MOTD: Dramatic Liner and Red Lips | Blogmas

Good Evening Munchkins!

Today I have another MOTD for you and this is one I’ve been wanting to write about legitimately for weeks. Like, ages, the pain to withhold has been crazy. I created this look when I wore a pretty monochrome outfit and it is a bit of a 1950’s style look so if you like that makeup style, you will love this! I think I knew I wanted a bold lip and then realised I hadn’t payed attention to Taylor Swift’s face for ages so kind of took inspiration from her. All in all, I love this makeup look, I love the bold lips and the massive eyeliner and yeah. It might have to be on my face a lot more.

The products I used for this look were:

WP_20151207_15_38_17_Pro

  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in ‘Oh So Special’ – I used Bow, top left, Mail Box, bottom row third one from left, Boxed, dark brown next to The Mail and Noir, bottom right (available from Superdrug and Boots)
  • Tanya Burr Lip Gloss in Mistletoe Kisses (limited edition from Christmas last year)

635848529192535682

Sorry for the small picture but hopefully you can still kind of see. I first applied Bow all over my lid. I love how light this colour is and how pigmented it is as it really helps colour correct my lids. It’s also that perfect base colour. I applied this with a blending brush.

I then took The Mail with a blending brush and applied this in my crease. This has orange undertones and so compliments my blue eyes really well. It’s also a really good crease contour colour if you’re going for a natural, day-to-day look. As it’s so natural, it’s fine to apply fairly untidy and slightly blended out.

Using an angled brush, I then applied Boxed directly into my crease before blending it out with a blending brush to make it less harsh. I like this method as it doesn’t make the whole look too smokey but does add further definition into the crease. I like the two crease colours together, they really look nice on a day-to-day basis. Shall I say day-to-day basis again?!

To create my liner I used Noir and an angled brush. This is something I do everyday and so just made it longer, thicker and more defined. If it did need a bit of cleaning up along the way, I’d just run my flat headed foundation brush along the line I was following and it was all good again. All restored and back to normal! I really like the eyeliner in this look. Let’s not lie, I just love eyeliner! Also, if you’re wondering why I chose this Sleek black instead of my usual Urban Decay one, it’s because I wasn’t doing any ‘hard work’ so didn’t need it to last through blood, sweat and tears (if you will).

635848529224479365

And these are the lips! In reality it looks a lot brighter and redder than this but you get the jist. I don’t actually like lip glosses, it’s just the texture and how it gets everywhere (hair, food, cutlery) and how you have to reapply, but for this colour, I’ll make an exception! To kind of combat some of my issues with it, I don’t use much of the product at all – I wipe off as much as possible off the wand and even then try and only use that tiny amount. With this lipgloss though, a little really does go a long way. If I do need to get more, I’ll take some of the product I’ve got off on the side of the neck of the tube. Did that make sense? Lip gloss issues! Those issues that guys will never understand!

And there we go! As I say, I really like this vintage look – let me know of your current favourite look/s, I’d love to know! If you try this out, let me know and send me pictures! I hope you like this look as much as I do! Do I need anymore exclamation marks?!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

2 thoughts on “MOTD: Dramatic Liner and Red Lips | Blogmas”

Leave a Reply

