Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash VS. Lush Cupcake Face Mask (For Oily Skin)

Good Evening, Munchkins, and a Happy March to you!

Today I will be doing another VS. blog post for you, on the Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash and Lush’s Cupcake Face Mask. I really enjoyed writing my previous one (find HERE) and I got great feedback, so I thought ‘why not?’. Although these products sound completely different, they’re both designed to control teenage and oily skin. They’re both in the same boat, really. I have done a proper, full-on review of the Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash which you can find HERE.

Now, onto the blog post itself:

WP_20150201_13_58_25_Pro

WP_20150301_17_59_21_Pro WP_20150301_17_59_45_Pro

Packaging

As I mentioned in the review, the Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash is just contained in a simple plastic, kind-of triangular packaging. It has a little cap which is just simply flicked open (unless you’ve only just bought it, warning to fake nail or in fact natural nail users) though I have found some of the product can leak into the cap which creates a small, cold pool for when you next use it. Lovely, I’m sure we can all agree.

Lush is known for being Vegetarian/Vegan on their products and their packaging is so exception. I love Lush packaging so much, I love the minimalism, the little informal sticker explaining what it is and the sticker that says who it’s made by. These little things for me make it feel more like it’s been made by a person rather than just a factory. Also, the pots are recyclable, so once you’ve collected 5 you can trade them in for a face mask! Worth it! Also, the stickers don’t come off in the bath or anything.

Product

There is are only 2 sub-headings, but I thought it was necessary!

   Texture

The Daily Wash is like any other daily wash really. It’s in a clear gel with little blue balls, which must be the things which do the exfoliating, and yeah. They do feel a bit rough on the skin but I think I’d be concerned about whether they were doing the job or not otherwise. Once you rub it on yours hands/face for a little while, it’s turns into a white-y/foam-y colour/consistency which is good but it does take a little while.

The texture of the Face Mask is rougher and more gritty than I expected, but, again, that way it feels like the job is being done. You have to leave this one in the fridge so it’s perfect and cool when you put it on, especially if you’ve just come out of a hot bath/shower or it’s just a very hot Summer.

  Smell

This may sound like a weird sub-heading, but when there’s chocolate involved, it has to be mentioned.

The Daily Wash smells chemically and for some reason like a spot treatment. Don’t get me wrong, it is a spot treatment, but I prefer something a bit more nicely scented. Personal preference but when I first opened the bottle when I first used it I nearly died from the overwhelming smell.

Now, this CHOCOLATE Face Mask. It smells like Mint Choc Chip ice-cream only less mint-y. I am a serious chocoholic. I’ll take it any time of day, any day, whatever the weather, give me chocolate. It smells so good! I couldn’t really liken it to a specific brand, but a type you (well, I) could easily get addicted to. I think I need to calm down, now!

Usage

I use the Daily Wash every Sunday, Wednesday and Friday before I wash my hair just in case it gets in it. I have combination skin, so it was fine on my oily patches, just not my dry patches. After use, my forehead (which is the biggest thing on this Earth, can I just add!) became extremely dry and flaky. Using moisturizer on it would actually sting. I think I got this in November or December last year, but now I’m finding that it doesn’t do anything. The next morning after I use it, the oiliness is back and it just feels horrible, especially around the crevices (good word, that) by my nose. Not nice. I take this off with a face cloth and warm water but if I miss any parts, I’m washing my hair so it does all come off.

I use my Face Mask once a week and leave it on for the full 10 minutes (it says 5-10 mins on the fancy sticker). This helps my oily regions a lot less aggressively and doesn’t destroy the rest of my face. It does harden but doesn’t crack when you smile (or that you can see) and that for me makes me feel a lot less self-conscious about it. Don’t know why! My only issue is that I take it off with a face cloth and cold water (I’m too impatient to wait for the hot tap to warm up) and it stains my white face cloth. As you can tell in the picture, it is literally a cold, chocolate cupcake. It takes a washing machine trip to get it back to normal.

Would I take it with me away?

Freederm: No. The packaging is too clumpy, I don’t really trust the cap and it’s just not worth it.

Lush: Yes. The packaging, I find, is very compact and sturdy, perfect for throwing into an overnight bag!

Repurchase?

Freederm: No.

Lush: Yes.

Price

Freederm: £6.60 (150ml).

Lush: £6.50 (75g).

Well, that was probably a lot more long-winded than what it needed to be! I definitely prefer Lush’s Cupcake Face Mask for my combination skin, though those with different skin types will probably tell me completely different!

I do hope you have enjoyed this blog post, I have very much enjoyed writing it for you this evening. If you have any products you want me to try and review or two products to do a VS. on, then do let me know, I’m up for anything!

Thank you for reading and I will see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

