You’re Handsome, You’re Pretty, Queen of New York City | Top 5 Christmas Songs

Good Afternoon Munchkins! Welcome to another edition of Blogmas, I do hope your enjoying this little series so far. Today I will be sharing with you some of my all time Favourite Christmas Songs. If you have been a ‘Munchkin’ for a while you will know of my mad love for Meghan Trainor, and yes I know she has a Christmas song out but I thought, ‘No, Rach, give everyone else a chance’ just because I’m so good like that! Haha. If you have a little list of your Favourite Christmas Songs then do let me know in the comments below or if you have any that you think I might like and haven’t included (otherwise known as recommendations; why am I so long-winded?!) then you may also let me know.

1. Fairytale of New York by The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl – 

My all time favourite which will never ever ever be moved is Fairytale of New York by The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl. This is also my Dad’s favourite Christmas songs and was my Grandad’s so it just reminds me of family and just being Irish (which in my case is also family). It is just your typical Irish couple (though I do realise that Kirsty and The Pogues had nothing going on) and it makes me smile because even though they argue they still love each other dearly and always will. It is slow in the beginning but then it picks up and when it does it just makes me want to grab everyone in the room and dance with them. I think everyone has heard this song but if you haven’t please do because it is well worth it. It’s so good I decided to put the lyrics as my title!

2. Underneath The Tree by Kelly Clarkson – 

I know this is going to seem really teenage-girly but honestly this is my go to pop Christmas song. I love this song and it makes me look at my Christmas tree and think ‘Am I small enough to get under you?’. Innuendo right there, well done Rach, haha. This isn’t one of the old classics like the previous song but as one of the newer ones it is easily by most favourite. It is an original which I also like because a lot of singers nowadays tend to do covers of old classics which after a while gets a bit boring but ya know. Would not be British if we didn’t have anything to complain about, would we? If you don’t like things like ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ then this probably isn’t for you but for all those who will love any type of music thrown their way like myself, listen to it.

3. Winter Wonderland/Be Happy by Pentatonix (ft. Tori Kelly) –

I know I just said I don’t really like covers of old classics but this is a mashup and not only is it a mashup its the type of band that I like that I don’t know the name of. If you haven’t heard of Pentatonix (which I hadn’t before this song came out) they are a band like in Pitch Perfect where no or little instruments are involved and it’s purely vocal. I love ‘Be Happy’ and I wasn’t too keen on ‘Winter Wonderland’ but this song has definitely changed my views. There are some very high notes in there so when I sing it around the house I do get some criticism but I take it very constructively as you should! If you like the type of music that’s in Pitch Perfect then you will love this, I’m seriously addicted.

4. Do They Know It’s Christmas? by Band Aid 30 –

This song and I have a history, so let me just explain. Last Christmas we had our whole school assembly as we usually do but our headteacher was retiring so it was all about him basically. We (by ‘we’ I mean the teachers) decided to sing a Christmas song for him but he doesn’t really like Christmas because of the children you don’t get presents or get abused and all those sorts of things so we sang this as it is a charity song but still Christmassy. I love the original as much as the next person but this version. Woah there, pony! I think I nearly died! One Direction, Sam Smith, Zoella, PointlessBlog and ThatcherJoe! Sir Bob Geldof, you do spoil us, don’t you! Not only does it have my favourite band to have ever stepped on this Earth, my favourite male singer and my three favourite YouTubers, the money goes towards charities (or charity I’m not sure) that supports the Ebola Virus since the outbreak this year. This is a cover but some of the words have been changed to fit the cause it is helping this year and the first 10 seconds of something show some graphic images that might upset some so either skip it or just watch those few seconds. This is a worldwide classic and is loved by so many everywhere. It also makes me so so proud of those three YouTuber’s as they were asked by Mr Geldof himself and they built themselves up to that sort of standard! Love this one so much. I know I’ve gone on enough about this song and a whole blog post should be dedicated to this but it does make you realise that you can be leading the perfect life and something like the TV not working will upset you but in some countries they’re just trying to get by and trying to survive such a dangerous virus. It does make you realise how lucky you are and I’m so glad that people like Bob Geldof see that and do things like this to help those in need. I realise it got deep very quickly but I think it deserves that.

5. Last Christmas by The Only Way Is Essex Cast – 

I know I said that I don’t really like covers of Christmas songs and the majority of these songs have been covers I just didn’t realise what my favourite songs were! I know TOWIE isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but I really like the vocals on this for no particular reason than they’re different to the same old George Michael (sorry, George!). I don’t watch TOWIE but I know of the people in it and I really enjoy watching them on other TV shows (Gemma Collins day in ‘I’m a Celeb . . .’ for example!) and they do make me laugh so much. I’ve also met Joey Essex (I know) so I kind of keep my out for him so I can brag at any given chance. It’s the only thing I really have, other than seeing One Direction and 5 Seconds of Summer live. Sorry, I’ll stop! Haha, I’m joking I’m not that arrogant. It’s a fun, pop song which will bring the spirit to you and those around you (could I get any cheesier?!).

So those are my 5 songs. I won’t get offended if you don’t listen to them/don’t like them as it is purely my opinion and you are allowed to have your own. As I said before, do let me know of others I might like or of your own favourites. Also, a random favourite of mine is 5 Seconds of Summer’s cover of American Idiot off their live album. I honestly don’t mean to say one thing then mean another about hating covers, I really don’t!

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

2 thoughts on “You’re Handsome, You’re Pretty, Queen of New York City | Top 5 Christmas Songs”

Leave a Reply

