Maybelline Master Sculpt Review

Good Evening Munchkins,

Today I will be bringing you a review of the Maybelline Master Sculpt Compact. I received this for my birthday after lusting after it for a few months and you may have seen it in my last favourites (spoilers!) or any other blog posts I’ve recently included it in. I’m so looking forward to finally sharing my views on it with you after refraining for what feels like forever (i.e a month). I haven’t written that much, what’s wrong with me! Anyway, let’s get onto the blog post.

WP_20160313_11_27_35_Pro

The first thing I want to talk about is the packaging. This is a compact so does include a flat, rounded brush and a mirror in a little secret compartment underneath the actual product. I like this as it has now become the cleanest mirror I’ve ever owned. I can’t say I use it and it can be a bit of a hassle to flip between product and mirror, but if you don’t use it, it won’t cause any issues really. I do use the brush for highlight though and it really does make your face look magical! I feel like it makes contour look too harsh and too much like a solid line instead of a shadow. For the exterior packaging, it has the typical bulkiness you would expect from a compact and this does mean it’s not easy to travel with spacing-wise. There is also a lot of packaging for not a lot of product. Somehow, I’ve managed to crack the top of the lid as well, and I don’t know how as it’s only been in my makeup bag. I don’t think this is made of glass but it isn’t entirely plastic (points for material knowledge!) so that could be why.

WP_20160313_11_27_59_Pro

Onto the colour. There are only two colours available for this product which are Light/Medium and Medium/Dark. This tends to be the case for products like this and I understand that it’s difficult to produce a contour and highlight shade that suits loads of different skin tones but this can become difficult for some people. I own the shade Light/Medium because I live in England and the sun is more a myth than a life source (as I type this, the sun is actually beautiful!). One fear I do have with contouring is if it looks orange or muddy and using a heavy hand can create the first issue. I realise this is kind of my own fault as I choose to do inside activities instead of enjoy the sun but still, I’m pale! I like the shade of the highlight though, as it looks quite natural for no-makeup-makeup days. Use a light hand and build up is my advice with this, as you can just turn back to your light setting powder if it messes up.

Now the product. I do quite like the product despite my previous negative attitude. It can give a light contour or a full-blown night-out look depending on how you use it and what you’re after. As I said, you do need to be careful if you are pale as it can look orange but if your using it for a light bronze on the forehead it can look amazing. I tend to use the highlighter for the inner corners and under the brows as it’s quite a neutral highlight and it’s kind of vanilla-y in colour. It does stay on for quite a significant amount of time as well, but I wouldn’t expect anything different from Maybelline to be honest! I think it’s quite good having the two in one affordable product as it helps those just beginning with the whole contouring/highlighting thing. I realise I’ve been into makeup and had this blog for a while now, but I’ve never fully contoured properly until this came along so I feel like it deserves a bit of recognition! I also think it’s quite cute how in the contour shade it says ‘1 Contour’ and on the highlight shade ‘2 Highlight’ just in case you get confused easily.

WP_20160313_11_27_43_Pro

Finally, the availability. Maybelline is a very well-known brand so this is available in both Boots and Superdrug and also outside of the UK for anyone else who has no idea what Boots or Superdrug is! This is £6.99 which is pretty good for two products if you ask me especially from Maybelline. . If you are just getting into makeup or have never found a good contour compact, it might be worth checking this out as it won’t break the bank and would actually make good eye shadows (look at that for imaginative minds!). At Superdrug at the moment, there is currently an offer that’s buy one product from Maybelline, get a second half price. Just saying.

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post, we all know how much I love writing a review! I do love this product but I feel as I get older and my makeup matures, I will move onto something else that definitely won’t make me resemble an orange and that will suit my skin a bit better.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

5 thoughts on “Maybelline Master Sculpt Review”

Leave a Reply

