The Fairy Godmother from ‘Cinderella’ Makeup Tutorial

Good Evening Munchkins!

What a fine week it’s been here in sunny England! Very pleased with this weather indeed. Anyway, as you may know, last week I went to go see the new film of ‘Cinderella’ and even though I was relaxed and just happy to be there, of course I was looking at everyone’s makeup. Now, I love Helena Bonham Carter as an actress anyway (my personal favourite, Bellatrix) but she was amazing in this film. She played the Fairy Godmother with such grace, it was a shame she was only there for 5-10 minutes. Whilst watching the film, her makeup was my favourite. Probably because it looked so much more complex and original to the others, but ya know. I swear whilst watching the film there was more colour on her eyes, but I looked up a picture today and it was pretty simple so I kind of added a tiny twist to it. This look could be worn at Halloween or to a fancy dress party, but definitely not for everyday. And can I just ask now, was I the only one thinking her dress looked like something out of ‘My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding’?!

Helena Bonham Carter in Cinderella 2 Helena Bonham Carter in Cinderella

WP_20150414_13_03_02_Pro(I mainly took inspiration from the top photo when recreating the look today as is shown on today’s face chart)

WP_20150319_16_46_04_Pro WP_20150214_12_57_10_Pro

WP_20150414_12_13_22_Pro

First of all, using my Model’s Own Blending Brush and taking Bow from my Sleek i-Divine Palette in Oh So Special, I’m just sweeping it across the lid. This is the perfect white colour for this look, it’s perfectly pigmented and also matte. This doesn’t really need anymore than one layer unless you have really pigmented eye lids or veins or whatever.

WP_20150414_12_17_04_Pro

Using the same brush and palette, I’m next taking Noir and using that very thickly in my crease. Make sure this stays very curved and circular much like she does to take away the harshness of it all. This is blended a lot further up, but my eyes are quite big so I never know when to stop as people who make this effect tend to stop where my crease is. I’m so confused! As you can now tell, this is a very dramatic look!

WP_20150319_16_46_58_Pro

WP_20150414_12_20_56_Pro

In the pictures, that last step would be it for the eyes, but I wanted to add something else to it to make it more ‘fairy-like’ and a bit more exciting. After wiping the brush on my hand to get the black off (not the best way, but it’s quickest and easiest in times like this), I just dip it lightly into this Sugar Plum eye shadow, which I adore, and put it along the black crease. There was some fall-out, but I personally don’t think it matters if your a Fairy Godmother!

WP_20150203_15_06_55_Pro

WP_20150414_12_23_38_Pro

For lips, in the first picture it’s shown as an opaque, deep, matte red. In the second it was more sheer but still a pink-ish red. For this I just decided to go with Tanya Burr’s lip gloss in Mistletoe Kisses. This also has a little bit of glitter in! For an in-the-middle version of the two pictures, I dabbed this into say 3 spots of my lips then blended with the wand. I love this lip gloss too much!

So there was my Makeup Tutorial based on the Fairy Godmother in ‘Cinderella’. I love this look and might have to go as it for Halloween, just because I can! I do hope you enjoyed and take what you will from this blog post.

Thank you so much for reading and I will see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

