What’s In My Make-Up Bag? Christmas Edition

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be sharing with you what I had in my make-up bag at Christmas. Basically, for Christmas we went to my Step-Mum’s Aunt’s house which is a fair while away so we stayed in a hotel that night and for that I had to pack my make-up bag. I didn’t actually take my everyday make-up bag itself (but if you would like to see whats in that I can do that for you) but I received a couple of make-up bags for Christmas so managed to use those instead. I took two bags full of make-up but one of them was full entirely with brushes so I won’t be showing you that one as it probably will get a bit tedious. Also, can we just point out the fact it’s nearly been a month since Christmas and I’m only writing this now?! Oh deary me.

I realise it looks  bit like an organised mess, but it did all fit in the bag properly and with exact co-ordinations on the day! I’m going to go through each product I took with me and a little bit about it. If I took pictures of each individual piece of makeup we would actually be here for a millennium so you just have my typed voice to listen to (do you actually imagine my voice when you read my blog posts or is that just me being really weird?? Do let me know!). If you would like to see the actual, fully finished make-up I had on for Christmas, you can do so by clicking HERE.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation in 010 Light Porcelain;

If you have been here for a few months now, you will know how much I love this foundation! This is my everyday go-to and taking this wasn’t an option really. This is pale enough for my British-tan, has amazing coverage and was just what I wanted for that night. This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in 010 Ivory;

This is the matching concealer to the foundation and is the one I always wear to go alongside it. This doesn’t please me as much but I do look like Hades from Hercules is resting under my eyes so it is a big ask to try and cover them up. This is also slightly darker than the foundation so can make my under-eyes look a bit orange-y. This is available from Boots and Superdrug and if you would also like to see a full, in-depth review about both the concealer and the foundation, you can do so by clicking HERE. I’m just going to point it out now, there are going to be a lot of links so do brace yourself.

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in 001 Translucent;

This is a powder I use every single day, even when I’m not wearing foundation. I love this powder so much I can’t even tell you, and I’m trying so hard to use as much of my remaining one as possible before it is time to say goodbye. This is pale enough for my skin, sets and mattifies my face perfectly and doesn’t make you look cakey in the slightest. I can’t say if it has prolonged the wear of my foundation as I’ve always worn the two together, but I just love it anyway! This is available from Boots and Superdrug.

No7 Light Loose Powder in Medium;

This is my contour powder and I love it so much! I did initially buy this nearly 2 years ago for my tanned skin. I then realised no way on God’s earth am I going to be tanned enough for this powder, so now I use it for contouring! I have high cheekbones so one of my biggest fears is having odd looking contour (if you have any tips, please tell me!) and also because of my pale skin, it’s difficult finding something that isn’t too dark or orange-y. This is perfect and gives a light contour (which I like) and also bronzes up the rest of my face nicely. Yes, liking this for other purposes than it’s original! This is available from Boots. If you would like to see my proper foundation routine, you can click HERE. This is available from Boots.

Naked Basics Palette;

I then took my trusty Naked Basics and filled in my eyebrows with the colours Naked 2 and Faint. As you can tell, I stuck with a lot of my usual products and techniques for this look! I love these two colours; together they help create the exact colours of my eyebrows and so doesn’t make them look like slugs (which is, again, one of my biggest fears). This is available from Feel Unique.

Gosh Defining Brow Gel in Transparent;

Once I’ve coloured my eyebrows (is that what it’s called??) I then run this gel through them. I’ve had this around a year now so it might be time to start looking for a new one (no!!). Let me know of any good ones as I’m always willing and happy to try new things! This is available from Superdrug. If you would like to see my full eyebrow routine, you can click HERE.

MUA Pro Base Eye Primer;

This is my everyday eye primer so I knew it couldn’t take a miss just because it’s Christmas. This doesn’t help mattify my eyelids before eye shadow application and really brings out the colours in them. I have started to notice, though, that by the end of the day some of my eye shadow has come off, but that could be due to things like school anyway. This product is available from Superdrug (which I can’t find the link for, I’m really sorry!) and my review of it is HERE for those that would like to read it.

Naked 1 Palette;

This was one of my Christmas presents so I knew I had to use it that night! To see what colours I used exactly, you will have to go read the actual MOTD for it, oh cheeky me! Ok, that’s turned slightly inappropriate! I love this palette and expect it in more blog posts to come. Yeah buddy, you should be excited! The colours lasted all night and really complimented myself and Christmas and all things good and lovely. I’m running out of things to say, haha. That’s a first!  For those that are wondering, I won’t be doing any review on palettes such as this one as I feel like I would just be saying the same things over and over, but I will be featuring them a lot so you get the jist of my views! This is available from Feel Unique.

Naked Basics Palette (again!);

I then went back to my Basics Palette and used Crave to create my winged eyeliner. My face is not complete without eyeliner, I genuinely look ill without it. I actually have to go to the hospital on Thursday for my eyes (I’ve been summoned, pray for me!) and I’ve already told my Mum if they mess up my eyeliner I’m going to literally dropkick them. Some people don’t appreciate the art of a black line on my face! I’m not going to link it, I already have done!

BYS Eyeliner Pencil in Black;

This is just a black eyeliner pencil that I use in my tightline to make my eyelashes look a lot thicker (though they don’t really need that, to be honest!) and a bit more smokier and night-ish. I use this on nights out or days when I just want a bit more eyeliner to be constantly aware of (it’s literally like a baby!). I really like how this looks though I don’t wear it for everyday as it can smudge in the corners on my eyes and I don’t really want that at school if I’m going to be entirely honest with you. I’m not sure where this is available from, it’s one of those things I feel like I’ve always had!

Technic Blush Duo;

I’ve spoken about this before in my Favourites and last year and this is genuinely one of my favourite blushers. I don’t like a heavy blush because I naturally have very red, pigmented cheeks so by putting a very bright blusher on it’s only reversing the effects my foundation has done. I use the lighter one in the set as it’s shimmery and a very light pink so looks subtle but doubles up as a highlighter. Perfection! I’m not sure where this comes from either but I’m sure there are loads of similar ones out there.

Mac Matte Lipstick in Diva;

This is another of my Christmas presents and is the perfect red lipstick that actually suits my skin tone. In the bullet it looks a lot darker, but it’s actually just a deep red that really suits this time of year. I will be writing a full-on review on this but all you need to know now is this: it is matte but you can very easily rescue your lips after and it lasts a very long time without need for top up. I love this lipstick so much and will definitely be looking into getting more of the Mac ones! This is available from Mac.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water;

This is my everyday cleanser and I used this once Christmas was over to take my face off! I love this cleanser, it’s so easy to use and takes your make-up off very quickly if your lazy with skincare like myself! I have written a review on this so if you would like to read that you can click HERE. This is available from Superdrug and Boots.

Other bits and bobs;

I also took a couple of circular cotton pads to help me take everything off and both sides of both of them were full of make-up! It’s crazy! I also took my little orange, handheld mirror with me to help with things like my eyes as I am short-sighted so big mirrors do nothing for me! Yeah and that was it really!

We did it! We’re finally at the end! I did not anticipate this blog post to be so long, so thank you if you stayed until the end! I’ve really enjoyed this blog post, so let me know if you would like to see more of these and I will get to that for you! I realise this is a little out of date, but hey, better late than never! Writing this has actually made me realise how long make-up takes! Now, at least, guys know what we are doing that entire time!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

