Foundation Brush VS. Beauty Blender

Good Evening Munchkins,

Today I will be comparing for you two different makeup tools; a flat-headed foundation brush and a beauty blender. I have used both of these tools so will be speaking from experience but, as most of you will know, I’m not a makeup tool fanatic, I just love makeup, so if this is a bit not-as-good-as-usual that is why. In all fairness, though, I have noticed that it can make a difference and so that is why I have been talking about it a little bit more recently.  I will also say now, the two I will be comparing specifically are both from Primark so there isn’t any unfairness there, though these two items can be purchased from nearly anywhere. Also, tools and brushes (like other things within beauty) do depend on a person and their own personal techniques so take my views with a pinch of salt. If you would like to read a full, in-depth review on the beauty blender, you can click HERE.

WP_20160220_12_21_04_Pro

The first thing I will be comparing is the amount of things these two items can be used for. This specific foundation brush also has a flat-headed concealer brush on the end of it so can be used for two jobs. I think you can also use foundation brushes for a really precise contour, so that can also be pursued. The beauty blender (if you have Instagram, you will know this) can be used for literally anything. Foundation, concealer, contour, highlight, liquid blushers, anything and everything that comes to mind! I personally only use this for foundation as I really like a certain brush for my concealer and I’m still dabbling in the world of contour so am still practicing with a variety of products/tools. I think that you do get a lot of use out of both of these products but I guess it also depends on your views on hygiene as some of you may not like the idea of using one tool for a million different things.

WP_20160220_12_20_52_Pro

The next thing is the finish it gives and the actual applying it. With the brush, I found (particularly with the concealer end and with both liquid/stick concealer) that it actually left lines and I would then have to blend them away with my finger to give them a more realistic, skin-like look. I wouldn’t find this so much with the foundation end, but I would blend for hours on end in fear of this. I did, however, find that applying foundation was a lot quicker with a brush as it was literally just painting it on. The concealer was also pretty easy. Then I used the beauty blender. One thing I noticed immediately when applying my foundation with a beauty blender what how much longer it took to push it into my skin. It did take a little bit longer to cover every area, but I do really like the airbrushed finish it gives and would happily spend that amount of time on making it look so skin-like. I also feel as if I’m genuinely pushing it into my skin so sometimes I do use a bit less foundation. In general, I use one pump of foundation.

WP_20160209_15_23_04_Pro

As I mentioned previously, both of these products are from Primark. You know how much I love Primark; I’m not going to knock it at all! They were also the same price at £1.50. I think that no matter the state of the brush, £1.50 is an amazing price that even I can’t argue with. I do, however, feel that the beauty blender is better than the foundation/concealer brush and so do question slightly why they are the same price (but as I say, can’t hold it against them).

If I could only recommend one of these products to you, it would most definitely be the beauty blender. These are so highly spoken about and they are an amazing dupe for the Real Techniques ones. If you have either of these products (Primark or not), let me know what you think of them and whether or not you agree with my verdict.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. I’m seriously starting to think about uploading on a Sunday – thoughts and opinions will be appreciated greatly!

Leave a Reply

