Nativity 3: Dude, Where’s My Donkey?! – Review

Good Afternoon, Munchkins! Earlier today I went to my local cinema to go see Nativity 3: Dude Where’s My Donkey?!. This was supposed to be my brother’s birthday treat but everyone wanted to go (that’s basically me, my Mum and my Dad). I was really looking forward to it and had high expectations and I thought I would share my views on it with you here today. This may contain spoilers, sorry! It is also my opinion so please don’t let it influence you, it’s just my little mind!

Also, I’ve decided to do something called ‘Blogmas’. I know this is probably already a ‘thing’ that no ones told me about but I thought, well YouTubers do Vlogmas, why can’t we do Blogmas? Sorry. So therefore all blog posts this month will be Christmas or Winter themed. I hope you look forward to it because I most definitely am! This doesn’t, however, mean there will be less beauty as I’m trying to squeeze them in here and there. Enjoy!

In this film stars Martin Clunes and Catherine Tate as the two people the story revolves around. The story is quite complicated but I’ll try my best. Basically, Jeremy (Martin’s character) falls in love with Sophie (Catherine’s character) when she helps his daughter in a school play at school and it starts with them engaged just about to get married in New York. While Sophie is in New York, Jeremy is still in the UK. Lauren’s (the daughter’s) real Mum died a few years before and really wants Sophie to be her new Mum. Unfortunately, Sophie’s ex-boyfriend gets in the way quite a lot.

The way that Mr Poppy’s (yes, the legend that is!) class becomes involved is that the normal teacher is off for the Christmas term and they need a new teacher. This is where Jeremy comes in with Lauren who also starts school there. There is then a flash-mob competition that involves Sophie’s ex-boyfriend and obviously Mr Poppy wants to get involved. Somewhere in-between all this, Jeremy get’s kicked in the head by a donkey and loses his memory. Unfortunately, they don’t win, but they take the tickets and passports of the winning team and still fly to New York (where the prize is held). Jeremy is absolutely clueless on Lauren and who Sophie is. The class try to make him fall back in love with Sophie and remember everything which he eventually does. He then marries her after she refuses to marry the ex-boyfriend.

Personally, I think this is a very complicated story-line for a child’s film but it makes more sense watching it. It’s just the understanding of what’s happening. It is funny but I don’t think it was as good as the others. I don’t know, maybe I had very high expectations which it didn’t meet but it was less about the children and more about the ‘heartbreak’ between Sophie and Jeremy which I think is a shame. I would still buy it with the rest of the box set though as I feel they are classics and you can’t not know what’s going on in the next one. If there is another one I’d be surprised and would go see it you can kind of tell they are carrying it on for the sake of it instead of just coming up with an amazing film idea.

I did enjoy it, just not as much as the other’s. If you have young children or younger siblings I would take them as it teaches (briefly) the story of Jesus being born and thing’s like that. It is a bit sing-song-y being about flash mobs and all but we all love a bit of that on a Saturday afternoon! No Christmas film is complete otherwise! I would rate this film a 6 out of 10 overall and I’ll leave a link to the trailer below.

I have only done one blog post like this before which was about Frozen (you can find it HERE) so do let me know if you like them or not and that could determine if you see more of these.

Thank you for reading and I will see you soon,

Rachel xx

***************************************************************************************************************************************************

Email Me: rachelkate01@yahoo.co.uk

Nativity 3: Dude Where’s My Donkey?! Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OyV2xSakI0

One thought on “Nativity 3: Dude, Where’s My Donkey?! – Review”

Leave a Reply

