EOTD: Neutral Shimmery Brown/Gold

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Today I will be showing you a look I have been using for everyday when my imagination just shuts down. I’ve been wanting to show this to you for ages as it has a perfect mix of drugstore and high end makeup but it only takes 5 minutes to complete. This is perfect if you’re in a rush (say for work or school) and/or if you’re going somewhere where drag queen style smokey eyes aren’t welcome (say for work or school!). I’m sure this would be possible with many substitutes but I love the actual eye shadows I’ve chosen to use; I feel they really compliment each other and the blue of my eyes. On we go!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Urban Decay Naked Palette: Buck (available from Feel Unique)
  • Collection Little Mix All About The Eyes Palette: Sunkissed (available from Boots and Superdrug, the latter being in store only)

See, I wasn’t lying! Only two colours, we know this is gonna be a quick one now! Nonetheless, this is effortlessly gorgeous and I know that after this blog post, you will be wearing this too! Just ignore my ugly eyebrows, I didn’t fill them in or anything when I took these pictures!

So the first thing I did was take a medium sized, flat-headed eye shadow brush, took Buck and applied it on the outer and inner third as well as the crease. I love this colour as it has very slight orange undertones so helps to bring out my blue eyes but isn’t so vibrant that it can’t be worn within a natural look. This also supplied a really nice brown base for the next shade. This has been my go-to transition colour recently and I think we can all see why!

On a slightly smaller flat-headed eye shadow brush, I took Sunkissed. I just apply this in the centre. I don’t tend to keep this too neat and it actual looks really nice if some of it is on top of Buck. It also helps to blend the whole eye together instead of it just being two separate colours. This is so similar to Buck it’s unreal only with added shimmer. You know by now how much I love my shimmer and this gives me enough shimmer for an everyday look, though if I went for a night out, I’d probably find something with a bit more glitter to it. This colour is a bit more of a gold-y brown but still manages to compliment Buck and my eye colour. To make any of these colours more vibrant or more significant, you could always use an eye primer. This would also help the longevity, particularly with Sunkissed.

I then, of course, apply my usual winged eyeliner with a black eye shadow and an angled brush. This is a must for me and has been for months now (I’m sure you already know this!). I feel like it helps to finalize the look and also give something to join all the colours together. I always think that if the eye shadow doesn’t look to great, it will look 100 times better once I’ve applied eye liner!

And there we have it! I’m sorry that this blog post is so short (I feel like I’ve written nothing!) but I don’t think I have anything left to say. Let me know what you think of this look, what you’re favourite everyday eye makeup has been recently or what you want to see more of!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

