All About: Real Techniques Starter Collection

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be telling you all about the Real Techniques Starter Collection. I received this set of eye makeup brushes for Christmas and have been using them religiously ever since! I did include some of them in my January Favourites so if you remember that, 9 points to you! In this blog post I will be reviewing the collection and telling you what I use each brush for/how I find it works.

WP_20160408_11_18_14_Pro

The first thing I want to tell you about is the packaging and the aesthetic of the brushes. When I first received these, they were already in a black ‘travel’ case, which had 5 elasticated holes for the brushes (with a couple of extra ones) and velcro straps so you can adjust it to stand or just to hold your brushes in place. I think this is useful but at the same time could take up a lot of room and become less helpful if you were to take other brushes whilst travelling (which I’m guessing you would; I do anyway!).

The actual brushes are the same, medium-sized length that I find comfortable to use considering my tiny hands and need for speed (cannot believe I actually just typed that) when doing my makeup. These brushes have a purple/lilac handle (which could be seen as quite blue-y toned in some lights; also looks stunning) which helps to distinguish them from my other brushes and looks really cute. The names of the brushes are written on the handles as well as the brand name in more of a true purple shade. I find this really helpful but also visually appealing as the two different purples really compliment each other and because of how often I use these brushes and how I choose to mention them on this blog, I love how easy it is to read and get the names I need. The names are quite different to what you would expect (will become clearer later) which makes it easy to show whether its a brush from this collection or just a general brush but also quite difficult to remember (I have got a memory of a goldfish though!). The end of the brushes are black and have a soft, rubbery feel (think Nars packaging) and the bristles themselves are black but with white tips. I don’t know why, but I really like this feature; it just feels a bit more professional looking as oppose to just black bristled brushes. I also think that because they’re white, it makes it more obvious if there’s product on the brush and it needs cleaning. In saying that, I haven’t got round to cleaning them yet (please don’t judge me!) so I can’t really comment on that aspect, but when I do, I will.

I will now explain what I do with each of the brushes and how I feel about each one. In general, though, these brushes are amazing for applying different products to my face and the bristles are so soft it’s kind of a treat to use them! Despite using certain ones a lot, they still apply evenly and just as perfectly as they did on day 1. Also, just want this to be known, before receiving these brushes, I didn’t think brushes in general would make a bit of difference to how you’re face looked, but that has been very much changed!

Deluxe Crease Brush

WP_20160408_11_18_38_Pro

I use this brush (as you can probably tell) for when I’m blending in my liquid concealer. This is an eye shadow brush (don’t worry, I know) but it is the best concealer brush I’ve used to date. This is dense but not entirely stiff and due to it’s rounded head, it helps to evenly blend around my under-eye area. I really like this and would say this is my favourite brush in the whole collection.

Base Shadow Brush

WP_20160408_11_18_55_Pro

This brush is another of my all-time favourites. I use this to blend out the edges of my eye makeup if it looks too harsh or to blend colours together (I do use some brushes for their intended use, I promise!). This is not dense at all so helps to diffuse the colours very well and make it all look seamless.

Brow Brush

WP_20160408_11_19_15_Pro

One brush that I use for it’s actual purpose! I use this to fill in my brows as it’s very dense, has angled bristles and let’s me fill them in the way I want to. The shape of the brush helps to define the shape of my brows and it gives me the ability to fill them in lightly or heavily. I really like this brush a lot!

Accent Brush

WP_20160408_11_19_43_Pro

This brush is one I use for my inner corner and brow bone highlight. This isn’t very dense, either, so makes it super easy to apply in these tinier areas without potentially blinding myself. This is also small enough to get into those tiny crevices of my face and applies them super nicely. It also has a rounded head so fits really well in those spaces.

Fine Liner Brush

WP_20160408_11_19_57_Pro

Despite everything I’ve said so far, I haven’t yet used this brush. I don’t use gel liner or anything like that but I will probably find an unorthodox use for it (I will let you know when I do though!). This is surprisingly dense and has a sharp tip in order to create killer eye liner. I will find a use for this though – I promise!

This collection of brushes is available from Boots and Superdrug for £21.99 and £20.99, respectively. That sounds like quite a lot of money but for 5 really good quality brushes and being the makeup junkie I am, I would willingly pay that. I think if you love makeup, you might want to invest in them but if you don’t apply makeup very often or don’t care too much about it, you shouldn’t spend that much money on brushes. I do love these brushes but I do also wish they sold them individually for those that wouldn’t use all of them or wouldn’t find a use for all of them.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed reading this blog post! I don’t talk about brushes or tools enough really so if you would like to see more of that, just let me know! Also, let me know what brushes you are loving at the moment or what ones I should try out next!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. I’m really sorry if I seemed a bit down in this blog post. By the time it’s actually published I would’ve re-edited it a couple times but at this time I don’t feel I sound too happy, so really sorry about that. The 8th of April marks a very sad day for me, particularly this year, but I will talk about that at another time. I don’t want to be a sympathy seeker. But yeah, have lovely days in whatever you’re doing. I just wanted to let you know. Depressing part over.

4 thoughts on “All About: Real Techniques Starter Collection”

Leave a Reply

