Pucker Up! | Born Lippy Lip Balm Review

Good Afternoon Munchkins!

I’ve been promising this blog post for ages now and I’ve mentioned this lip balm enough but I thought I would finally do a proper full-on review on it. If you are new here (firstly, welcome!) then I am slightly addicted to Body Shop’s Born Lippy Lip Balm in Strawberry. I also love reading/watching reviews at the moment (what a sad life I lead!) so thought I would put my new-found knowledge into something useful. On we go . . . Also, I’m using old pictures as there are a few on here and thought there was no point uploading another for the sake of it. There aren’t any pictures of the inside as I’ve hit the bottom and thought it would look better if you didn’t have that thought in your head!

WP_20150111_13_18_23_Pro[1]

As with everything I seem to own, there is a story to how I came about this gem. Basically, at the end of October, my Mum was doing the Great South Run (only for one day, not the whole last days!) and my Grandparents took myself and my brother to the shopping centre nearby. I’d been there before but it was always a treat as it was like 20-25 mins from where I actually live. In that shopping centre was a Body Shop. I’m one of those girls that longs and dreams to be treated in a Body Shop as girls like us are taught that Tesco’s Own is good enough! My Granny and I (because she’s such a good egg) went in and decided it would be nice to get my Mum something for her soon-to-be aching feet. However, this was one of those special shops that I’ve forgotten the name of but it was something like buy 2 things and get 30% off. So we got my Mum some foot spray and myself this lip balm. Long winded, but it’s a love story to compete with Romeo and Juliet in my opinion! I would not have come into contact with this if it wasn’t for my Mother, so thank you!

Firstly, the price. In the pots (which is what I have) you get 10ml for £2 which is quite good if you think about it. 10ml might not sound much but that has lasted me from the end of October until now and a bit more. This is considering I live by this stuff, I use it all the time. I would’ve thought this to be a little bit more considering it’s Body Shop but that is a bargain!

Next, flavour and colour. They have a range of many flavours and colours and each are amazing. The flavours are Strawberry, Satsuma (which has shimmer!), Raspberry, Passionberry and Watermelon. I’m one of those people who can get used to smells so if it doesn’t float my boat straight away, give me a week or so and I would be addicted! I chose Strawberry as it’s a classic scent and it’s tinted red. I love red lips on me and this added a slight red colour to my lips for a day to day look which I love. I have quite pigmented lips so I’m not sure if any of the lighter colours would show up on me, but the Strawberry is pigmented considering it’s a lip balm! I might just need to try them all. Especially Satsuma. It has shimmer!

I’m just going to quickly explain the whole journey with it (as it were). This Winter it has been very cold down South where I am so my lips obviously became more chapped and dry. I decided I would take this to school with me so I could apply it as and when during the day. I’ve learnt I need to limit how much I apply! During December my lips became so bad so I would apply some of the Born Lippy (as you do). I’m a very impatient person, so as soon as I couldn’t rub my lips together without them sticking I would apply another coat. Just repeat that like 10 times during 6 hrs. This only made my lips worse as I hadn’t let it fully sink in first time round. So a note to those who think this lip balm is making their lips worse: it’s not, it’s how much you apply. I really wish someone had told me that at the beginning!

How I apply it now is very strict and controlled (I want nice lips, OK?! Haha). On Weekdays I apply it quite thickly just before leaving for school (around 8ish) and I notice it start to sink in fully about half 9. I still wait until about 11 to apply another coat if I feel it’s necassary or I wait until after I’ve had my lunch at about half 1. I apply another layer when I get back (about 4), then after I have a bath (8pm) then thickly again just before I go to bed (10pm). It’s like an army timetable, but my biggest fear is dry lips now! On Weekends, I apply it when I wake up, after brushing my teeth and eating and when I can be bothered to go get it. A bit more relaxed! I would recommend applying it after brushing your teeth, eating and thickly before bed. For some reason applying it thickly before bed makes it feel like a mask for your lips. Weird.

If you’re not a fan of the pots then you can find it in stick form HERE. The only difference is it is more pink-y than red. I personally prefer the pots as I feel you have more control on how much you put on your lips. Again, weird, but it makes this bunny happy!

Obviously don’t follow everything I say (you’d be mad to, honestly) but this is just to let you know my version and my experience with Body Shop’s Born Lippy Lip Balm. Also, love the name. Born Lippy definitely describes me! If you have any recommendations then do let me know in the comments below or your own experiences with Body Shop. I’d love to hear them!

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

4 thoughts on “Pucker Up! | Born Lippy Lip Balm Review”

Leave a Reply

