Charli XCX – Doing It ft. Rita Ora Makeup Tutorial (Charli’s Look)

Good Evening Munchkins!

The next makeup tutorial I am going to share with you is the look Charli XCX is wearing in her new music video for ‘Doing It’ in the scene where she’s in the dark room with lights in the background. I saw this look and I was like ‘keep your head still, just keep it, head, still,’ so I just struggled my way through the gif I found! It is therefore a little bit here and there and may not be completely accurate but it’s inspired by. I also love this song, it’s kind of like 2015’s version of ‘Girls Just Wanna Have Fun’. Charli and Rita just bounce off each other and I don’t think I’ve seen such a good girl-y collab like that in ages.

So here’s the gif/image I found:

Pretty blurred but you can kind of see. As I say it is inspired so you might not end up exactly like this if you try it the way I did but hey ho. This could be a day look if the lips were toned down slightly and you left the glitter and blue out but if your going for the whole sh-bang it would be suited for a party or clubbing or just a bit of fun!

WP_20150218_15_38_28_Pro

Some of the things on my face chart today I didn’t include in my actual look but you could add if you wanted to. Also, I’d do eyes before doing your base makeup, which will become clear why soon.

WP_20150218_15_20_28_Pro WP_20150218_15_22_50_Pro

The first thing I used was this Hannah Montana palette from about 5 years ago. If I had something including the colours I wanted, I would’ve used it, trust me. In the gif there was a gold/ivory shine with a green shine as well on her lids. For this I used the bottom left colour (although it looks a lot darker in the picture) and the middle green on the right. I did say on the face chart to use a nude colour before hand but I completely forgot though these 2 together actually look OK. I used the ivory-ish colour on the inner half and the green-y one on the outer half. It reminded me that there was a time where Miley Cyrus didn’t always have her tongue out on TV.

WP_20150215_14_20_41_Pro WP_20150218_15_24_29_Pro

In my crease (as per usual) I used Naked 2 from my Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette. This was to create some definition which can be seen all throughout the video really. She loves her neutral colours, does are Charli. For this I used my Model’s Own Blending Brush.

WP_20150111_13_20_40_Pro[1] WP_20150218_15_29_26_Pro

I then used my Technic Black Pencil Liner on my waterline and on my top lip. I didn’t do a wing as it doesn’t seem to show her wearing black winged eyeliner though the gold glitter is. I used a pencil as I didn’t want to muck it up but it is bold in colour so if you’re skilled in liquid liner, you may use it. Also, it was supposed to be a thin line but my eyeliner is very blunt. Does anyone know if it’s OK to sharper eye/lip pencils with a normal pencil sharpener? I know Bourgois sell one specifically for makeup pencils but I was just wondering.

As you can see in the picture, there is a gold glitter winged eyeliner kind of thing happening. I don’t have any gold glitter but if I was going to do this I would just mix it with some eyelash glue on the back of my hand to create a kind of mixture before applying it like an eyeliner with a very thin brush. This is why I wouldn’t apply my face makeup beforehand in case of fallout.

WP_20150218_15_31_44_ProWP_20150218_15_31_19_Pro

I then applied some Technic Pencil Eye Liner in Blue to my lash line just among my eyelashes. I love the pop of colour this gives, but you may have to pull the skin slightly in order to make it an even finish. I then blended this out slightly with my Model’s Own Blending Brush to make the line less harsh and more worn in.

WP_20150208_13_47_22_Pro

WP_20150215_14_51_20_Pro

WP_20150218_15_36_21_Pro

I then applied a thin layer of Natural Collections Moisture Shine Lipstick in Crimson onto my lips then on top Essence’s Stay With Me Lip Gloss in Trendsetter. I’m honestly so proud of how close the lips were, even though her’s we a little bit more purple-y in colour. I think I prefer these pinkier versions those, to be honest.

So there we go, I hope you enjoyed. If you would like me to do Rita’s look, let me know, it’s just in her scene’s the lighting was a little off or it wasn’t zoomed into her face enough to get a decent look. I really like this look on me, very grungy but then the contrasting girly-ness of the lips. Obviously I don’t know what it’s like with the glitter, but I love it all the same. I would love to see you guys try it out, so if you have any pictures or anything like that you can leave a link to them in the comments below or email me (links below)

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

