Beauty Blender [Dupe] Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have another review for you and today’s is actually on one that I haven’t done anything similar on before. Basically, at the very end of December/beginning of January I went to Primark and saw a little cheap beauty blender and thought I’d give it a go before spending like £6 on a Real Techniques one (it was also because of the massive hype surrounding them!). I thought I would review this one for you today as it’s significantly cheaper than the Real Techniques one so could save you a little bit along the way. This may be a bit confused as I’ve never written a blog post on a makeup tool before, so just bare with and I’ll try my best.

So I first off want to start with the aesthetic. The Primark beauty blender’s are pink, which I actually quite like because it makes it really easy to spot amongst everything else on my dressing table. It also matches the rest of the Primark makeup tools/brushes so that pleases the OCD in me. Like other beauty blenders, this one is egg shaped so you get the benefits of a curved edge or a slightly more pointed edge, which can come in handy for all of your makeup steps (though of course not all of them). I personally love multi-use products/items as it makes it a bit quicker and I seriously need that in my life! Other than certain areas you do need a specific brush for, this can be used for nearly everything and I love that. This is around medium sized, I would say, but I am very small so I guess others would say different! This is just bigger than my hand so I guess it is on the small side! When you squeeze it, as well, it seems very tough so won’t break easily. It’s also very soft and smooth to the touch despite using it for just over a month.

One slight issue I have is cleaning it – how would I go about this? When I run this under the tap, none of the makeup comes off it so that’s my only slight concern. At the moment, though, I’m only using one foundation so it’s fine for now, but obviously over time it may need to be cleaned. As this is something that you dip straight into the product, it can get dirty very easily, though the makeup does kind of dry into it so it’s not going to go everywhere. I don’t know, I’m contradicting myself, as per usual! Also, where am I supposed to keep this? I don’t wear foundation everyday so it’s not like I roll out of bed and I use it immediately. I have a pot for my brushes but if it’s in there it would be rolling around the bottom. At the moment I have it balancing on a stack of post-its, so if you have any suggestions, do let me know.

WP_20160209_15_23_04_Pro

Now onto using it. When I first started using it, I felt like it took longer to blend it into my skin and I also felt as if I was using a lot more foundation than I normally would with a normal brush. I then started to run it under the tap a little bit before applying my foundation and it made everything so much easier! I run it under the tap twice for around 5 seconds at a time (squeezing the sponge in between so it doesn’t drown) and then that’s sorted in order to get my face on. If I don’t do this then I swear it eats my foundation and that’s probably why it looks so dirty, to be honest! This also made blending it in so much quicker and a lot easier. The finish of my foundation due to this little beauty blender (when I dampened it and when I didn’t) looks so flawless and so even. I love the way this makes my skin look and how I can get into every little nook and cranny due to the pointed tip. This has definitely changed the way I look at using different tools and techniques; before this I didn’t think brushes or anything like that made the slightest difference (don’t worry, now I do!). Because of this, I’ve been using it every time I do my foundation and I genuinely can’t see myself using anything else.

As I mentioned previously, I mentioned this one from Primark for £1.50. I could not rate this higher. I look at the price tag and thought it would do nothing, but it seriously does! £1.50 is definitely cheap enough for me! Primark might not be on everyone’s doorstep but if you can get to one, just grab one of these! I might not even try the Real Techniques one, I’m so happy with this one! If you are in the situation I was, I would totally recommend this to you. If I do get the Real Techniques one (let’s be honest, it’s orange, of course I’m going to end up owning it at some point!) I will probably compare them for you guys.

And there we have it! I’ve been dying to talk to you about this for ages and I’m so glad I’ve finally got to! As I say, go pick one of these up; they’re so cheap and such good quality! If anything does change, within what I’ve said, I will let you know. Also, let me know of your experiences with any kind of beauty blender (Real Techniques or a dupe like mine!).

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. Happy Pancake Day! I just thought I should let you guys know that there’s going to be a slight addition to my blogging routine this week/next week. As well as uploading on my usual days (Tuesday and Thursday) this week and next week, I will also be uploading a blog post of Saturday and Sunday for you. Yeah, buddy! Next week is half-term so I would be uploading alternate days but I’m going on holiday so I thought I’d just schedule a couple for you then upload two other blog posts just before I leave and when I get back.

4 thoughts on “Beauty Blender [Dupe] Review”

  1. I’ve been wanting to buy a beauty blender for the longest time and I had no idea Primark did them! I love primark as I think you can find some lovely things in there so I’ll definitely have a look for this when I’m next in there! -Tash xx

    1. That was exactly my situation! I was talking to a girl the other day and she said she paid £40 for one and I told her about this one from Primark and she was stunned! You never know what you can find in Primark, it’s worth having a hunt in there! Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

