My Teeth Story: 1 Year Without Braces!

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today marks the 1 year anniversary of me having my braces off. Wow. Just wow. I can’t believe it’s been an entire year and I can’t believe how much has happened in that year. This is a milestone for me, I’m sorry that this interests literally none of you! But in my defence I do like to use this blog as a diary kind of thing as well as a blog for you guys so yanno. Sorry.

I’m trying to think all the way back into my childhood and I can honestly say I’ve never been as happy as my teeth as I have been now. I hated my teeth growing up as I sucked my thumb for 10 years so once my adult teeth grew they kind of went ming-mong. They were always holding me back as I thought people would judge me and in some photos I’m smiling really awkwardly because I hated them so much! Getting braces is one of the best things I’ve ever done in my life and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

I know not everyone has amazing experiences with braces (one of my friends turns 16 in September and he still needs braces but he’s still got baby teeth – an exact reflection on his personality if you ask me!) but I did genuinely love them. I felt they suited me and every time time I went I had a different coloured band put on and when I had elastics that I had to put in myself I really enjoyed it as I felt I was no responsible for my dental development. They do hurt once they’ve been tightened and if the elastic bands snap (hurts like a mofo, I can still imagine it now!) and if the wires too long and if you’re going through that, just think how worth it it will be! My only regret is I wish I got them earlier.

I remember my first ever orthodontist appointment when I was in year 5, so when I was 9 or 10 and I was so scared, I hardly spoke and my orthodontist offered them to me now or wait a year. Me being the tiny, anxious person I was back then (well, I still am now in some ways), I chose to wait a year. Personally, I believe everything happens for a reason so even not waiting a year could make everything now so different so I guess I’m ok with choosing later (on reflection without braces).

I did wait a year and then I remember it all starting and I was still very very scared! I remember I need to have teeth removed and due to my ‘severe fear’ of the dentist (no, I just had death wishes against mine at the time) I was put under general anesthetic. I’ve had this before when I was 6 but for some reason this time round I was crying about it and it really scared me. For me, personally, though, I would prefer this method. I think what scared me was the chance of never waking up and at this point I was only 11. It was fine though, I’m still here! I had 4 teeth at the back removed (2 from the top and 2 from the bottom) because my jaws too small for all my teeth (hehe, I think otherwise!). I remember that I also had to go the hygienist at one point just before having them put on but me being me made my teeth ming-mong again before having it put on! I remember for either my hygienist or talking about my teeth removal appointments I was watching the Olympics at the time, which is just crazy to think about, knowing the next one is this year! Yeah, it was the diving doubles with Tom Daley and Pete Waterfield (I think that’s his name, he came to my school once) and I got so into it we listened to it on the radio.

I then had my braces on and had the colours red, purple and blue. Those were the main ones anyway. Red because that was my house colour at the time, purple because that was one of my favourite colours at the time and blue because it was another one of my favourite colours at the time. I think I had pink as well, but I can’t justify that one. Skip forward 2 and a half years and it’s this time last year and I had them off! I’d dreamt of that moment for so long and I was disappointed at the beginning because my teeth are literally huge, but now I love them.

I have had issues with my retainer such as not having the willpower to clean it (the most annoying thing ever!) and it cutting the sides of my mouth around Christmas but I’ve managed to get over it. I wear my retainer every night as your teeth can move overnight and I like how my teeth look the most when I’ve had my retainer in. It can sometimes cause bad breath if not cleaned (tmi, much? haha) and so has made me realise not cleaning my retainer isn’t worth it!

I think that’s everything I wanted to clear up on the  whole braces matter but if I have missed anything out, do feel free to ask me in the comments and I will reply to you. You can click HERE to see last years blog post of my first thoughts when I had them off and yeah. Let me know of your brace story (if you have one that is) and what you think of your teeth now.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. I won’t be uploading on Sunday as it’s Easter Sunday so I hope you have a great long weekend in however you choose to spend it!

Leave a Reply

