Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Good Evening Munchkins!

I cannot tell you how much I’ve been looking forward to writing beauty posts again for you guys, it’s crazy. For those that don’t know I’ve taken a 4 month break due to personal reasons but now I’m back and to be honest, I don’t want to leave again!

Today I will be bringing you a review (expect a lot of these, I’ve got my hands on quite a few faves over the Summer!) and I will be starting off with the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, available from Boots and Superdrug. If I seem a bit rusty, I haven’t checked over any of my old posts to see how I used to write any of my old posts, so I could do it completely differently which I will apologise for in advance. I wasn’t expecting to buy this, I just went shopping with my friend one day and saw it and thought ‘I’ve got the money, might as well’. I have wanted it for a little while as I’ve read reviews for it and had seen it all the time when it first came out, so I was super chuffed when I saw it sitting on the shelf waiting to come home with me. It literally said ‘Rachel, take me home and love me’, no joke! Although I think the lady at the counter thought I was a bit strange because earlier that day I’d bought a new foundation and concealer in Superdrug, before going into Boots so she must’ve looked at my little pink bag and thought I was crazy. I wouldn’t blame her to be honest!

WP_20151021_15_21_31_Pro

So this is the bottle; I think I’m going to start with packaging. I bought the smaller bottle (125ml) and as I picked it up to have a closer look, a woman who worked there started telling me how both her and her daughter use it and both love it. She also said it lasts a long time and I like getting my money’s worth haha, so went ahead. The bigger bottle is something like 500ml and looks massive, I could never commit to something that size! I got this size as that’s all the money I had left, I wanted to test it and I loved how practical the size is and would become. I kind of spend a lot of weekends away from home, either with my Step-Mum or other family members/friends so knowing I could just chuck this in my overnight bag and be safe makes me super super happy. The bottle itself is made of plastic, which also helps with the ‘chucking’ in-ness! The lid is pink, which I actually really like, considering I don’t really like that colour in general but it just adds something more to the otherwise minimalist packaging and adds a touch of feminism. When you have 3 brothers, it’s nice to be reminded every once in a while! I also like how the key information has been written on the front, so you can just look and it’s all there, very simply but also very efficiently. I do tend to understand things written about skin and vitamins just because I have the capability to learn and listen (Caroline Hirons is the best teacher, may I just say) and watching YouTube all day does have it’s benefits, believe it or not!

WP_20151021_15_21_49_Pro

Next I will go onto the factors you might not think about, but I think are very important. I can’t think of a better title, sorry, but basically the colour, formula, scent etc. etc.. I don’t know how to describe this other than it smells like it’s doing something. I’m not a skincare freak, this is my first *proper* piece of skincare but I feel like it has this really nice, clear smell which also makes it smell as if it’s actually doing work on my skin. I do feel like it might not be everyone’s cup of tea but if a smell can convince me, I’m all for it! The product inside does literally look like water and feels like water on the skin, as the name would suggest. This means it feels super light and not like your scrubbing away about ten layers on skin (unless you’ve gone all-out drag queen-style makeup, in which care, proceed) but the smell makes it feel like some sort of Super-Water. Yes, oh yes! I feel like if it had any other scent (on either end of the scale, either like vinegar or cotton candy) it wouldn’t be so suitable but when I smelt it, it reminded me of a mini Scottish waterfall. I don’t know why, I’ve never been to Scotland and never seen a waterfall, but it had that thought process! Hopefully some of you will be able to understand me!

WP_20151021_15_21_24_Pro

Next onto the product itself! I have seriously been torturing myself by not talking about it yet, I’m so glad we’re here. As I mentioned previously, it does feel like water on the skin and so soft yet effective that I kind of just want to put it on my face and say ‘do your job’ haha. I used round cotton pads and remove my makeup with it most days (probably 4-5 days a week). I don’t know if it’s helped my skin in anyway as I have been applying moisturizer quite a lot now it’s the colder months but once I’ve removed all my makeup I do feel cleansed and like my pores love me just that little bit more. I do have to used 2 cotton pads if I have a full face on (foundation, eyebrows, contour, the works) but only one if I’m just wearing powder and eye makeup. I do have a massive head though and relatively small cotton pads. The first time I’d used this I had foundation on and I literally just swiped across my check and that area of foundation had disappeared. Like, what?? I’m a terrible skin-owner if I’m going to be honest, I would normally just use wipes to remove my makeup and would spend ages making sure my eyeliner and foundation and everything’s off, so when I used this I was genuinely shocked and couldn’t quite believe it. Let’s all coo at little naive Rach! This is so simple and easy to use as a one-step cleanse and is such good value for money. I paid £1.99 for this bottle (though in Boots it’s currently on offer for £1, you’d be mad not to!) and I could not be happier. I bought this with the logic of even if it’s terrible, it was only £2, and I could give it to my Mum or someone. Well, she’s never getting her hands on it! The larger bottle is a bit more expensive, as you would expect, but the smaller bottle just shocked me. I always saw Garnier as a fairly price-y brand – boy, what I wrong! And was it worth it! Sorry, I know I’m just repeating myself but I just, I can’t even anymore!

And there’s my review of the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. If you have this product, let me know what you think about it, I would be very interested to find out! Also, are there any other budget skincare buys that I need to try? If so, also tell me, I would love to branch out more into the skincare world! I would highly recommend this for people who are on a budget or who are a bit lazy with their skincare (don’t worry, we won’t judge you, let’s face it, I’m one of those people) as it’s just so simple. This is something I hope will never get discontinued *touch wood*.

Ok, so thank you for reading, I’ve actually loved writing this, and I will see you soon,

Rachel xx

P.S. Let me know what days of the week you would like me to upload! I was thinking Tuesday and Thursday so you get two blog posts but I know that today isn’t one of those days, so just tell me what you would prefer. I used to upload at the weekends but unfortunately that is no longer possible. Anyway, love you guys long ti

4 thoughts on “Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review”

Leave a Reply

