EOTD: Purple Christmas Party Look | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Last night I went to my second Christmas Party of the year (woah, somebody stop me! (name that Jim Carrey film!)) so of course I had to share my makeup for it, once again! My outfit was grey/black based so I wanted something that stood out but didn’t clash and had a shiz-load of glitter. Basically, my life! Also, little pointer, when I woke up on Saturday morning I still found glitter on my face – make sure you’re awake enough to cleanse, Munchkins! Anyway, I love this look, I honestly can’t believe I’ve never worn it before and I think I may have to wear it again sometime soon …

The products I used for this look were:

WP_20151221_09_35_10_Pro

  • ‘Sugar Plum’ Eye Shadow (came with a magazine a little while ago)
  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in ‘Oh So Special’ – ‘Boxed’ (bottom, 4th from left) and ‘Noir’ (bottom right) (available from Boots and Superdrug)
  • Rimmel Lasting Lipstick in 086 Sugar Plum (available from Boots and Superdrug, the names were an honest mistake, I’ve only just realised!)

And this is the outcome (sorry for the yellow-ish lighting – I decided to take exact photos instead of reenactments and also, my makeup did look amazing!):

So the first thing I do is take the Sugar Plum eye shadow and apply this all over my lid. This picture really doesn’t give it justice; it’s so pigmented and so glittery and it’s a purple with silver undertones (perfect for Christmas!). It also suited my eyes very well and lightened them quite a bit. As this was something that I had received from a magazine, I did use an eye primer with it so help it last longer and it also brought out the silver undertones a lot more! It lasted all night and I could not be happier with it! I applied this with a blending brush and pushed it in (though it was easy to swipe if that method was needed). This colour really needs to be brought out for the whole world to appreciate!

I then applied Boxed with a blending brush in my crease and I also went round my eyeball with it (well there was no way of putting it nicely!). I used to do this all the time and for some reason I did it last night as well! I tend to apply my contour colour onto the outer third or whatever and I knew for this look I didn’t want that, so it may have just been my instinct! It looked a bit weird stopping at the edge of my crease, though! I directed this mainly into the top, outer corner of my eye (as I always do) as I feel like further definition always looks nicer there (I’m sorry I can’t give you a legitimate, scientific explanation for it!).

Using an angled brush I then created my eyeliner using Noir. I love eyeliner, I wear it everyday and for some reason recently it’s been turning into cat flicks, which I have no issues with whatsoever! I love cats and eyeliner, got the best of both worlds (oh hai there Hannah Montana!) going on here! I wanted understated eyeliner for this look, but as you can tell, it did wedge it’s way in! I loved my eyes last night, oh my Jesus I need help!

WP_20151220_18_48_18_Pro

Finally, I applied my Rimmel lipstick in Sugar Plum (as i say, I literally just noticed the names were the same!). I decided on this one for the purple undertones which matched the ones in Sugar Plum on my eyes. In the picture it looks a lot more pink, but it was a bit deeper than this. I didn’t apply layers of this like I would normally just for the sheer fact that at parties all I do it eat and talk, and I didn’t want an embarrassing lack-of-lipstick situation! I love this lipstick so much and I can’t believe I haven’t worn it in so long!

And there we have it! This look is so effortlessly beautiful and quick (I feel like I say that every blog post!) that it needed to wedge it’s way on here! Let me know what you think of this look or if you have a go how it went! Also, tell me if there’s an eye shadow colour like Sugar Plum on the market for me to get my hands on! It’s so pretty, I can’t believe I only got this by chance! Tell me what you’ve been wearing on your face for Christmas parties as well, I’d love to know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. Christmas is on Friday!! Much excite!!!

2 thoughts on “EOTD: Purple Christmas Party Look | Blogmas”

Leave a Reply

