Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash Review

Good Afternoon, Munchkins.

Today I will be doing a review for you of the Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash which I have been using for the past few months. It feels like ages since I’ve done a review. It probably wasn’t, but hey ho! On with the review.

First things first (I’m a realist), my expectations. I’ve used the Freederm Spot Gel before and practically every teenager/pre-teen/young adult uses Freederm so I obviously had high hopes. I’ve always had Freederm up there as a skincare brand I must rush to if I have any sort of skin dilemma and after using this Daily Wash it put me off slightly. Just read and see, though of course you are allowed you’re own opinion.

WP_20150201_13_58_25_Pro

Next, the packaging. It’s pretty much your standard plastic triangular (but not triangular) packaging. It has the little cap that is really easy to open and has been since day one (don’t you just hate when you nearly rip out your nail due to a little plastic cap? It makes me feel that little bit less worthy to be honest) and on the inside it has a little circular hole where the product can be squeezed out from. My only problem (and it might not be the packaging, just our carelessness in using it) is that after a while you’ll open the cap and most on the product either spills on you or has just abandoned itself in the cap. Not fun when every time you go to use it you end up just clearing the cap instead of actually spending time using it. I feel like I’ve used the word ‘cap’ too much.

WP_20150201_13_58_36_Pro

Now, does it do what it says on the triangular non-triangular plastic? Well, firstly it says it prevents blackheads and spots. I’m not a particularly spotty person so wouldn’t be able to say but sometimes at one point in the month I may get one or two and I haven’t seen those in a while. If you have acne or have trouble controlling your spots it may be better to see how it works or you. I’m not the best person to test in that sense. Also, it says it helps reduce oiliness in skin. That it definitely does. I have combination skin and it changes frequently. By that I mean a couple of days ago I had really dry skin around the crevices (good word, that) by my nose and now it’s really oily. I’m just annoying all round really! This does work on my oily areas though after a few days I do find it is quite oily again (I’ll explain why I don’t use it everyday in a second).

The other parts of my face (especially my forehead) are very dry. When I use this on my forehead I look like a warning weather report for snow, it becomes so flaky and dry. It makes it feel really tight and sometimes sore. When I go to moisturize before bed it actually stings because of the open skin. Take note people with dry skin, don’t even look at this when you’re in Boots, just don’t.

This is why I don’t use it everyday. If I used it everyday I think half my face would be just bone, there would be no skin left. If you have a lot of excess oil on your face I would recommend this so much and for everyday use as it does help in those circumstances.

The product itself is becoming quite watery (though that could be our fault) but when I rub it into my skin I feel like the beads are doing some good work to my face. It doesn’t smell the best but it not on you for very long. I also find it’s either hard to get off or leaves your skin feeling quite slimy afterwards so I use it on the days I wash my hair (Sundays, Wednesdays and Fridays). This leaves me unworried (is that a word?) as to it being in my hair or anything.

Overall, from my personal experiences I would not buy this again. I wouldn’t put the whole Freederm brand down for it but I would it makes me want to read their products labels a lot more because it does work hard! If you have oily skin, go for it. It’s a drugstore brand, therefore not costing very much so would be good if you want to see if it works on you. If you have combination skin but a significant amount of your face is oily I would use but keep it away from the dry patches. I cannot stress this enough! I will see if Freederm have any products aimed at combination skin but I can’t be entirely sure.

Sorry it was a bit of a negative review today, but I thought I should just let you know as Freederm is a very well known brand. If you want anymore information on this particular product or anything then you can either write it in the comments below or email me (links are below).

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

5 thoughts on “Freederm Exfoliating Daily Wash Review”

Leave a Reply

