My Top 3 Highlighters

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be showing you my 3 favourite highlighters. I’m still fairly new to the contour and highlight game, but as a beginner I can say that my world has been changed. I use highlight all the time now and it genuinely makes me happier. Not all of the products I’m going to show you are your usual highlighters and I don’t use all of them in the same way. This is also in no particular order because I love all 3 and all of them have changed me for the better!

WP_20160320_11_05_13_Pro

My first favourite highlighter is this one from MUA. I’ve included this in a Favourites but I haven’t fully explained entirely yet. I will be writing a review on this though, so keep your eyes peeled on that. I use this one on the tops of my cheekbones as it can be [slightly] neutral for general days or be built up super strong for the drag queen look (guess which I go for most! Haha). I also find that the glitter particles within it are too big to just fit nicely under the brow bone or in the inner corners. This is called Iridescent Gold and it’s definitely that; it’s a gold but with white undertones and a shiz ton of glitter, hence why it goes on my cheekbones. I’m super pale so this gives me a bit of life and a bit of added shimmer (you can never have too much shimmer!). Also, I’ve barely dented this and I use it so so much. Brownie points! This is available from Superdrug. I’m sorry the pictures sideways, I have no idea why it’s done that!

Another favourite of mine is from the Little Mix Palette by Collection called Feather. This is an eye shadow palette and I love it for that but I particularly love this in my inner corners and under my brow bone. This makes me look so awake and so alive it definitely deserves a mention! I spend a sold 86% of my life looking like I’ve just rolled out of bed so this does help to combat that. Unlike the MUA highlighter, this is very much white with shimmer and that’s it, which I personally really like for under the brow bone and in my inner corners. It makes me look naturally more awake (as natural as you can be with shimmer on your face, anyway!) and I know that if I’m having a no-makeup-makeup day (which still takes a solid 45-50 minutes, can I just point out!) I can apply this and boom. My face is perfected! This is available from Boots and Superdrug (though once again there isn’t a link available, how very annoying!).

WP_20160320_11_05_43_Pro

If I decide against the Little Mix eye shadow for highlight in my inner corners and under the brow bone I will turn to this one from the Maybelline Master Sculpt Compact. This one doesn’t have a name but it’s from the compact in Light/Medium. This is also super neutral so looks perfect under the brow bone and in my inner corners but it would be too neutral for the cheekbones. This is supposed to be placed there but I just couldn’t give my cheekbones that little justice. This has more vanilla-y tones in it compared to the Little Mix eye shadow which is literally snow-coloured. I like this on days where I have warmer looking skin because of this. This product is also available from Boots and Superdrug. I’ve written a review on this so if you would like to read that, you can do HERE.

I think if I had to choose a favourite it would be between Iridescent Gold and Feather as they do very different jobs but do it so well! I do love my Maybelline one but I personally love a strong highlight. It has too less shimmer for my liking, though it is there for me on my warm skin days, which I am grateful for!

And there we have it! Let me know what your current favourite highlighter is or, if you’re like me, your top 3! I know I shouldn’t say this, but I want to get my hands on some more! Also, if you have any of these yourself, let me know what you think of them or what you use them for!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

