So, I Went To A Festival

Good Evening Munchkins!

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I had a very busy last weekend and on the Sunday I actually went to a festival. Yeah, I went and did that! It was a 2 day thing but because I was going out the Saturday night I couldn’t go the first day (when Peter Andre was on *sad face*). Sunday was my time to shine, though! It was my first time at that kind of thing and I went with my friends who had gone the day before so could tell me the etiquette (British problems) and everything I should know. Just going to put it out there now, if I don’t have legs of steel within the next few days I might have to go off on one; 5 hours I stood waiting for the acts we all wanted! Yeah, and consider the fact it’s England, I was wearing a playsuit, it was between 3pm-8pm, it was starting to cloud over and I’m 5 foot 1. I’m not 5 foot 1 anymore! The rants I could give you about children as well, but that’s another blog post in itself! Anyway, the acts we did see were pretty good (Sam Bailey’s vocals made me want to cry, Reggie and Bollie were so much fun, Diversity was just insane and the Hoosier’s were arrogant but they’re music was alright!). I was talking to my friends about this but have you ever had one of those bitter sweet moments where you’re finally only a few feet away from the person you’ve dreamed about for years (we got to the front after our 5hr trauma!) but you can’t actually touch them or interact with them. Had that with Perrie from Diversity, didn’t I. Wanted to cry but then he did some body rolls and I filmed it, so it’s all good! I also met another potential husband but I can’t tell you his name for the life of me! Anyway, I will now be telling you the makeup I wore and why and any other notable makeup things. I will be writing more about my ‘festival experience’ but for now let’s just get the makeup side of it sorted!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze: available from Boots and Superdrug
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette using Hustle: available from Feel Unique
  • Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Coral in Gold: available from Boots and Superdrug

Yeah buddy I wore a bright orange lipstick! If you can’t wear it at a festival, when can you? I think it’s already apparent what kind of makeup-theme I was going for, haha. All my friends were talking about getting their face painted and I was like ‘nah, you’re alright thanks, took me an hour to get it to this level already’! The face painting was really cool though.

The first thing I did was apply a layer of On and On Bronze. These eye shadows are industrial strength and I was prepared to be outside for about 12 hours, so I needed that! I was wondering about wearing an eye primer as well but I thought that would break up the eye shadow and do more bad than good. I wanted to go kind of neutral on the eyes ready for my neon lip but of course, shimmer was required! This actually lasted for the 13-14hrs I was wearing it which I’m super happy about!

Because I was kind of scared about some of On and On Bronze disappearing, I thought I  would ‘set’ it with a powder and just make it look a little bit like a smokey eye (my eyes are still recovering from all the darkness!). For this I used a little bit of Hustle and just applied it to my outer third then blended all of it out. As I mentioned a little while ago, I don’t think my Naked palettes are real so any colour that looks similar to this (Collection have a similar one in their Little Mix All About The Eyes palette; I mentioned it a few months ago, I think). This also lasted really well!

I’m just going to quickly mention what I did for my eyeliner because I’m proud, haha. I did my usual black wing but I used my Naked Basics Palette first of all (using Crave, this palette is real! Available from Feel Unique) for the longevity then to increase the harshness of the black, I used a little bit of Noir to fill it in and make the lines stand out more from my Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special (see ‘All About’ HERE, available from Boots and Superdrug). We got there! As the eye itself was quite dark, I did need that little bit of extra darkness. I wouldn’t use Noir on it’s own just because it can be known to fall halfway down your face but the pigmentation of it is incredible so for filling in it does the job. This also lasted really well!

WP_20160430_12_26_13_Pro

Another mentionable (that’s a word, right?) product I used on my eyes was the Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara in Black (available from Boots and Superdrug). This did not fall down whatsoever and it did get pretty hot at parts so I’m super chuffed about that. This also kept my lashes looking absolutely stunning all day and I did not need to touch up (not that it would’ve been possible because I didn’t take it!). Big thumbs up for that one!

WP_20160501_10_50_10_Pro

For my lips I obviously applied Coral in Gold and it was so much brighter to what I remembered when I first tried it! But it’s a good thing because I do love my orange! I seriously think I’m in love; if you’d told me a few years ago I’d leave the house with bright orange on my lips I would’ve thought you were crazy. I will definitely be wearing this more and will find any excuse to wear it now!

WP_20160308_15_20_23_Pro

A product I also think deserves a mention is the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in Translucent (available from Boots and Superdrug). I took this in my bag because I honestly thought I would need to powder my nose or around my t-zone but I genuinely didn’t have to. I wasn’t checking my face all day, but I did at some points and seriously, this stuff is amazing! I only had to apply it once in the entire day and that was when I was actually doing my makeup! Super super happy with this one!

WP_20160410_13_02_07_Pro

A final product to mention is the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter in Iridescent Gold (available from Superdrug, see review HERE). I’m including this because it cost me a grand total of £3 and it managed to last all day and I even got complimented on it. I’ve never been complimented for highlighter before so that was actually one of the highlights of my day (pun not intended!)!

And there we have it! I had so much fun and it was such a laugh! I can’t believe I saw Diversity; I’ve loved them from day 1! As someone who grew up with social anxiety, it still seems so weird to me that I managed to do it, as well as so many other things in the last year. I hope you have enjoyed this blog post and let me know what you would wear to a festival!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

