EOTD: Natural Brown Smokey Eye | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have another EOTD for you and it’s another look I’ve been loving for school. In case you’re wondering, my criteria for school makeup is it has to be natural, long-wearing but also something really pretty (I’m walking past over 700 people everyday, they could at least take some notice of my eyelids!). My criteria in general for makeup is to include eyeliner, make my blue eyes stand out and, again, be really pretty. I try and mix the two together and that’s how I get the looks I come up with! This is one that I’ve only discovered recently and was inspired by a picture on Pinterest (though I didn’t copy completely!) though it’s been something I’ve wanted to create for a long time. This look is really nice on days where I don’t want anything glittery and I want kind of a darker, smokier look but still looks really natural. Also, just to point it out, I do wear bold-framed glasses so I guess my makeup can sort of get hidden and is probably why I get away with so much!

The palette (yes, I stuck to one again!) was the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette, available from Feel Unique.

WP_20151213_14_10_48_Pro

The colours I use for this look are Naked 2, Faint and Crave which are the three colours on the right (and are also in that order, you’re welcome!). This is how my eyes end up after the gorgeous-ness happens …

The first colour I use is Naked 2 and I apply this all over my lid using a blending brush (I do also apply an eye primer for those that want to know!) just to colour correct and also give myself an even base. This isn’t a colour I would’ve initially gone for as a base colour, but it’s actually perfect; kind of unorthodox but also amazing for matching skin tone!

I then apply Faint onto the outer third of my eye and in my crease. I apply this quite heavily onto the outer third then drag it into my crease just because I’d rather that be heavy and then a slight crease contour, especially for school. As far as I can help it I try not to take product straight from the palette and apply it into my crease as it is pretty dark and can be applied heavily if you’re not careful enough. I also apply this with the same blending brush. I do find thorough out the day they blend together better than any brush could ever do and so looks amazing by the time I get home (sod’s law really!)!

I then create my usual winged liner using an angled brush using Crave. I’ve actually worn this look today and ‘accidentally’ did drag queen eyeliner (i.e. bolder and thicker than my skull!). I don’t know how it happened, it just did and when I looked into my big mirror it was one of those ‘oh no’ moments. Though I couldn’t take it off, it looked way too amazing!

And there we have it! I think I only have one more school look to show you before I create anymore, though that will be published for you after Blogmas. If you want to try this look, please do and let me know how you get on! Also, if you have any favourite work/college/school looks, let me know in the comments as I do really like trying new makeup all the time!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

