20 Beauty Questions Tag | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have a tag post for you, which I haven’t written in ages and I’m so looking forward to it! The other day I was tagged by Trendy Tere (find her HERE) to answer the 20 Beauty Questions. As I was reading through the questions I was answering them in my head, which means I’m probably going to ramble, which I am sorry about. I’m a massive rambler and there’s nothing I can do about it! I’m kind of proving my point right now, let’s just get on! This is going to be the longest blog post ever!

Q1. Do you remember your first makeup item?

As a pre-teen or younger I was given the little makeup kits from Claires or whatever but I can’t remember what my actual first one of those was or if that even counts. The first makeup item I remember buying was a little collection from Essence which I bought on holiday in Ireland. This was when I was 10 and I was just getting into makeup, but wasn’t very good at it and didn’t want to admit it. I think I bought things like a lipstick, lipgloss, a couple of nail varnishes, eyeliner and an eye shadow. I didn’t really know what I was doing so just picked up things that looked nice!

Q2. Describe your perfect mascara. Have you found one that fits your specifications?

I have naturally thick, dark lashes, but the tips of them are blonde (my parents are complete opposites!) so I want something that will darken those but also don’t make me look like a drag queen. I also don’t want one to run (it sounds so ridiculous saying that as it’s the obvious) and I want one to make my eyelashes not look clumpy or drag queen-y. One thing I do have to do is not apply any mascara to my bottom lashes, which makes the ‘non-running’ factor a lot easier, as I do look like I’ve murdered a spider and placed them on my face! I’m not someone who tries a new mascara each week and so there might be one out there that is better suited to my eyelash needs, but the one I’m currently using (Makeup Revolution Amazing Curl) is quite sufficient (nice word!).

Q3. What kind of coverage do you prefer from foundation?

Again, I’m not someone who tries hundreds of different foundations, but I like one that feels quite light on the skin but has medium-high coverage. As the makeup geek I am, I prefer one that will fully cover everything so I can contour and experiment with blushers and bronzers, and with my naturally red cheeks, this just isn’t possible with my skin as it is! I’m not fussy about whether it’s matte or dewy, but I do think matte looks better during the autumn/winter and then dewy in spring/summer, so at this time of year I do prefer a matte coverage most of the time. I’m also a keen lover of foundation that matches my skin tone!

Q4. Favourite high-end brand?

Without a shadow of a doubt (see what I did there?), Urban Decay. I only have one of their products but am receiving some more for Christmas, so I will keep you updated on that. In all fairness, it’s the only high-end brand I own, though I am willing and excited to try other high-end brands in the future. I just need to draft an apology letter to my bank!

Q5. Favourite drugstore brand?

This is tied between Maybelline and Rimmel, though I own more things from Rimmel so I guess it’s only fair to say that. I do love Maybelline though. Oh God, this is so tricky! I can’t choose just one; I’m going to have to say both of them. Sorry! I’m seriously the most indecisive person ever!

Q6. Is there any kind of makeup you can’t leave the house without?

If I’m talking about for the general public’s eyes, I would say something like my Gosh Defining Brow Gel in order to keep them looking a little bit more sane, but if I’m talking quite arrogantly I would say something like Urban Decay’s Crave eye shadow (in the Naked Basics Palette) as I use this for winged eyeliner and me without winged eyeliner is like Jamie Oliver without an oven.

Q7. What is your most cherished beauty product?

Probably something like the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette, as there are so many opportunity’s with this tiny little thing but all to such a high standard. I use this for my eyebrows and my eyes nearly every day in some way, shape or form. I could not live without this palette!

Q8. Do you have a ‘beauty budget’ or do you spend freely?

Well I wish I could spend freely, though my bank would say otherwise! I’m only 14 so am living off my parent’s money still, and we’re not a rich family or anything, so only if I save up or am given money. In saying that, when I first get money, it’s gone within the first 10 minutes, so I’m not much of a saver!

Q9. How often do you shop for makeup?

Not often and I wish it was more! As I just said, I only really go shopping if I get money from somewhere, I’m not given an allowance or anything (cons of a massive family!) so it’s not like once a fortnight I go out or anything. Sometimes there are periods where I go shopping once a month or every two months but it really isn’t that often!

Q10. What type of product do you buy the most of?

Probably lipsticks, just because I love wearing them and will be lusting after them for ages then when I get money it will magically end up in my life! I feel like I still don’t have enough lipsticks to suit every occasion, is that bad? Lip products are just life.

Q11. Do you avoid certain ingredients in cosmetics such as parabens or sulfates?

Now, I’m going to be honest with you here, I’m doing pretty well in my Science GCSE course, but I cannot tell you for the life of me what these ingredients are. As far as I’m aware I’m not allergic to anything and if I am I don’t know what it is. Sometimes I do sting or become blotchy after using certain face wipes, but I don’t know what’s in them that does that! I don’t know what these certain ingredients are or do, so I can’t tell you that

Q12. Do you have a favourite place to shop for makeup?

