Rimmel Kate Moss Matte Lipstick in 107 Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have yet another review for you (they are actually my favourite to write and I have no idea why!) and this time it’s on the Kate Moss Matte Lipsticks, though technically that shouldn’t be plural as I only own one. A little while ago I did write a review on the Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipsticks (find HERE) but I thought I’d write one on this collection of lipsticks as it may differ slightly and also, it’s a completely different colour to the other Kate Moss Lipstick I own. Anyway, I received this one for Christmas after lusting after it for so long (is it grammatically correct to write ‘after’ twice so close to each other?!) and I know it’s been spoken about by so many others so here I am, writing this here blog post! I think I should stop rambling, I’m sorry, I’m very tired! I also included this in a MOTD a little while ago, which you can find HERE. I will feature it more, don’t you worry!

The first thing I’m going to talk about is the packaging. This isn’t the most extraordinary packaging I’ve ever seen but I do appreciate it greatly. If you remember from my review on the other Kate Moss lipsticks, I said that I could get the lipstick mixed up with others due to its black packaging and not knowing what colour it is. With this one, I’ll have no trouble! This collection has a red packaging that actually matches the colour I own so very helpful there. I will just say, though, that if I buy anymore I will get confused as they all have the red packaging despite there being corals and pinks and all those kind of things. For now though, it does make my life very easy! It also has Kate Moss’ signature in black which looks stunning against the red. It will be very easy to find amongst my other lipsticks, that’s for sure.

WP_20160126_15_22_04_Pro

Next, the colour. I love this colour so much, I can’t even tell you. Before Christmas, I did not have a decent red lipstick/dark lip shade and now I have a fair few. When I swatched this, it looked a bit like a raspberry shade and I wasn’t sure but I went on and continued lusting before eventually receiving it. This is actually amazing! It doesn’t make your teeth look yellow, it’s more than likely going to suit every skin tone and it’s just that perfect winter red. It’s not as dark as it looks in the bullet but it can be built up and isn’t far off once you’ve put a few layers on. Also, it smells of cucumber which is a change, considering most of my lipsticks smell of vanilla or general sweetness. If you want a lipstick in this colour, get this one! It’s stunning and I actually got complimented by a Scottish woman in a posh restaurant toilet a few weekends ago who agreed with me that it’s difficult to find a red lipstick that suits all. Listen to myself and the Scottish lady!

Onto the product itself. Oh-me-oh-my is this the most perfect formula I have ever laid on my face! This is a matte lipstick but it is not drying in any way. When I first tried it, I will admit, it did dry my lips out slightly (probably the shock of matte on my face!) but a little bit of lip balm and the next day I was right as rain (does anyone use that phrase anymore?). Also, applying more doesn’t further dry out your lips, like some matte lipsticks can. It doesn’t go entirely matte though, it does still have a bit of sheen in the light but that’s ok. I can live with that! It’s also really easy to apply and is super creamy. If you smack your lips together it can transfer pretty easily due to the creamy formula and in some cases this is good and others bad, so watch out for that!  By the end of the day it can cling to dry patches but by that point I’m watching Netflix on my own, eating ice-cream and being the 21st century of Bridget Jones (at 14, yeah, I know, it’s bad!), so it’s not too bad! The lasting power is also amazing; I can eat a proper, full-on meal and only around the middle is there a little bit missing, but you can hardly notice it and it’s only vain people like me who will need to top it up.

WP_20160126_15_22_24_Pro

And now the little bits and pieces. This is available from Boots and Superdrug so is super easy to get hold of wherever you live and whatever you’re shopping preference. This is also super cheap at only £5.49. Um, yes, hello there bargain, get straight in my basket! The Rimmel and Kate products are very budget as they’re available in the usual drugstore places so this doesn’t shock me and to be honest, I would pay more for it if it was slightly more expensive. Only slightly, though, we all know how tight I am! I do think this is worth the money and more though, just to get to the point!

So there we have it! I feel like I haven’t written enough but I don’t know what else to write. Those Tuesday evening blues! If you have this lipstick or another from the Kate Moss Matte range, let me know what you think and what other colours I have to try! Also, let me know of any other products in general you would like me to try out for you or test or anything. I don’t know, just write all good things! Haha, wow I’m losing it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

5 thoughts on “Rimmel Kate Moss Matte Lipstick in 107 Review”

Leave a Reply

