Life Goals 2015 | Blogmas

Good Afternoon Munchkins,

Today I’ve got a bit of a sentimental, personal blog post for you. I was wondering what other blog posts I could upload for Blogmas and I remembered that at the end of last year I did a kind of reflection in my personal life as well as my blogging life, but to be quite honest with you I have not had a good time this year and I’m not in the right place to write about it all (I have written life updates if you do want to know what’s happened). I just feel like that if I did that I would get upset about everything and I want this blog to be a happy place so I’m going to try and keep things positive. And so now I’ve decided to write about my ‘Life Goals’. They may change or become different as time goes on and I get older, but do just remember the fact I’m 14 and have had a terrible time so is wishing for better things. Some of these are pretty big things and other smaller, but all things I want to complete, either by the end of next year or just generally in my life. I would love it if you could join in with this and either write a blog post of your own on this (and leave a link in the comments so I can have a read!) or just a small comment or whatever level you would like to share it on. Although, I am just going to say, be careful what you wish for. I’ve wished for things previously as everyone does and let’s just say some of the negative things have come true. I think this will be a great idea but also let’s just be relaxed about it, it’s not a definite ‘by 25 I must be …’ and all that. Just relaxed. Breathe!

So my first ‘Life Goal’ is an obvious one but one that I think should be mentioned: to have children. To have my own family is something I’ve always wanted and I’ve found my definite girls name so if a girl is to come first, perfect, I’m planned! I would also like to stay with the Father of my children or the Father-figure unless it’s really not possible as I come from a family whose parents have split up and I don’t really want to put my children through that. I know I was a slightly ‘unique’ situation but I still don’t want to be one of those Mothers who is constantly asking if they’ve packed for their Dads or not. I know that some parents can just not stay together due to arguing or not getting along and I appreciate that, but for my children’s sake I would really want to stay with their Father. I just feel like we should experience our children’s lives together and not miss milestones just because they’re at the others house (did anyone else feel the heartbreak when Ross realised he wasn’t the one who heard Ben’s first word in Friends?). However, unlike most people, I cannot give you an actual reason to wanting children. I don’t know why I want children, but I just know I want to do the mothering thing. I know I may regret saying that one day but yanno; hopefully it’s going to happen to me one day.

In saying that, marriage is still something I haven’t quite decided on. Maybe if I’m in that place but I’m not so sure about that, unless he really wants it for some reason. I don’t know that one’s still an idea to be played with. I do want to try and find the ‘one’ though. I’ve had one relationship and that just wasn’t a pleasurable experience towards the end. I just want someone who will take care of me!

My second is to get a Saturday job. This one’s slightly smaller and something that is more relevant to me now, but I feel like this would help my family out a lot. I’m starting to look for jobs for when I turn 15 as it is, but I feel like I would enjoy it. It would mean spending less time being stressed out by the family, gaining money that I could spend on myself or others (I’m that person that goes shopping for myself and ends up getting 10 advent calendars for all the children in the family) and also money to go into my savings or if my Mum needs help money-wise. I know it’s not going to pay thousands but it’s still that little bit extra that we may need. Like the children thing, I will probably regret saying that, but I like being busy and having a massive list of things to complete. I just want to live life! Also, everyone at some point has a Saturday job of some sort, so why can’t I?

My next one is another smaller one: to get my cartilage pierced and to get tattoos. For those that don’t know, the cartilage is the part of the ear at the top (the curved bit). It feels a bit more solid and ‘in shape’ than the normal part of the ear you get pierced (due to the cartilage). I few of my friends have it done and I really like how it looks. I just need to find money and time and the confidence, haha. I might get it done for my birthday, but I’m not sure. I do want to get it done though. My reason for wanting tattoos, like children, I have no idea. I know I want to get a few small ones (an anchor on my wrist and LGBT on somewhere like my wrist as well or maybe on my hip). I think I’m only going to get tattoos that really mean something so I don’t just look like a walking poster. I don’t know why I like anchors, I just really like them (and the other day I say Harry Styles has one on his forearm!) and my friends keep saying they’re going to put a ‘w’ in front of it to make ‘wanker’ but yanno what? I honestly don’t care! LGBT for the sheer fact I support it, my Mum’s a lesbian and I feel like I should for her and everyone else who is going through it. That is going to be my tattoo for my Mum and will probably be my first (just for the fact to guilt her as her first wasn’t for me!). I’ve already got the image in my head of what the letters will look like and stuff. I’m not going to have anything around it, just have it completely stripped back. I will go through the pain for that! I do hate pain though, hence why they’re going to be small!

