MOTD: Pink and Red

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I will be showing you a look that I’ve worn once before (well, twice, but the second time without the lips) and loved and I thought I would show you because there’s this stigma about pink and red being together when in fact it is beautiful. I wore this with a pretty monochrome outfit and it was honestly stunning! I was kind of scared because of that stigma but hopefully this blog post will help show you how you can wear pink and red together without making it look like a pantomime character.

The products I used for this look were:

WP_20160110_11_26_28_Pro

  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special: Organza (top, second from left) and The Mail (bottom, third from left) Available from Boots and Superdrug
  • Mac Matte Lipstick in Diva Available from Mac and Ebay

For this look, I do wear an eye primer with it so that the colours stand out a lot and as the main lid colour is shimmery I want to make sure the glitter stays on and not halfway down my face.

This picture really doesn’t give it justice! I start by packing Organza all over my lid with a flat-headed eye shadow brush. Organza is a colour I hadn’t used before discovering this look and I actually love it already! This is a light, frosted, shimmery pink that is kind of natural but a bit more than that, which is what I look for in life! I love this colour, it’s very pigmented and blend-able and is perfect for everyday wear. I even got away with it for school today! Yes, loving it!

I then take The Mail on a small, dense blending brush and apply this in my crease. As you will know, I love this colour for everyday looks and using it in the crease because it has orange undertones and I have blue eyes; orange and blue are complimentary colours so make the two stand out when they’re together. I love this for most everyday looks as it gives a bit of definition without becoming too smokey and makes my eyes stand out. Also, a trick I’ve been loving recently is blending a little bit more with the Real Techniques Base Shadow Brush from the Core Collection. If the line is still a bit harsh (this is literally with any look, smokey or everyday) then I will just blend it out that little bit further with the Real Techniques brush and it sorts it out for me so well! These brushes work wonders, I might write a review on the Core Collection itself in the future.

And then of course for my eyeliner I just used Crave from my Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette and created my little wing, but that’s standard, you guys know that by now! Nothing makes my eyeliner look as good!

WP_20160110_11_27_50_Pro

And then for my lips I just applied Mac’s Matte lipstick in Diva. I start off with it straight from the bullet then if I want to sharpen the edges a little bit I’ll just take a lip brush and do so. I really like sharp edges with these kind of matte, bold, statement lips as it makes it more defined and more like the main part of the look, which it is in this case. I did retake a picture of this compared to when I last spoke to you about it and I do prefer this picture, though the right half of my Cupids Bow is missing and I’m only noticing it now and it actually hurts me!

And there we have it! I hope you have enjoyed this blog post; I love finding new makeup looks that I can share with you! Let me know of any ‘everyday eyes with a bit of oomph’ that you love to wear so I can also try them out! Also, shall we just appreciate how imaginative the title is?! I’m joking!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

 

One thought on “MOTD: Pink and Red”

Leave a Reply

