MOTD: Green Smokey Eye – Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Good Evening Munchkins!

Last weekend was a very busy one for me! Not only was it a bank holiday weekend, I was also out both nights and boy, was it worth it! Today I will be talking you through my Saturday night and the makeup I wore during it (because let’s be honest, that’s the most important part!). As my birthday treat from my grandparents, I was off to see Breakfast at Tiffany’s at a theatre in a city not too far from me (but it’s a really nice one so it was worth the hassle of travel!). Pixie Lott starred as Holly and let me tell you now, if 10-year-old Rachel could see me that night she would’ve cried; I was obsessed with her when I was younger! The show wasn’t at all what I expected, though in saying that I didn’t really know what it was about. It really shocked me but I couldn’t fault Pixie’s acting and the moments of dry humour which I do adore. Anyway, for my makeup that night I had planned to match it with my outfit (which included the midi skirt I had mentioned in my latest haul, see HERE) and I had the perfect eye shadow to match. Also, it was an evening performance so it was socially acceptable to rock a smokey eye!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Makeup Revolution Ultra Flawless Matte Palette using Earth: available from Superdrug
  • W7 Neon Nights Palette using the dark, shimmery green with no name: available from Ebay
  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special using Boxed (see ‘All About’ HERE): available from Boots and Superdrug
  • Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in 086 Sugar Plum (see review HERE): available from Boots and Superdrug

As you can tell, a lot went into this look! I did use more in the making of the finished look but they kind of blended away and made no real difference to the end look. I did also use an eye primer for this to make sure everything stayed in place all night and the colours (particularly the green) stood out. By the end of the night, the green and the browns had all blended together and it looked even more stunning than when I had first applied it. Also, don’t forget to blend after each step!

The first thing I did was applied a layer of Earth all over my lid using a medium sized, flat-headed eye shadow brush. Well, by all over my lid I mean on my outer and inner third quite heavily then blending the rest of whatever was left on my brush into the middle. I just did this to create a base for the green so it didn’t look too sheer and to also apply a first layer of what would become a real smokey look. This is a more neutral tone to what I would then apply so gave a base for the blending as well.

I then applied the shimmer-y green shade to the centre of my lid using a smaller flat-headed eye shadow brush but it kind of went all over my lid (yay for precision!) though it did still look stunning. I was worried the green would clash with my blue eyes but it actually looked really nice by the end of the night. Also, I wear really thick framed glasses so it probably wasn’t that noticeable! It’s so annoying that these colours don’t have names! Surely that’s the best part when creating a product! Anyway, this colour doesn’t include too much glitter but enough for my approval and it matched my skirt really nicely!

To add a bit more definition and smokiness to my look, I then applied a little bit of Boxed into my outer crease and outer third. This is a more warm toned brown whereas Earth is quite muted but once blended together it doesn’t clash at all. This is one of my absolute fave colours for smokey eyes as it creates amazing definition and smokiness (what I was looking for!) without making it look like you’d been punched. There is a line to how far I will go with my makeup! It also brought my entire outfit and makeup together and made it all look connected in some way unlike my writing! I then applied a thin layer of eyeliner and a small wing because I can’t live without it but I didn’t want it to disappear into the smokiness (and because I clearly wanted more stress).

WP_20160327_11_10_27_Pro

For my lips I applied my beloved Sugar Plum. Because the skirt is quite a Christmas-y green, I didn’t want to wear a statement red lip (and also because of the dark explosion now evident on my eyes) because it was April and we’re a bit past that now! I do feel like pink looks just as stunning if not better with that kind of green though because it isn’t as obvious to wear those two colours together. This lipstick is going to be my new best friend I think!

And there we have it! Let me know what you thought of this look and if you’ve seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s (either on the stage or the film) your thoughts on it. Also, don’t forget to tell me what you’re go-to makeup is for a night out! I really went out of my comfort zone for this one and I’m so glad I did!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

3 thoughts on “MOTD: Green Smokey Eye – Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

  1. you look beautiful! i love your eyeshadow 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

Leave a Reply

