February Favourites 2016

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing my February Favourites with you. I really want this year to slow down, it seems to be going to quick! Already, February has been a stand-out month for me, for good and bad reasons (I have been making notes about the months as it’s happened and will be sharing them at the end of the year in one big blog post, much like Sprinkle of Glitter did for last year. Originality at its best!) but one major thing that happened was I turned 15! I’m officially halfway to 30, which probably isn’t the best way to think of it, but hey! Some of the things I will be showing you will be birthday presents and I will let you know what those are along the way but anyway, I’m going to stop rambling (or try!). I have a mixture of beauty and randoms and I can’t wait to share them with you!

WP_20160209_15_23_04_Pro

Starting off with beauty, one thing I’ve been loving this month is a beauty blender. I had to check to see if I had mentioned this in my January Favourites, but it didn’t so I thought I’d quickly mention it here. Just as a quick overview as I have written a review (smooth transition, see HERE) this beauty blender makes my foundation look so flawless, helps to control how much I really use and is so versatile. It can take a little longer to apply my foundation but I much prefer the finish it gives as oppose to a foundation brush and yes, there’s that one. I needed to mention it, I can’t believe I didn’t in January! It will also be featured in one of next weeks blog posts, so keep your eyes peeled for that! I got this one from Primark.

WP_20160117_12_36_39_Pro

I have also found myself reaching for this Tanya Burr lip gloss in Berry Picking a lot more this month. I’m kind of over red lips now, after wearing them so consistently at Christmas and in January so this was a good alternative. It’s a deep pink colour with red undertones and very small particles of glitter within it. This goes with almost everything and yeah, I love it. I have also been loving nude lips, but I think this one makes me feel even better than that! I have written a review which you can find HERE and you can purchase this lipgloss either at Superdrug or Feel Unique.

WP_20160228_11_33_03_Pro

Another beauty product I have been loving and I don’t think I’ve mentioned yet on this blog is the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter in Iridescent Gold. There’s been a lot of mixed reviews about MUA products, but out of the 2 products I own, I’ve decided I love them and will be buying a lot more of their products in the future. When I first bought this, I didn’t have the right tools to apply it and hence why I was so quite about it for so long. Well, now I have found an appropriate brush (I will mention it in a second) and I use it literally every time I go for a full face of makeup. This is a gold-y highlighter (as the title gives away) with yellow undertones and a shiz load of shimmer and I love it for the tops of the cheekbones and when I want to release my inner drag queen, the tip of my nose. I find this a bit too strong for my inner corner and under the brow bone (for some reason, I prefer natural there!) but for the previous places its amazing! It’s very pigmented so start with a little for a natural finish and then build up. If you want it to be immediately drag queen, I would use my finger (as I did before). I personally prefer the finish from the brush as it’s a bit more neutral for everyday. This is available from Superdrug and I promise I will write a review on it soon!

WP_20160228_11_33_26_Pro

My final beauty product is the Maybelline Master Sculpt in Light/Medium (because I’m ridiculously pale!). I received this for my birthday and at first was a bit lost and out of my comfort zone with it, but then I learnt and my contour game is so strong! This can look orange on said pale skin but if you use it gently and with a light hand to slowly build up in the beginning, it can look amazing and you will look like you have been sculpt by a contour master. Linking at it’s best! I do have good days and I do have bad days with this and my contour, but it’s all a learning process. It did need a mention though. I haven’t used the highlighter as much due to the MUA one taking over my existence but I will be writing a review on this soon, I promise you! The brush that comes with this is super handy and this is the one I use for my highlighter, hence the picture taking action! I find it too harsh for a fat person contour though, so for my contour I use a slightly larger brush. I know people tend to hate the brushes that comes within makeup kits/palettes, but this one is actually genuinely good. See, from my heart to yours. This is available in both Boots and Superdrug.

WP_20160228_11_33_56_Pro

Onto randoms now. My first random is another birthday present and is the new Adele album, 25. It’s very rare for me to find a CD where I like and sing along to every song willingly but this has done it! The one before this was Ed Sheeran’s X, so it has been a while. I can honestly say, hand on heart, every single song touches my soul like no other and I love every single one like I birthed it myself. I also love Adele, I really like how shes just a ‘normal person’ with her South London accent and cackle. If I met her, I do feel like I would just keep her. I’m not even sorry about it. Another thing I got for my birthday was a CD player so now I can actually listen to it! This is available on Amazon and Ebay.

Another music-y person I’ve been loving in the month of February is Amy Winehouse. I know a lot of you will be sat there questioning why seeing as she died nearly 5 years ago (R.I.P) and I don’t know either. I think it’s the same as the Disney last month, I stumbled across her music again and became absorbed. I’ve also been finding myself loving her old stuff a lot more (her cover of ‘Moon River‘ is God’s given gift) and yeah. I think I love her for similar reasons to Adele and I’ve been down a lot this month so listening to her stuff really established that. Don’t worry, I’m fine, but yeah. Sometimes ‘Wake Up Alone‘ is just way too real. I have one of her albums but I will definitely be purchasing the other so for now I’ve just been listening on YouTube.

Finally, I have been loving and obsessing and daydreaming about Dan and Phil. I’m sorry Munchkins, you have officially lost me. Even thinking about them now makes me feel excited and as if I want to cry. I can’t explain it, but I want to be their best friend and be awkward with them and yeah. I’m sorry for those that really don’t care about YouTubers but I do love them. Genuinely have feelings for people who don’t know me. Sad times. I feel like Dan makes me think a lot more about the words I use and Phil makes me think about sunshine and happiness! Either way, I love them both, they both brighten my day and make me laugh a lot.

And there we have it, my February Favourites! If you have any Favourites for this month, don’t forget to let me know in the comments below or if you have any suggestions for products to try out, you can also tell me that as well. I’m trying to look forward to March, make this Spring a good one!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. What do you think of this new format? Any suggestions will be happily taken from the comments below!

Leave a Reply

