MOTD: Christmas Day 2015

Good Afternoon Munchkin and Happy Boxing Day to you all!

Today I will be sharing with you the makeup I wore last night at my Step-Mum’s Auntie’s Christmas Party. I wanted to go for a classic Christmas look but use some of my new makeup at the same time and I can honestly say I think I did that. As the products I will be showing you are new to my presence I will also explain what I think of them as well. I love this look and got a few compliments (which boosts that happiness level a lot!) so I knew I had to share it! Also, I just want to point out that despite being very tired, I’m still on Cloud 9 after last night, it was amazing! It probably wasn’t much but I loved it, I hope you can say the same for you’re Christmas’! I’m going to stop rambling now!

The products I used for this look were:

  • Urban Decay Naked Palette: Smog (7th from left), Buck (5th from left) and Hustle (2nd from right) (available from Feel Unique)
  • Mac Matte Lipstick in Diva (available from Mac)

Just these two products make me feel so much more grown up! Look at me with my casual Naked Palette and Mac Lipstick! I felt this palette out of the three had the warmest tones and the ones I felt would help create my desired look best.

I first applied Smog with a flat-headed eye shadow brush all over my lid. In the palette it looked very brown but I was so happy it looked a bit more gold once I’d applied it! I love this eye shadow, it applied so nicely and easily and it’s so pigmented! It was also very shimmery which automatically gives it points in my book!

Taking a blending brush I then applied Buck in my crease. Correct me if I’m wrong (I feel I’ve given it the wrong name) but Buck is a beautiful crease colour that adds definition but doesn’t make the whole look about the crease. That probably doesn’t make sense but in my head it does! I really liked this as it complimented Smog but, as I say, didn’t make the entire look about itself (points for being unselfish!).

Using the same brush I applied Hustle in my outer crease (literally the tiniest amount). As it was an evening event and I wanted a shiz-load of makeup on (trust me to get dolled up when one of my uncles went in tracksuit bottoms!) I applied this to add a bit of a smokey edge and define a tiny bit more. This is a dark brown, shimmer-y colour, so I knew it would blend in with Smog well. I blended this out a fair amount so it wasn’t like a piece of brown in the corner of my eye! This colour is so gorgeous!

I then created my favourite winged liner with Crave from my Naked Basics Palette (available from Feel Unique also). I recreated this look in order to take photos today and it did get a bit more dramatic than last night, but just know I wore winged eyeliner and used Crave to do so! That’s my only issue with the Naked palette: there isn’t a plain black colour so when I do want eyeliner (i.e. all the time) I need to take both palettes. Other than that, I love it!

WP_20151226_14_27_36_Pro

On my lips I used Mac’s Diva and it did end up being used by both of the Mothers as well. On me it was a rich, deep red and it did mattify as the night went on (and my lip balm underneath sinked in, hence why it’s glossy here) and I loved it! I’m that person at the party who is constantly eating/drinking/talking/laughing so for a lipstick to sustain that is a miracle! This was my Christmas miracle! It stayed on all night and I’m so happy it did! When I got back there was a thin line missing from the middle of my lips but as I checked throughout the night, it seemed to stay really well! I know it’s a matte and that’s expected but I was so happy! Diva is a lot darker in real life, I’m not sure why it looks so pink-y in the picture!

And there we have it! I hope you enjoyed this makeup look as much as I did; I will definitely be wearing it again! Let me know what you think and also what you wore this Christmas makeup-wise! Also, if you have any of the Naked palettes, let me know what you’re favourite looks are so I can try them out! I will be including the other two in a blog post/s soon!

Thank you so much, I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

9 thoughts on “MOTD: Christmas Day 2015”

      1. Honestly there’s nothing like Urban Decay! 🙂 when I first got mine I carried it everywhere like it was my baby. I love that thing! You’ll have to do some more MOTDs with it, I’d love to see them! xxx

      2. Well you don’t have to ask me twice haha! Of course I will, I think a lot of playing around might be necessary with this one! Thank you so much for your help, otherwise I honestly would not have asked for it for Christmas! xx

      3. Yay I will look forward to reading them! 🙂 and no worries at all, I hope you like them just as much as I do! The best Christmas presents EVER!! xxx

Leave a Reply