I’m not really fussy, but two Boots shops which are pretty close to me are amazing. There’s one which is really local and has loads of really nice counters but there’s also one in the city which is just insane. It has an upstairs; I’ve never made it to that upstairs! It is massive, I legit feel like Alice in Wonderland! I do also like Superdrug though as I have a Superdrug card and it makes me that little bit happier every time I get a few more points! There’s also a Superdrug on my way home from school and sometimes if I’m having a bad day, I’ll pop in there, sing-a-long to Heart FM and swatch away! Superdrug’s actually my happy place!

Q13. Do you like trying new skincare products or do you keep to the same routine?

Following on from Q8. And Q9., I can’t actually afford to try loads of new skincare products, let alone have enough in order to get an actual ‘routine’ in order. The only skincare I really do is taking my makeup off with the Garnier Micellar Water and that’s it, as its budget but so good! So to answer your question, I am willing to try new skincare products as I have teenage skin that’s always changing, but once I find my favourite and best-for-my-skin routine, I might just have to stick to it!

Q14. Favourite bath and body brand?

I’m going to have to say it: Lush. I love Lush so much; it’s the whole experience that makes me so happy; the people, the products, the samples, the smells, THE EVERYTHING!!! I’ve been buying stuff from there for a year and a half, maybe more now and I’ve even convinced my Mum into loving it as well! I love all of their products, not just the bath bombs which they’re famous for, and they’re vegan and good for the environment and it’s just all too much! Unfortunately, the only shop that is near me is right in the city, so it’s a bit of hassle getting there.

Q15. Do you like multifunctional products like lip and cheek stains?

I guess I do to some extent, such as the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette (I’m seriously going to dedicate this blog post to Urban Decay in a second!) for my eyes and my brows, but lip and cheeks stains scare me, like actually scare me. I’m not too sure, I think it depends. I think bronzer for contour can be really nice, and eye shadow for highlighter and eyeliner as lip liner (and vice versa) but yeah. There are some where I’m just like ‘why would you put yourself through that’ but other times where I’m just like ‘yeah, that’ll do!’.

Q16. Are you messy when putting on makeup?

I try not to be and try so hard to make everything straight and perfect but sometimes, it happens! I’m short-sighted so sometimes when I check things in my big mirror, which is slightly further than my hand-held one, I do miss certain things which are super annoying! Sometimes I try to be with my crease contour if it’s not a dark, smoky one, but otherwise I try and keep everything as neat as possible!

Q17. Do you ever consider taking makeup classes?

I’ve actually taken one makeup class before which I did really enjoy and it was like an hours round up of everything and I still use some of those tricks today that the lady taught me. I do also want to take makeup vocational courses in college (only it has a fancier name. Vocational means working more practically and for a job instead of an exam) so if that counts, then yes. I just think they’re fun and quite relaxed, though they may not be in college. Side note: is it wrong I was slightly insulted when I first read this question in my head?

Q18. What do you love about makeup?

This could go on a while, so I’m going to try and keep it brief! I love makeup because it’s my diversion to everyday life; it distracts me from everything else that’s going on around me because I know that as soon as I sit in front of my dressing table, that is my time and no one can come in and interrupt because it is my time. Sometimes, things can get very stressful but this is the one thing that completely intoxicates me and puts me into a whole different world of my own, which is needed. I also love how you can show off certain things that you love (for example, my high cheekbones with contouring which is otherwise hidden by my fat and red cheeks) but then hide things you hate (my red cheeks). I love how different makeup looks can give you a completely different feels (I had no other way to word that). There are some days where I will love a new lipstick or eye shadow that I will be wearing and wearing it will give me a bit more confidence in a way. I also love how if I’m wearing a natural look I can look quite chic and when I’m wearing drag queen makeup I look happy and confident within myself. I didn’t keep that brief, did I? I could go on all day, but I know you have lives you want to be getting on with!

Q19. Dramatic or Natural makeup?

This really does depend. Obviously for school I need to wear natural makeup and some days I do prefer there, but there are other days where I want to rock bright pink eye shadow to school with a shiz load of glitter. Unfortunately, I can’t. I think majority of the time I prefer dramatic, but sometimes I do just look at my neutrals and welcome them onto my face!

Q20. Worst makeup related habit?

We’re finally at the end! Probably when I’m doing other people’s makeup and I end up doing my makeup routine on them or using products I love which don’t suit them as much. A massive habit I have is not applying mascara to people’s bottom lashes, because I don’t for myself (check Q2.) so I don’t give it a second thought. Another is applying eyeliner how I want on other people (i.e. winged and dramatic) instead of how they want. What can I say; I’m all about that eyeliner life? There are probably loads more, I just can’t think of them!

And we’re finally there! This is easily the longest blog post I’ve ever written – I told you I was a rambler! I tag all of you watching this to also answer these questions and if you do, leave a link in the comments below so I can go check it out. I’m back in that tag game, I want to do loads more now!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

