How To: Winged Eyeliner

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be talking you through how to do winged eyeliner in my preferred, and hopefully the easiest, way. As you guys will know, I don’t go a day without wearing winged eyeliner, I feel like I look ill without it and my face just isn’t complete! I hope that this blog post is pretty simple to understand and helpful to you (you are more than welcome to ask me anymore questions surrounding it in the comments below) and this is one of those blog posts I couldn’t wait to write (I’m clearly very alone!). And also, I’m feeling a lot better today compared to the other day when I wrote my last blog post. That will be talked about at some point but right now I feel amazing and I’m so glad to be happily writing again! No more depressing blog posts for you!

The products I use to create my winged eyeliner are:

  • Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette, using Crave: available from Feel Unique
  • Model’s Own Angled Brush: available from Boots

Of course you don’t have to go for the exact same brush and eye shadow I use, these are just what I prefer using. I have a few black eye shadows in my collection now and find that Crave is the best one as it lasts all day without ending up halfway down my face. It can also be built up to be really black or more of a grey-y black, but of course I love my thick black eyeliner. It’s all trial and error, really! Also, the reason I use an eye shadow is because any other type of eyeliner scares me and I just find this easier to use than anything else. Please excuse my ugly, untamed eyebrows as well!

The first thing I do when creating my winged eyeliner is line my lash line. This may not look like much in the first picture, but trust me, it helps and it’s worth that extra bit of time. I tend to start in the middle, then right in the corner of my eye (be very careful in this area!) and then join all the little lines up. I always find my left eye easier than my right to do this on, I have no idea why! Is it possible to have two different eye shapes in one skull??

The next thing I do is create the outline for where I want my wing to be/how long/how thick etc. As you can tell, after just one layer of eye shadow it is quite grey toned but it will look amazing by the end, I promise! I just do this so that I can get a rough idea of where I’m going with it and because at this stage, there is still time to change the shape or wipe it away.

Then the easy step! All that is left now is to fill it in and to make it all look connected and seamless (see how useful that pre-drawn lash line is now?!). As you can probably tell, I did go over with a few layers of the eye shadow just to build up the opaqueness of the wing. I also re-drew the original lines so they stood out and made it look more neat instead of just having coal thrown in my face.

WP_20160408_11_26_42_Pro

To clean up any edges or places where fallout may have occurred, I just use a lip brush and followed the line of the wing. I find this to be the most efficient and successful way to clean up my eyeliner without making it look worse. Also, this brush must be clean! If it’s a lip brush and the last time you used it was for a red lip, it will look as if you’re bleeding from your eye lid which is impossible and not the look I would go for!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post; I’m so happy to be able to share something so warm and close to my heart with you all! If you have a different method for applying eye liner or try this one out, don’t forget to let me know so that I can try it out or inspect, depending on which option you’ve gone for. This is the template/guide I use for all eyeliner of different shapes and sizes and also, don’t forget that it’s taken me 6 months of doing eyeliner every single day to get to this level where I feel confident enough to share it with you. Just don’t expect to be amazing on your first try! Practice makes perfect!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. Today is the last day of the holidays *sad face* so I will now be uploading according to my usual routine (every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday) until further notice. I felt like a train driver then! Have a very good day in whatever way you choose to spend it!

5 thoughts on “How To: Winged Eyeliner”

Leave a Reply

