Big, Blonde and Beautiful | My Hair Routine 2015

Good Evening Munchkins! I’m finally onto my first Beauty blog post of 2015! That just seems so crazy! I’ve been wanting to do this blog post for a while now as I have very thick curly hair which I know other people in this world do and 3 years ago I would’ve loved a blog post like this as a bit of advice. Just to let you know also, my title for today is based on the song from Hairspray. How appropriate! Though I’m not blonde, I was when I was younger. Ruined, just ruined it!

For about the first 11 years of my life my hair was literally a bush on my head, it was massive and I thought there was no way to control it. It was knotty and of course that meant it hurt to brush all the knots out but later on I will show you how I now conquer my battles with frizz! Of course I still have the odd off day where my hair goes frizzy from the weather or knots have emerged after yesterdays hair-do or whatever but most of the time it’s fine and I love it now. If I knew 5 years ago I would look like this, I would’ve been the happiest bunny going! For those that want to know my hair comes just past my shoulders but it is curly round the bottoms.

Also, just to let you know I was my hair every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday. I feel this is best for me to control the knots and the greasiness of my hair though I do sometimes find that Wednesday morning I have to handle a little bit of grease. It is up to you how often you wash your hair, whether it’s more or less but this is just me and my prefered method. If I am away on any one of these days I do take a bottle of Batiste with me and use it as I showed you in a previous blog post (click HERE if you missed it). I think that’s enough blabbing from me, so let’s get on with me showing you my Hair Routine (because that couldn’t have been worded better!).

The first thing I do is I wet my hair using an old jug though you can do this in any way you like or are used to. I don’t think I need to mention this too much.

I then take the Tresemme Luxurious Moisture Shampoo with Vitamin E and first off I apply it to the ends of my hair. What I tend to do is split my hair in two (like a parting) at the back and apply it to one side then the next though you can do it however way you like. I then apply it nearer my roots. I next rinse my hair. I do this in the same sort of way; left side, right side, top of my head. I just find it easier that way and it’s in my routine, so one must follow!

Next I use VO5 Give Me Moisture Conditioner. We did have the matching Conditioner to the Tresemme Shampoo but when we went on holiday in the October half-term my Mum thought she’d lost it so bought the VO5 one as a backup and yeah. Just using it up. I have got to admit I do like this combination, I find it makes my hair really soft and doesn’t make it look too greasy as some Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner’s do. I do love most Tresemme products anyway! I apply this in the same way as the Shampoo but I squeeze it a bit at the ends to give that extra moisture and only lightly at the top so it doesn’t look greasy or anything.

WP_20150103_13_40_28_Pro

Before I rinse my hair from the Conditioner I brush the knots out using the Head Jog 111 Mane-Tamer Brush. My Nan bought one from her hairdressers as she also has thick curly hair (though it is a lot shorter) and while she was there picked one up for me! I’ve never looked back. Unfortunately I don’t know where it’s from because my Nan got it for me. In the same parting at the back method, I go each side at a time and make sure all the knots out. Before I rinse my hair again I just go over each side quickly to make sure. I have sometimes been there for about 5-10 mins getting knots out but it does depend how long it’s been since I last washed it or what I’ve done with my hair. If I forget this on holiday, all Hell breaks loose. I need this in my life, constantly!WP_20150103_13_40_11_Pro

After I’ve got all the knots out I rinse my hair in the same way as before only twice on each section to make sure all the products are out and things.

When I go to dry it, I tend to apply the Tesco Glossing Serum on my hair. My Mum and I have been using this for ages, it’s so good. It wasn’t very much and does what it says on the tin. It just helps calm hair that needs calming. Of course there are many other options to this but we can’t afford expensive stuff, but I do like it. It’s only a small bottle but honestly we’ve been using it since last summer. We just take 2 pumps of the product in our hand and run it through our hair. I tend to avoid the roots though for fear it might make my hair look greasy. I then blow dry my hair the typical way you blow dry hair.

WP_20150103_13_39_28_Pro

So there we go, my currant Hair Routine. I know some people will be like ‘That’s not enough’ ‘That’s too much’ but at the end of the day, this is what I like and if it changes significantly I will update you on it. I haven’t yet encountered hair masks or the like but I’m willing to give it a go if you have any recommendations.

What do you recommend to use on hair? What are your staple products you have to use? Let me know in the comments below and I’ll look into getting them to try for you.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

One thought on “Big, Blonde and Beautiful | My Hair Routine 2015”

Leave a Reply

