kind of going back to the disclaimer but I find this so important when talking about makeup! I’ve always been quite mature for my age so I guess it has just correlated with that but this shouldn’t be something you’re forced to do by friends or peers or for you’re own self-conscientiousness. My youngest brother (who is 5) likes playing around with makeup but he only does it to play around; even as his sister I wouldn’t want him at his age piling on 27 layers of foundation. Also, if your parents won’t allow you at a young age, just take this in your stride and hopefully one day this will prove you are mature enough to start wearing some eventually.

Build You’re Collection Up Slowly

 Trust me, I know how frustrating this is, but I cannot stress it enough! In the grand scheme of things, makeup isn’t a bare necessity and even as the addict I am, I only buy makeup if I have money spare and I only started buying good makeup like a year and a half ago/year ago. Up until that point I used makeup my Mum no longer wanted, I kept makeup from magazine’s, anything I could get for free I would get (but don’t shoplift!). There is no point in paying £20 for a lipstick if in a few weeks you’ve decided you want to focus you’re creativity on something else. Just collect as you go along (from magazines, you’re Mum, older siblings etc.) and don’t spend all you’re rent money on highlighters!

Practice Makes Perfect

This is one that I wish I told myself in the very beginning. I first fell in love with makeup when I was 10 but soon gave up because I couldn’t do any of the things I really wanted to do! Now, these things are pretty simple to me. Everything you do needs practice in order for you to get better at it and makeup is no different. It may seem tricky at first, but if you keep working on it, I promise you that you’ll get there! Please don’t give up at the first hurdle because it could start something amazing!

Think About Your Skin

Even though I’m only 15, the condition of my skin is still paramount. When I first used a certain BB cream (59 points if you remember this from last year!) I got three spots along my jawline literally overnight. This did take me by surprise but what I’ve learnt is to not jump from each extreme (i.e no makeup then loads of makeup). Like my other points, everything takes time and slowly build up how much makeup you use because it could damage you’re skin. Also, think about how you remove you’re makeup – face wipes may seem quick and easy but they do nothing for you’re skin! They can also be quite rough and harsh if you get a brand or type that isn’t right for you. Just remember that makeup isn’t all about a pretty picture, it can also affect your skin really badly. Bad skin can then affect how you’re makeup looks/sits on you and it’s just a dangerous cycle.No matter you’re age, you always need to care for your skin!

Re-Evaluate Why You Started in the First Place

Kind of re-establishing my first point, just remember why you started wearing/applying makeup in the first place. If it turns out you really don’t like having to allocate a time in your day to do you’re makeup, that’s absolutely fine, you don’t have to continue. As I previously said, makeup is more than just a pretty picture so just know what you’re getting into. I know it sounds like I’m talking about much more serious matters but what I’m saying is the truth. Don’t apply makeup if you don’t enjoy it and only do it for the vanity reasons – it won’t get you very far! And anyway, people will still love you with or without makeup because you are amazing and beauty is also portrayed on the inside!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post – I do really enjoy writing these so let me know any suggestions you have for similar ones. Also don’t forget to tell me if this actually helped you! This was written based on personal experiences I had so sorry if they’re not always applicable.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “Top Tips When Starting To Use Makeup”

    1. Thank you! I know, there wasn’t anything like this when I first started getting into makeup either, hence why I decided to write it! It is just about you’re own experiences really but hopefully these can be helpful. Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