My fourth ‘Life Goal’ is to get all of my GCSE’s A*-C Grade (though I’m having the new grade boundaries, so something like 5-9). This is pretty standard but something I’ve always said and wanted. My parents have been very hard working people and my Dad repeatedly talks about how my cousins failed at education and how he wishes he went to college etc. so it’s kind of always been on my shoulders. My step-family, however, are the complete opposite. I kind of want to do it for myself and my future instead of what my family will think as I know half will really care and the other half … not so much. I just want to be able to open my little envelope and be super chuffed with the results. I’ve started some of my controlled assessments and have an exam in June so I’m literally praying! As well as myself, I would love to be able to see my 3 brothers pass their GCSE’s (if they still exist when they get there!). The four of us are pretty bright kids and hopefully we’ll be able to sustain it! I just want us all to have the same chances and opportunity’s and enjoy life! My youngest brother’s 4 though, so he’s going to have it hardest, bless him. Little thing won’t know what’s hit him! (As I write this he’s staring at our fire, in the fireplace not just the whole house, and he looks so sweet. I kind of don’t want him to grow up!)

My fifth one is to see my brothers go to prom. We all have our issues and I’m hoping that hormones don’t make them even angrier or anything so they do end up going to prom and stuff. I just want to see them go out with a girl in suit and embarrass them. Big sister fun! I want to go to prom as well but it’s going to be even better watching them in 5, 10 and 12 years. Might have a little wait but hey ho!

Another thing I would love to do is spend Christmas and/or New Year with a boyfriend. Obviously I need a boyfriend in order to complete this, so for now it’s impossible but it’s there! I know it will become an occurrence every year once I’ve had children and am in a committed, longt-term relationship, but there’s just something that appeals to being young and spending Christmas or New Year with someone other than family. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family and the routine but I can just imagine being in my early twenties with a boyfriend (who may or may not last) and spending Christmas Day together. So cute! Ooh, similar to that, I would love to have an actual New Year’s kiss, a Valentine and all those things. There are loads more I just can’t think of them. And a boyfriend on my birthday. I’m basically talking about how single and lonely I am, great!

Also kind of linking to that, I would love to spend New Year in New York. Going to New York is something I definitely want to do anyway but I’d love to spend time there in the winter with it being all snowy and like the films and then spending New Year there. This doesn’t have to be with a boyfriend, but still. It would be so much fun to feel the atmosphere and the buzz; I just think this will be so much fun.

A slightly smaller one (depending on how you look at it) is to have a holiday romance. Now, I know people have loads of different views on this, but for a week on holiday I would love that. That is seriously leaving everything at home behind and having fun. This could be next year or in the next 10 years, but I think it would be so fun and so impulsive and something I would remember as I got older in my soon-to-be ‘boring’ life.

My final ‘Life Goal’ is to be able to become a makeup artist or something to do with makeup (basically a job I love). I heard the phrase ‘if you have a job you love, you never have to work a day of your life’ a few years ago and I really like the sound of that. Makeup is something, as I’m sure you know, I adore and to be able to make it into a job would just be a dream come true. I would also love the experience of meeting new people and being able to watch them and be like ‘I did that!’. If I get stuck doing my Saturday job for my whole life, I think the novelty will eventually wear off! I’ve known people who’ve hated their jobs and have only spoken negatively and I don’t want that. I just want to enjoy my life. Is there a theme going on here? I would be so chuffed if my children only remembered me as a happy person because I had a happy life. Just, complete! The people I would just love to use make-up-wise would have to be Kim Kardashian, Katy Perry and Mila Kunis. Their faces are legit goals in themselves! I would also like to have at least one day where my eyeliner is completely identical on both sides and to be able to paint my nails and not just the skin around them! Career-wise, I would love for this blog to take off, but whether it does or not is another matter completely. If I could make a living out of this then I would seriously be the luckiest and happiest person alive, but for now, I do need to plan my life with an ‘actual’ job. Sad times!

I think that’s all of them, and this might just be the longest blog post I’ve ever written, but hey ho. As I said earlier, let me know of your ‘Life Goals’ as well, I would love to know and to have this spread around for everyone to see! As I said earlier as well, if you decide to turn this into a blog post as well, leave the link in the comments so I can read it. I’ve really enjoyed writing this blog post, something a bit different, something to keep you on your toes!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

