EOTD: Purple Smokey Eye | Blogmas

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

Another EOTD for you today and it is one I’m actually currently wearing. Yesterday was my eldest brothers birthday (happy birthday, Will) and so today is his party and dinner etc. so I thought I’d do my makeup nice for the occasion. Any excuse really. I will just put it out there now, this makeup is not what I thought it would turn out like and is a lot darker than what I thought but I do like it. I couldn’t wear this everyday but as an evening look or ‘special occasion’ look (which is what I’m branding this as) it is stunning. I did use a lot of different colours in order to make it a bit lighter, just so you don’t think I’m a drag queen in surprise.

The products I used were:

WP_20151205_13_37_44_Pro

  • BYS Palette, light purple shimmer
  • Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette, Crave, black (available from Feel Unique)
  • Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special, Celebrate (top row, furthest of the right, purple) and Boxed (bottom right, third from right, dark brown) (available from Boots and Superdrug)

Yes, I did use three palettes, no I’m not ashamed. This is how my eyes turned out, a lot of improvising was involved, but that’s fine. It’s also not as dark as it looks, it looks black but it is more purple, I can assure you.

WP_20151205_13_34_58_Pro

I firstly applied an eye primer, and this is probably what made the first colour seem to dark in the first place. The first colour I applied was Celebrate, a deep, shimmery purple. I’ve wanted to try this colour for a little while now, and I thought today would be the day. It came out really dark and I did have to remove some so it didn’t look like I’d been attacked. As I say, if this was for an evening event, would’ve looked amazing and it would’ve have needed to be toned down. In saying that, I’m pretty impressed with how well I’ve managed to fix it. I applied this using a blending brush and a lot of willpower.

With an angled brush, I then applied Wrapped Up into my crease and blended it out with a blending brush. Just for that added definition in my crease and to add something more than purple!

I then had a look through my other eye shadows and palettes and found this one from BYS with the perfect light, shimmery, purple colour. I packed it onto the centre of my lid and thank the Lord it helped tone down the darkness. It made it look extra shimmery and that extra bit of light my eyelids had since missed! I have been pleasantly surprised with this eye shadow!

Taking my Urban Decay Naked Basics palette, I of course did my usual winged eyeliner using Crave with an angled brush. It just happened to turn out thick! Tell me, who controls eyeliner, like seriously? I then applied lashings of mascara which is why my eyelashes look a bit better than usual!

I realise that the pictures don’t show my eyes amazingly, but trust me on this one! I would love it if you tried this look or told me any tricks you have or stories of saving your makeup! I think I was just too adventurous, but I can pull it off. Glasses hide it all! Sorry for it being a short one today, and I know I’ll end up thinking of a million other things I could say but I need to leave for my train in an hour and I can’t miss it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

Leave a Reply

