Relaxaton Routine 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through the current routine I use to relax. As a 15 year old in 2016 living in the UK in the month of May, I have all the good, amazing things to worry about: exams, family life and social media/blogging. These are things that I do love, however (otherwise I just wouldn’t complete them), but I do have to admit that stress is a common factor in my day-to-day life. I also know that a lot of people also suffer from stress or anxiety or something like that and so thought I could impart my wisdom and enlighten you with my stress relieving tactics. Not all of these I will do in one ‘session’ but they are all things I find help relax me. I will also be telling you what I did after I went to a festival a couple of weeks ago because that was a very hectic day in itself!

Take Off My Makeup

WP_20160312_08_16_50_Pro

The first thing I will always do if I know I am not leaving the house again that day is take off my makeup. I love makeup and applying it (you guys know this!) but sometimes there is nothing better than just removing it. When I went to the festival, I was wearing makeup from around half past 10 in the morning to midnight the same day. My skin was about to boycott, I swear! The current cleanser I am using is the Simple Kind To Skin Micellar Cleansing Water (available from Superdrug and Boots, expect a review soon!) and  I just this with a cotton pad and take off my makeup with it. I will also go over with a flannel that is slightly damp with cold water to refresh my skin and make sure I have got everything possible off. I will then just pat my skin dry with a towel. I don’t really have a night time skin routine but if you do, this is where you would insert it. On this particular occasion, I just wanted to go to bed so literally saturated my cotton pad knowing that one wipe would be plenty (name that old advert) but you don’t need that much with this cleanser. Also, if you’ve been on a long, hot day out, you may want to put this or your face wipes in the fridge during the day so when you come back they are nice and cool. I may also cleanse the next day to make sure my skin is still in great condition despite the day/night I had before!

Have a Bubble Bath

WP_20160508_11_35_17_Pro

I will admit that a nice, hot bubble bath may not be appropriate for this time of year, but I try and give myself one at least once a week so I can just relax and have a little bit of ‘me’ time. I live with 5 other people, so ‘me’ time is an endangered species, meaning that these moments are very special! I love using this lavender bath cream which I received in a set at Christmas as it creates amazing bubbles with very little of the product and lavender (supposedly) relaxes you. I also love using Unicorn Horn, the bubble bar from Lush, though that is part of the Valentine’s collection. I always ask for one for my birthday each year as my birthday is the day before Valentine’s. Perfect timing! I didn’t have a bubble bath after my festival but I do try and allocate at least one day a week where I can just do this without worrying about doing my hair or shaving (because that stresses me out as well!). Something I’ve also started doing is reading in the bath; I used to hate this because I was always so scared of dropping my book in and then ruining it but now I have a bit more trust in myself to do so! Reading is also something I love as it takes me into a completely different scenario so distracts me from whatever’s really going on!

Use a Face Mask

WP_20160508_11_35_01_Pro

This is something I don’t do very often because, like everything, face masks do slightly stress me out. I would, however, use one after another long day to make sure my skin hasn’t been too damaged. I am terrible for using them though as I get bored so easily or I forget about them or I don’t like how they feel on my face. I’m just very picky! I haven’t used the one above yet but it’s for blemish prone skin so could be for preventing any nastiness ending up on my face. I know I’m only 15 and I’m saying all this about skincare but you do only get one face and body so I’m going to make the most of it!

Moisturize

WP_20160508_11_35_30_Pro

I don’t know about you (*enters Taylor Swift*) but I hate full body moisturizing and will come up with any excuse to convince myself that it’s okay I haven’t done it in a while! However, I do get extremely dry thighs and behind my knees which cause it to become very itchy and so sometimes I just have to do something about it. For just over a year now I’ve been relying on the Mango Body Whip from The Body Shop as the mango oil in it really helps to soothe the dryness. I do think this works and after a long day where the itchiness is stressing me out, I will apply this to where I feel it’s needed. I don’t know why I get it but it doesn’t become flakey or anything, it’s just so itchy. If you know, please just tell me! I used to blame it on the cold weather but I don’t think I can do that anymore, haha.

Get an Early Night

My final point is probably my favourite; get an early night (if possible) so you get the maximum amount of sleep possible for your body. I know it can be difficult to get to sleep if you’re constantly thinking of that day or the next day, but this is paramount to how you’re body and mind function and it’s a natural human necessity! Do as you were meant to do and sleep! Unfortunately, I don’t have any tips on how to actually get to sleep, but lavender does help and not being on your laptop or anything with a back-lit screen a few hours before going to bed does also.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post and don’t forget to let me know what you do to help relax yourselves! Which of these do you do or are now going to start using? I would love to know what results you get from it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

