Merry Christmas Ya Filthy Animal | Top 5 Christmas Films 2014

Good Afternoon Munchkins! Sorry for not uploading yesterday but I was very busy and just didn’t have time. Also I want to briefly mention that by ‘Blogmas’ I meant all my blogs being Christmas-related, not exactly a new blog every day like ‘Vlogmas’. Sorry if that has disappointed you in any way.

On a brighter note, here is my Top 5 Christmas Films or my favourites of the moment! If you think I have missed one or have a list of your own then do let me know either in the comments below or by emailing me (links are below). This isn’t in order and this may include spoilers!

1. Elf

My all-time favourite film of course is Elf. If you have not seen this film, where have you actually been? I remember getting this film on video tape about 10 years ago whilst on holiday on the Isle of Wight or somewhere because it wasn’t Tesco’s or anywhere I recognised. Yeah, we have a history this film and I. It basically follows Buddy the elf (played by Will Ferrell) as he goes to New York to try and find his real biological Dad. It is so funny and it is always my go to film at Christmas. Until video tapes stopped being played. And we haven’t get it on DVD yet. But I replay it in my head each year and smile as it reminds me of 4 year old me not understanding whatsoever.

2. Home Alone

I also love this classic. I only realised last year it was a Christmas film. I only thought it was about a boy whose family left him. Oops! I wouldn’t say it’s mainly based around Christmas, more family, but I still love it. I realise my little synopsis at the beginning wasn’t very appealing but it’s about this boy Kevin who lives with literally all his family and they all go on holiday at Christmas without him. Obviously an easy mistake to make. It is very funny and as a kid it gave me ideas about what it would be like to live alone just for a little while. It didn’t work well, that’s all I’m saying. I have early memories, again from around 10 years ago, of being with my cousins at Christmas and my eldest cousin having like the biggest box set you’d ever seen of Christmas films. No clue where it is now but I wish I’d taken them when I’d got the chance. For some reason I feel like they were all Home Alone but there were like 7 films. I don’t know, let me know in the comments!

3. Frozen

I don’t care what people say, this is a Christmas film and I love it! I only saw it in the Summer (you can find my review HERE) but I am addicted as is everyone I know. The music, the storyline, the characters, Olaf. Just makes me so happy! I know it’s only really a winter film because Elsa turns everything into ice and snow but it works – it definitely gets you into the Christmas spirit! This film (unlike the others) is animation and shows the relationship between Anna and Elsa who are sisters and what happens when Elsa makes a mistake which I accidently just revealed! If this sort of thing doesn’t float your boat, it will your little sister, your daughter, your niece, anyone! It is mainly suited to girls however due to the main characters being female. Limited demographic is all I’m saying.

4. Nativity

Not everyone would’ve heard of this film but for those British Munchkins out there you should have. Last Saturday I uploaded a review of Nativity 3: Dude, Where’s My Donkey? and I think I explained that I did prefer the other two. I can’t remember the first one that well but I think it’s about this school who are trying to put on a really amazing Nativity show and then Mr Poppy comes in as the new teaching assistant and although he kind of makes things worse he makes them all good in the end. This is a child’s film but it’s so funny and silly and I just love it so much. The first one also stars Martin Freeman and everyone loves him as an actor.

5. The Grinch

And last but by no means least, The Grinch. I’m a bit meh about this as I don’t like the bullying he gets as a kid and I know it’s just a film but when he shaves off his beard it just makes me upset. However, Jim Carrey really makes this film one to remember in his unique character. Again, sorry I can’t really remember, but I think the plot is that he’s been invited to the town near where he lives for a Christmas festival so he gets into the spirit of things but he still tries to steal it anyway. Not the best Jim Carrey or Christmas film but it’s still loved and known by many. I was watching a Jim Carrey interview the other day and saw it took something like 16hrs to put on all the makeup. That’s commitment.

As I said before, if you have any recommendations or have your ‘Top 5’ yourself to let me know.

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

One thought on “Merry Christmas Ya Filthy Animal | Top 5 Christmas Films 2014”

Leave a Reply

