MOTD: Gold + Red

Good Evening Munchkins,

Today I will be showing you the makeup I wore on Mother’s Day (a little bit late, but better late than never!) which was basically me throwing back to Christmas time with my makeup (I’m already missing it!). I really liked the makeup I was wearing and so thought I would share it with you; I also kept it pretty low-key on the ‘drag queen’ front so I do deserve brownie points, lets be honest. As you can tell by today’s title, I went for Gold and Red and yeah, let’s get to it!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo in Eternal Gold (available from Boots and Superdrug)
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette; Buck and Smog (available from Feel Unique)
  • Mac Matte Lipstick in Diva (available from Mac, see review HERE)

As you can already tell, this was a pretty Christmas-y look with the gold and the warm browns and yeah. Any Christmas addicts like me will love this look!

The first thing I did for this look was took a tiny (seriously, not much at all!) amount of Eternal Gold on my middle finger and spread it all across my lid. I tried to even this out but due to the large glitter particles, this can be a struggle! It is very pigmented so a tiny bit will go a long way but you may find some fall out (again, very small amount!). I wanted a slightly more neutral gold eye and turns out you can do that with this eye shadow, despite my first thoughts!

I then took a little bit of Buck on a small blending brush and popped this into my crease. I wanted this to be fairly neutral but also give a good amount of definition, hence the tiny amount. This is also super pigmented so just be warned! If this became too harsh, I would just take another fluffy brush and blend out the edges. I found this type of brown really went well with the gold and so will be using this more often, I think!

On a small, slightly angled, flat-headed eye shadow brush I took a tiny amount of smog an popped it on the outside of my crease. This eye shadow really helped pull the look together and it didn’t matter that is was shimmery, to be honest, as by this point my entire face was! I really like this technique to help bring further definition to the eye without it becoming a smokey look. Yeah, like that one there! Again, if it became too harsh I just blended it out with a fluffy eye shadow brush.

And of course I created my favourite winged eyeliner with Urban Decay’s Crave from the Naked Basics Palette and an angled brush. For this look I wanted there to be a small wing as I’ve been liking that look recently as it isn’t the centre of attention but it’s still there.

WP_20160313_12_40_14_Pro

I then just applied a little bit of Diva straight from the bullet, cleaning up the edges with a lip brush if needed. I applied this quite lightly (almost blotting with the bullet) as, again, I didn’t want it too over dramatic but still wanted it known! We were also having afternoon tea for Mother’s Day so I wanted a lipstick that I knew would last (this is literally industrial strength!).

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post and let me know what you think of this look or what you wore on Mother’s Day! Also, let me know how you celebrated. I do realise it’s late but hey, can never be too early to get ideas for next year! If you would like to see what I bought my Mum and Step-Mum for Mother’s Day, you can click HERE.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. Let me know what you think about uploading on a Sunday! I did it for Sunday last gone (see HERE) but I just wanted to know your views and whether or not I should carry it on!

 

4 thoughts on “MOTD: Gold + Red”

Leave a Reply

